We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt Serviced Appartments Woollongong NSW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Serviced Apartments

Salt Serviced Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Salt Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Salt Serviced Apartments
5-7 Stewart Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Katherine, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Salt Serviced Appartments Woollongong NSW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently stayed for 5 days over Queen's Birthday Weekend for a Sporting Event at the nearby WIN Entertainment Centre. It was the perfect place with all the facilities that I required. Large appartment with all requirements advertised. Close to everything within walking distance, great shopping, eating places and entertainment. My daughter and her family also stayed in the appart. next door and we have already booked for next year. Refurb.was needed in some areas but observed it was in the process. My only suggestion is a clothes airer for the lighter washing and a stand for the suitcase.

Room Tip: Ground floors would be better for those with young toddlers to run around outside. No pool or Gym th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
6
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed three nights in a two bedroom apartment. I thought that the unit needed some serious cleaning..and maybe new carpet and furniture. All a bit 'tired'. I agree with a previous review about all the signs saying 'don't do this or that'! Very annoying to constantly told what to do!
The apartment wasn't inexpensive...in fact, I thought it was quite pricey, especially when 'serviced' meant a change of towels on one day! That was it!
My son and his family also stayed at the apartments at the same time...a four day stay, and NOTHING was done to his apartment in that time....and he had two young children with him.
Lift your game, Salt!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed one night in a 2 bedroom appartment.It is quite spacious.

The lounge room opened onto a large corner balcony.This could have been lovely but, unfortunately you look out on the stadium or onto the rather large Chifley Hotel next door.So, it is not really an ' ocean view' and it is not really inviting either (if you planned to have breakfast on the balcony).

Our bedrooms faced the Chifley hotel and it is so lit up at night that it was like daylight in our bedrooms.The vertical blinds let all the light through.

The kitchen + bathroom+ laundry are all adequate.There is good storage for a longer stay.

The reception opens at 9am and closes a 5pm.We arrived late but check in was easy.Our keys were left in the letterboxe.We left after 9am and the check out was quick too.

Parking for 1 car/appartment.Lift from car park.

Room Tip: " City view' may be better for sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was spacious but the standard of maintenance was basic. There was light coming in the windows all night from the Chifley Hotel which is only 50 metres away. There was a rather narrow view of the sea due to the ghastly WIN stadium.
They are rebuilding part of the stadium due to wind damage last year and the noise from that was high. On a Saturday morning they started work at 6 a.m. with a lot of banging. The night before work continued well into the night and was only stopped by a welcome electrical storm.
If you want a quiet retreat with great views this is not it.

Room Tip: I would not bother with a sea view room since the WIN stadium ensures there is little of that. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at Salt recently - two couples and a bub.

Contrary to what others found, we actually found this to be quite expensive, at AUD $300/night. At that price, we really expected a bit more in terms of cleanliness and amenities provided. For example, it is a fully stocked kitchen but there is no salt and pepper (which, for a weekend trip, you don't want to go and buy). Also - the stove in our room didn't work.

In addition the place was quite dusty and really needed a good clean. I probably noticed more so because we had our son with us, but still.

I didn't mention any of the above to the management as we were only there for two nights and had plans anyway so these things didn't interfere with us having a great time. So to be fair, they didn't have a chance to rectify these things, but as mentioned - they didn't interfere with our visit. I simply would have expected a better standard considering the price we paid.

Having said that, the place was very conveniently located, it was spacious and they do provide a complimentary cot and high chair if requested (even if the mattress in the cot is just a folded over blanket).

So - as the headline says - it wasn't awful, but it wasn't great either, considering the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

A last minute vacation for two families, couldn't have worked out better. Two families getting away for holiday can get expensive as both families require 2 hotel interconnecting rooms to be comfortable. We usually stay at Novotel North Wollongong. Due to unavailablity of interconnecting rooms, I searched almost every hotel and apartment in Wollongong and came across Salt serviced apartments. A two bedroom apartment with ocean view was half the cost of Novotel. We initially booked two, two bedroom, apartments with ocean views for 3 nights and extended our stay for another night. Considering its peak season due to xmas break school holidays we were extremely lucky that Salt had rooms available. One apartment was available to continue our stay but the other we had to move as it was booked by another family. Salt staff were wonderful during the 'transit' they allowed us to stay in our room whilst the cleaners cleaned the available room (on a weekend)...Even the cleaners were fantastic, I have never experienced such hospitality in our circumstances. We were very fortunate to have such service from both the Salt staff and cleaners. With a large family it is difficult to find places were the kids are comfortable as well as happy. Salt apartments are spacious and very clean with facilities such as washing machine and dryer for families and lets not forget to mention absolutely beautiful views of the ocean. We have already recommend Salt to many of our friends and are planning a few families to get together. Salt apartments is surrounded by the ocean, park, stadium and 24hr McDonalds a short stroll to supermarkets (Aldi's and Woolworths).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at Salt for one night over the weekend. Initially I booked a one bedroom apartment and was told that it would be on the ground floor, after we checked in we realized that we actually had a two bedroom apartment on the first floor which was a pleasant surprise.
Check in was relitively simple and quick, and I can't really fault the location as it is pretty central to Crown Street and the beach.
Our main concerns were the kitchen which was pretty grubby, the plates and cutlery weren't all that clean and there were greasy finger marks and food stains on most of the cupboard doors.
The furniture was quite cheap and the couch had some questionable stains on it, however the bedrooms and bathroom were quite clean.
All in all it wasn't an unpleasant experience but I felt a little let down due to the fact the pictures on the website make these serviced apartments look amazing, while on closer inspection they're not all that great.
I'd stay here again if I couldn't find other accommodation in Wollongong, but it would be a reluctant choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salt Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Serviced Apartments

Address: 5-7 Stewart Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salt Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.