We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration with Friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardis On Crown

Bernardis On Crown
Shop 1/50 Crown Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
+61 2 4225 9542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 257 Restaurants in Wollongong
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Greek & Italian cultures are best known for hearty, generous meals and warm hospitality. Bernardis on Crown restaurant brings these qualities together in the heart of Wollongong. The menu features a fusion of authentic Greek & Italian cuisine, providing an assortment of modern & traditional dishes prepared from the finest ingredients and fresh seasonal produce. This award-winning restaurant is steps away from WIN Stadium and the IPAC, so it's the perfect interlude to your event.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Booked here for a friends birthday last Saturday.
The resruraunt has a Greek/Italian Menu
We ordered mix of entrees for table of 16, and various mains.
24 Hour slow cooked Pork Belly was a favorite with those who had eaten here before,
I glad i ordered it was beautiful and tender with a nice crispy skin and a prune and wine jous and cabbage accompiament, wonderful meal.
Others had Stuffed Calamari, Lasagna and Santorini Prawns etc, all were more than happy with the meals and service. Another noce night out with friends in a very good Resturaunt.

Paul & Leanne

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    2
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Now... Bernardis Greek and Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

When visiting Wollongong we have dined at this restaurant many times while it was Micheal's and always enjoyed the food and service.
Last week was my first visit since Liz Bernardis has become the new Owner/Chef. Right from the phone call to make the booking which was 5 for supper after the theatre, Liz and her staff' gave excellent service. Liz's Greek Dips with warm pita bread were a great starter and the Snapper and Prawn "Special" were particular hits, TheTiramisu desert is yummy - with a serving size that is just great for sharing. We found the food and service was wonderful and one of our guests has let us know she has made a return visit with some other friends over the weekend!

We too will certainly will be returning.

http://www.bernardis.com.au/about

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oztraylya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a noisy ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have eaten here on several occasions and the standard of food and service has always been exemplary. The only downside for me is that the level of noise almost precludes conversation at times. I respectfully suggest that management should look at sound attenuation measures.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“sadly very ppor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

the restuarant was not even full on a saturday night, but staff seems more concerned with chatting with each other at the cash register than clearing plates or providing us with water. food was average. anyone could have cooked much better from a jar.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing blue cheese gnocchi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

It's a shame that Michael's is not further up on the recommended list. Having lived in Wollongong for nearly 7 months it is my favourite restaurant! I have eaten at Michaels around 5-6 times and always had a great meal. Weekdays are BYO and there is a great wine list at weekends. We used to love the chefs special menu (set price, lots and lots of courses). However, they have since stopped this so whenever we go we tend to make our own chefs menu (ordering lots and lots of dishes to share).

Some stand outs from my experience are: blue cheese gnocchi (homemade and beautifully soft), black fig and proscitto mini pizza (simply amazing), spatchcock (signature dish) and of course the vanilla bean panna cotta. Service is always excellent and the place is buzzing at weekends with lots of red wine in huge glasses. It's a great social place to eat with a large group of friends. Bravo!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernardis On Crown also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Bernardis On Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardis On Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.