We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Whole Fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Carnation Restaurant

Thai Carnation Restaurant
Shop 4, 50 Crown Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
(02) 4228 4102
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 274 Restaurants in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Best Whole Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ate in at this Thai restaurant in downtown Wollongong. The whole fish was not conspicuous on the menu but it was amazing. Deep fried chilli crab entree and a drink and I was done. Good ambience and a bit more upmarket than your average Thai restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I friend made me go there the first time and I wasnt expecting much.

I was very impressed overall. Food was really good, price reasonable and service was perfect.

I have since been again several times and enjoy it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Wollongong....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is the best Thai restaurant in Wollongong and as good as any I have been to in Sydney. Great service and great food. Try the Thai Beef Salad and the Green Curry in particular but really, everything's good!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Delicious thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Often walked by and wondered why they were always full!! Now I know why. BYO low corkage possibly also licensed.
Ate here two weeks ago. Not full when we arrived but that soon changed!
Prompt and friendly service. Extensiive menu and very reasonably priced.
Had two entrees both delicious. Ordered two mains with rice - one of them massaman beef, which we have eaten in many restaurants and in many countries. This was probably the best one we've ever had!!!
All this for just over $50 - wll worth it.
We will definitely be eating here again and would recommend to anyone who likes tasty Thai food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Carnation Thai restaurant in Wollongong is an exceptionally good Thai restaurant! Their Larb Gai was amazing, for such a simple dish to make, so many restaurants get it wrong!! The only criticism I have is that we thought the (Thai) dim sims (ordered for the children) were very bland, but really, who orders dim sims at a Thai restaurant??! The food was beautifully presented, the decor was very nice, the service was good and the food was delicious. We will eat here again on our next visit to Wollongong!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Carnation Restaurant also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Carnation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Carnation Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.