We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overall Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   cnr of Banks & Corrimal St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
The Entrance, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Overall Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent a night at this property after enjoying a concert at the WIN Ent Centre nearby, cannot fault the hotel for the price that was paid. It certainly isnt 5 star luxury but we did find it met all of our needs. The breakfast was great and we even received wine and strawberries as part of our package. The outlook is also nice, overlooking the golf course. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
40
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcstle, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here mid week... So had no issues with noise from functions... And got great service from the staff. Our air con didn't work at first, but we mentioned it on the way out for the day and the guy was on his way up to fix it straight away. Was working when we got back that arvo. Room was clean, large and comfy. The verandah overlooked the golf course and beach which was amazing of a morning. Can recommend the Thai restaurant (jasmine something?) just up the road too... Best I've been to!!
If I had to offer a suggestion, it would be better curtains... When the sun rises over the ocean in the morning, the curtains don't help to block the light much. That's my only complaint! Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I arrived at 1.45pm (check-in was at 2pm) and had an uneventful check in. Got a shock when I first entered the room to find it had not been cleaned after the previous tenant! Informed reception who then said I would have to wait half an hour while the room was cleaned as no other room immediately available. When I finally got to my room it was modern & comfortable. Not as close to restaurants, shops & shuttle bus as other hotels but the room was very quiet so I got quality sleep. I would probably stay here again for that very reason.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wollongong has many hotels all located in different parts of the downtown area. This golf club hotel has only 30 rooms, so very personable service. ALL staff extremely friendly.We used our airline FF points and stayed in a 1 bedroom. Bed was a double and on the firm side, bathroom spacious with updating attempt. Poor lighting for shaving etc .2 TVs with foxtel (pretty standard these days) HUGE balconies with fantastic ocean views and overlooking the golf course (some rooms face residential and mountain direction). Quiet end of town area but close to WIN stadium, great beach walking tracks, restaurants , fastfood, shopping, supermarkets etc. We walked to Nth Wollongong for breakfast each morning and ate at Diggies and the kiosk (20 min brisk walk).Free parking but not secure and you share with golfing clients. Good location if you have family reunions etc as everything under one roof - bistro (food ok- club quality & prices), bar, pokies,views & golf. Parking and room access very easy and uncomplicated.
Things to note before you book:
The club hires to the public, we stayed 2 nights & Saturday night they had a 30th birthday bash - music belting out loud and clear until Midnight with no warning to guests. Check first that there will be no parties ! There is no gym or pool. Kitchen walls very thin - word for word conversation from next door heard from our kitchen. This place best suited to couples & older teenagers.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room and check there is NO venue hire function when you want to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for a night in July. The motel occupies three floors of the Wollongong Golf Club, and has a club style dining room and bar area which is reasonable priced and serves "club type" meals. Food is ok and what I would expect from this sort of dining. Room service is also available but a 10% of bill surcharge applies, so this could become expensive if you have a large family. Parking is free.
The room itself is very large with basic kitchenette (no Hotplates but microwave) large dining/lounge room, two bedrooms (1 King bed in one and 2 singles in the other) and two bathrooms. The suite was very clean and tidy with the exception of the shower recess with appeared quite dirty and on need of a good scrub. The lounge also has a sofa bed/lounge, which being a sofa bed you tend to sink into, making it uncomfortable, not such a great thing. Views are of the escarpment and wollonging city. There is also a large furnished balcony.
Staff were excellent, very friendly and happy to be at work, well done to the management for this!.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Got a 1 bedroom ocean view for fairly reasonable money 150-180 band. Room was top quality, 1 bedroom suite. Everything you need and a lovely view out o the sea overlooking the golf course. Couldn't ask for a nicer room and the hotel itself was well presented, although doubles as a golf course reception but that's no issue. Restaurant and bar is a little uninspiring but you're only 10 mins stroll to a strip of restaurants.
Notable benefits include free parking and wifi which is much appreciated and unusual in comparison to similar hotels.
Major downside would be lack of fitness centre or pool...that said you're well aware of this at time of booking so no complaints.

Room Tip: Beach 10 mins stroll. Stadium 5 mins. Shops 12 mins. Golf on your doorstep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have never stayed at this hotel.
I made a booking and then cancelled it over the phone a week later (and several weeks before I was due to stay). I received a verbal confirmation of the cancelation and an email was subsequently deleted and I cannot recover.
The hotel charged my credit card saying they couldn't find a record of my cancelation!
I will never stay at a Best Western again and implore you to do likewise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGolf, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Adam M,
Thank you for giving us your views. As we discussed on the phone recently, we have no record of your cancellation. It is our usual practice to request and confirm all booking changes by email but cannot find evidence of this in your case. We also tried to call you by phone on the day of arrival but received no reply. This is why we kept a room for you. We are sorry that this has upset you but do feel that we have been fair and reasonable.

Kind Regards
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club

Address: cnr of Banks & Corrimal St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club Hotel Wollongong
Best Western Wollongong
Wollongong Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.