We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, great food... Our favourite Thai without breaking the budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Carnation Restaurant

Thai Carnation Restaurant
Shop 4, 50 Crown Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
(02) 4228 4102
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 257 Restaurants in Wollongong
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best value, great food... Our favourite Thai without breaking the budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Thai Carnation is fast becoming our favourite restaurant in the gong. With two young ones, little time to dine out and somewhat of a budget to stick to ... good quality Takeaway is a luxury. We ordered curry puffs, spring rolls, chicken panang curry, crying tiger (main size), and chicken pad see ew. At $65 (incl tip) and we cooked our own rice, that was more than enough food for 4 adults. The driver showed up in traditional Thai waiter gear (which impressed me since the other places the drivers usually arrive in shorts and a t-shirt). It made me feel like the meal was that much more authentic... Love it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Neveragain”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Couple order 2 entree with beer each n main meal each with bottle wine. 2Main meal came out with 1 entree. Had to ask where beer was. Brings 2 bottles no glass for female. Had to ask where 2nd entree was. So main got cold while ate entree. Satay main had biggest pile sauce dumped on food. Both main came with long stringy carrot n lettuce. Entree dim sims were the worst I ever had. When took plate don't ask if liked meal or if finished with that. Worst Thai meal in my life. Waitress just so dumb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai in the Gong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I love going to Thai Carnation. The Tom Yum soup is the best I've had anywhere and their sticky rice desserts are fantastic. Service is friendly and atmosphere is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Best Whole Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ate in at this Thai restaurant in downtown Wollongong. The whole fish was not conspicuous on the menu but it was amazing. Deep fried chilli crab entree and a drink and I was done. Good ambience and a bit more upmarket than your average Thai restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I friend made me go there the first time and I wasnt expecting much.

I was very impressed overall. Food was really good, price reasonable and service was perfect.

I have since been again several times and enjoy it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Carnation Restaurant also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Carnation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Carnation Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.