We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lousy decor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Save Saved
You added Novotel Wollongong Northbeach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14 Cliff Road, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Wollongong
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location, lousy decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Stayed here on the weekend during summer. Ok its peak season but the Gong is hardly Monaco and the rate paid (std room), whilst not high, was terrible value as it would have bought rooms in quite a few 5 star hotel in the Sydney CBD during the same period. Ocean view rooms are advisable to avoid staring at the street or worse, the hotel roof.

The hotel looks run down and shows its age everywhere. The decor and condition of common areas are screaming for refurbishment, especially the lifts. The rooms are on the small side, are clean but again, show their age and were reminescent of an 80's motel. Bed and pillows have the texture of marshmallows. In short, it's comfortable and clean but old and run-down. Prices are ridiculous for what you get, and although the bedroom furnishings are new-ish, the tv is small, the bathroom old and the corridors etc do not reflect the prices being charged.

The staff are friendly and the breakfast decent. The hotel's saving grace is its location, which is right across from the beach. Parking is free too which is a bonus, although the garage is quite tight both in terms of spaces and manuverability.

There arent many choices around the area, but if you want modern facilities and a bit of luxury, which you would expect given the relatively exhorbitant rates being charged, you will be very disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Run down and terrible value for money
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    449
    240
    59
    30
See reviews for
334
428
52
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stay in an ocean view room in the 10th floor in December 2008. It is one of the best ocean view rooms we have stayed in. However, we did not find the beds to be comfortable as the mattress had a "saggy" feel to it-perhaps it has reached it use-by-date. The bath looks like it needs some refurbishment soon. The gym facilities are in urgent need for upgrade. The buffet breakfast was rather ordinary and overpriced. The hotel staff (like most Novotels) are friendly and eager to help. Our stay coincided with the staff Christmas party which started off with an awards ceremony held in the ground floor tennis court where the ocean views room faced. It was hard not to hear the award announcements and that interrupted what would have been a restful late afternoon snooze. All in all, the hotel is need for a major refurbishment pronto.

  • Liked — ocean views
  • Disliked — bed, bath and breakfast (in that order)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, AUS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

The hotel itself was great - good location, good food, good staff, clean enough (a bit yuck in the bathroom though!), nice manchester

My only real grumble was the bed - it was WAY too soft for my tastes. I realise some people might like gravity to roll them into the middle of the bed, but I nearly needed help rolling back out! It had a massive dip (and I'm not overweight).

Unfortunately, for me, the bed ruined it. But if you don't mind very soft beds, you would probably really love this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — VERY soft bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Istayed here for 1 night as i was attending a business conference. i had a standard room - with access to the balcony and a view northward up the beach. the room was quite nice - reasonably large. Double bed (a bit soft and bouncy - perhaps oldish?) 2 seater couch and coffee table, long desk top with TV and bar fridge. the bathroom was very large too. shower in the tub. usually toiletries - nothing branded - soap, shampoo - no extras like lotion. good minibar. WORST pillows I have ever slept on. the moment my head touched them all the stuffing moved to each side - I should have taken advantage of their "pillow menu" and arranged something better.
there is one long balcony that wraps around the building and all the rooms open on to it - only separated by railings. I immediately became aware I was looking straight into the 2 adjoining rooms and so went back into the room quickly!
the conference facilities are extensive- lots of rooms with sliding walls so they can be small and large - and a large room plenty big for our crowd of 200. They did great conference food.
we went to windjammer restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was the usual buffet - eggs (quite good) potato hash, bacon, sausages, tomatoes etc - cold included a range of kelloggs cereals, poached fruits, toast station, pastries. Lunch was better with a wide range of seafood and hot dishes.
we also went to the beachfront bar which had expensive beer ($6) and cheap spirits (G&T - $3.50) - go figure?!
free parking, across the road from the beach and a large park, has a day spa, sparkly dress shop and poker machine room. Business centre, which I didn't use - expensive wireless internet though.
they have a gym and an unheated pool - but I didn't use them
I think they are a bit overpriced for what you get - but I beleive they do have occassional good value packages.
stay here if you want safety and the usual hotel amenities - nothing flash but you'll know what to expect.

  • Liked — decent room size and the sound of crashing waves - oh and the prawns
  • Disliked — no privacy on balconies, a bit overpriced
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed in the Novotel in an ocean view room on the night of our wedding after having our reception in the function rooms. The accomodation was lovely, very clean, gorgeous view and balcony, very spacious room and the service was very nice. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — The amazingly soft bed which was just so nice and comfy
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

I stayed here for two nights as it was the venue for a conference I was attending. It is the fourth time I have been here on business during the past couple of years.

On each occasion I have left my curtains open so that I can watch the sun rise over the ocean, this is magic. The rooms I've been allocated must have been refurbished in the last couple of years as they have had modern furnishings and appear in good order. As one who travels with lots of chargers I was pleased to find that the desk area had four power outlets. The bed was supremely comfortable and made up with triple sheeting. Unfortunately the aircon didn't seem to be cold enough even though I had it down to 5 degrees. I could imagine the northerly facing rooms being a trifle uncomfortable in summer. The rooms with a balcony are preferable to those with only windows as the windows have been sealed so that one cannot take advantage of the beautiful sea breezes. There is a number of rooms without an ocean view - the absence of an ocean view would detract from the amenity of these rooms.

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. At checkin the female concierge nabbed my two little bags and escorted me to my room, running off before I had time to dig into my wallet for some change to tip her.

The meals served during our function were attractively presented, varied and quite palatable. Breakfast in the newly refurbished restaurant was more than adequate, my only gripe is that the scrambled egg was very gluggy on both mornings.

With a swimming pool, tennis court and beachside location this hotel would be most suitable for a short family getaway or romantic interlude.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Windows sealed shut
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

Excellent food ,excellent service by Petin and the girls we have been staying there for over 11 years and we will be bac..................

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Address: 2-14 Cliff Road, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.