We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service & great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammers Restaurant @ Novotel Northbeach

Windjammers Restaurant @ Novotel Northbeach
2-14 Cliff Road, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
(02) 4226 3555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 274 Restaurants in Wollongong
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent service & great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We dined here for both dinner and breakfast over the June long weekend, and we were extremely pleased. We chose to go with the à la carte menu for dinner, because were told the buffet was mainly seafood, and both myself and my partner don't like seafood. For entrées I had the Caprese soup (which was incredible), and my partner had the asparagus and prosciutto risotto, which he loved. For mains we both had the beef fillet on potato rosti with baby spinach and mushroom ragout. The meat was cooked to perfection for both of us, and the meals were great! For dessert we ate from the buffet, and there was a huge range of desserts to choose from, including an ice cream bar. If we hadn't have eaten so much for our entrées and mains we would have definitely eaten a lot more dessert!

The service was great as well - not only were our dirty plates cleared away quickly, but waitstaff inquired about how our meals were, and seemed genuinely interested. Similarly, they were quick to replenish our drinks!

The next morning we also had buffet breakfast there, which had a large variety of different foods and drinks. My one complaint about breakfast was that for some reason the roasted tomatoes were stone cold, when I assume they were supposed to be hot, or at the very least, warm.

It was also lovely to have a view of the ocean while we ate!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expensive for average quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Dinner with a large family group (15 pers). Meals badly organised with some in the group finishing their meals and others still waiting for their main course, inconsistent quality and not up to the standard you would expect from the prices they are charging.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Breakfast a no no”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mediocre telephone customer service coupled with capital city prices - make this a complete waste of time.

If you are a visitor to the Illawarra - there are plenty of other places to dine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great location, good food, reasonable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

the location of this restaurant is fabulous and the food served was of a very good standard however it was on the pricey side. We were part of a group of 22 gathered for a wedding eve dinner. We were encouraged to partake in the seafood buffet but at $62 per head only 1 person chose it, the rest ordered off the alacarte menu which did not seem a problem to the waitress. She did advise us at tne start that it would be around an hour before the meals would be served whicn did not worry us. My 3 year old was given a colouring pack to keep her amused. There is also a section at the rear of the restaurant set up for children to play, read and draw on the chalkboard. Children are definately made welcome here. When the meals arrived they were hot and all served together even if it did takd 1 1/2 from time of order. My daughter had fallen asleep prior to her meal coming out so the waitress happily cancelled the meal and did not charge for it or the included drink she already had. Overall a good experience and i would return, however reduce the prices and more people staying at the novotel would dine here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Just OK for the buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We chose the buffet for $49/person. Unless you are a big eater, this is poor value I feel. There was a selection of cold seafood but I don't believe it was of the best quality. It was OK but not flavor some. Salads looked colourful and interesting and there was a selection of hot foods including pork fillet and chicken with spices. The chicken was very nice. Vegetable lasagne/pasta, beans, potatoes and more. A nice little selection a mini dessert slices and mini chocolate mousse. It was all OK but I wouldn't go for the buffet again. Maybe the a la carte menu would have been a better choice for us?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windjammers Restaurant @ Novotel Northbeach also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Windjammers Restaurant @ Novotel Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammers Restaurant @ Novotel Northbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.