We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubyanna Rise

Rubyanna Rise
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rubyanna Rise to your Saves list
Rubyanna Rise
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   47 Presslers Road, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Bundaberg B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Quality B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

On arrival, our host Brian met us in the driveway (in the dark/rain) with a friendly handshake & greeting and assisted with our luggage. He showed us to our room which was upstairs by way of a carpeted staircase to the Master bedroom (situated at one corner of the house). It has ensuite and a huge dressing room. The internal walls are brick and we didn't hear a sound from outside of our room all night. Bedroom is very spacious and has a two seater lounge at one end of the bed which is handy for relaxing or watching a bit of TV. The white timber louvres at the head of the bed around the windows gave the room a homely feel to it, and the views from the balcony are spectacular, particularly if you are not accustomed to the spectre of canefields all around.
I'll probably cop it for bringing this up, but this is a pet friendly B&B as stated by the owners. So if you are a non pet person as I am, just be warned that you will be greeted by a very subtle doggy smell as you walk past the pet sleeping quarters AND up the stairs to your room. Pet owners are often oblivious to this odour and will commonly deny its existence. It is for this reason that I generally avoid animal friendly B&B's. [We have had some bad experiences at B&B's with dogs in the dining room and doggy poo all round the front door etc]. Happily I can say that in this case it was not in any way offensive, but as soon as I walked out of the bedroom or through the front door I could smell dog, and since I'm a believer in telling it how it is I have mentioned it here. Apologies to all you animal lovers including my wife who think I'm a fusspot.
For me this was not the Holy Grail of B&B's, however it is pretty good.
I didn't mention the food because we never ate in, choosing to eat with friends down the road. This was no reflection on the B&B itself in any way, simply our choice.

Room Tip: We loved the Master bedroom - views, comfort, appearance, spacious, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret D, Owner at Rubyanna Rise, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us not only on your way north but on your return trip home. That always gives us confidence that our rooms are comfortable and homely. We agree that the view from the balcony is spectacular even to us and it is a beautiful way to start your day overlooking the green cane fields.
We acknowledge that choosing to be pet friendly has its issues and regret that the non pet friendly people may be turned away because of this. However we are very careful to separate the only pet friendly room guests are able to use. This is the downstairs room where pets are allowed in the tiled lounge room off the bedroom but is part of their suite and not a shared use area.
As this suite is at the back of the house no noise or pets affect the guests in the upstairs suites. The upstairs suites are not pet friendly and the area you mention is in the downstairs foyer entry area.
Our dog is allowed in this area during the day when guests are not usually around. However we find many guests love her as she has a beautiful gentle nature and enjoy her tricks when she does have contact with guests in the foyer area that are pet people. They often comment on how well trained she is.
We are aware that many guests are non pet people and we appreciate that they are not at all happy with pet contact. We do our best to have our home able to be enjoyed by both pet lovers and those who would rather not have pets around at all.
We are happy to discuss the issue of pets with guests as they arrive and we lock our pets totally away from them without a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My Husband and I had a wonderful time here! The bed was super comfy the room was huge and had absolutely everything we could have possibly needed! The supplies in the room were plentyful and extensive. The breakfast was delicious and the host were wonderful. It felt like visiting family! They also have the biggest pool table I have ever seen! If we are ever in Bundy again we will definately be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret D, Owner at Rubyanna Rise, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks you for the letting everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know you would return to stay with us if in Bundaberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed 1 night at this b&b after returning from a dive trip. I chose it specifically for the breakfast (home cooked) and the location (quiet & closer to the port than other CBD accommodation).
Not only did it deliver as advertised, the rooms were large, the facilities/in-room supplies were comprehensive and Brian & Margaret made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. Brian even drove us to the airport the next morning, a fantastic gesture that saved us $40+ in taxi fares. Airport transfer aside, the rest of our experience made this b&b fantastic value compared to any of the local motels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rubyanna Rise, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to let everyone know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We often get the request to either collect or take guests to the airport and we are always happy to help providing it isn't at a busy time like breakfast.
Please let everyone know that Bundaberg is a great location for a dive trip or a day trip to the reef. You don't need to go further north to see fantastic coral.
Thanks Brian and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Was a wonderful place to stay! Loved the fact that we were in the main house and it felt like coming home at the end of the day! Fantastic breakfast! Gorgeous dog :) Also very helpful with what to see in the area, drive near the beach was beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret D, Owner at Rubyanna Rise, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and it felt like home.
So pleased you took the time to drive to the beach as it was such a lovely morning I was sure you would enjoy the drive and our beautiful beaches.
Thank you for your great review and hopefully you may be back in Bundaberg again and have more time to enjoy our local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Different , but most enjoyable , we had the downstairs room , which is a bit of an add on , sort of , the bed room is quite large , with a good bed , clean toilet and shower and a back room / kitchen table & chairs for making hot drinks

Rubyanna rise , is set on a huge sugar cane farm , 5 minutes out of bundaberg , on the way to mon repos to see the turles , which was a bonus.
Margie & Brian do a great job at making you welcome , the breakfast was super ,plenty to eat , fresh fruit platters , cereal , toast , bacon & eggs , sausages , the list goes on .
while you are enjoying a feast for breakfast , brian cuts up some sugar cane ,for the guests to sample and both he & margie talk about farm life , the local area etc , very informative & helped give us some ideas of what to see & do in bundaberg & the surrounding area .
the pool was a good tool for a freshen up , before eating and driving out to mon repos , to see the turtle hatchlings .
if you want the hilton or 5 stars --- don't go .. but if you want down to earth people , an enjoyable experience peace and quite , a great breakfast then your stay at rubyanna rise represents good value for money .
would stay again and have told friends already -- some parts of rubyanna rise are a bit tired , will not effect you stay , everything works & opens and shuts , enjoy !!!

Room Tip: up stairs have better views of the property .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret D, Owner at Rubyanna Rise, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank-you for the great review.
It is a shame you didn't stay in our more luxurious upstairs rooms but if you stay with us again please remind us about your review and we will upgrade you to our Master Suite.
So happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and at the moment we have home grown bananas that our guests this morning said were the best they have tasted.
We appreciate you taking the time to post the review and hope you may be able to stay with us again.
Regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed in the Master bedroom on our way up north and were very happy. Brian and Margaret were both very friendly and helpful and the room was very large and comfortable. Margaret arranged a distillery tour and turtle tour for us during our stay and it was the perfect location, only about a 5 minute drive to both attractions. Breakfast was very filling and tasty, I highly recommend the pancakes with fresh fruit grown on the property! The same or cheaper than many of the hotels in Bundaberg and you get so much more. The only con I can think of was the tiny beetles in the bathroom, but I don't expect anywhere in QLD to be bug free. I have recommended Rubyanna to my friends and family, especially those travelling with pets as the downstairs room is pet friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret D, Owner at Rubyanna Rise, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank-you for such a positive review.
We appreciate our guests thinking of us after they have left and taking the time to let everyone know they enjoyed their stay.
We apologise for the beetles. Even though our rooms are fully screened our warm climate and lights at night sometimes encourages them inside when the screen doors are opened. I have however now put fly spray in each room incase they bother anyone. I hope this helps our future guests or we are always happy to come and remove any bugs guests are concerned about.
Regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rubyanna Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubyanna Rise

Address: 47 Presslers Road, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bundaberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rubyanna Rise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rubyanna Rise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubyanna Rise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.