We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating Frank's 80th Birthday at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Wollongong Northbeach to your Saves list
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14 Cliff Road, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
Tuncurry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Celebrating Frank's 80th Birthday at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Upon arriving at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach we were greeted with friendly reception staff who booked us into our lovely rooms overlooking the beach. The Suite we booked for Frank and Val was very comfortable with plenty of room to relax. Our own room was upgraded to a Northview Room where we enjoyed the beach view from our room. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The gift left for Frank for his birthday (from the Novotel) made his day even more special after enjoying a buffet lunch at the Windjammer Restaurant. Our extended family really enjoyed their stay. Thank you to all staff at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    486
    263
    68
    32
See reviews for
348
475
54
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Rooms are a great size but the furniture and fittings all need replacing, holes in chairs, mold in bathroom, even corridors outside of rooms had holes in walls with bad patch work....the food is TERRIBLE!! You pay a fortune for the buffet seafood dinner only to be served tasteless watery seafood the other food serves was also extremely bad!!! I would never recommend dining at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your review,

I am sorry to read that you found some parts of the hotel & the food in the restaurant disappointing. We do strive to have our guests enjoy their stay here so all feedback is greatly appreciated. I will pass on your comments to the relevant managers to address.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Had a very pleasant stay overnigh for a wedding in the hotel. The service was excellent, the room a little dated but clean. The ocean view from the window was spectacular. Hoel was very close to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Colin358,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed the wedding here at the Novotel. Customer service is always a high focus so it is encouraging when we get good feedback about our service.

I will share your comments with the rest of our management team.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A beautifully laid out ground-floor meeting place to meet for drinks and nibbles before
having relaxing very well-presented buffet dinner - the evening finalised in spacious
room and luxurious bed. My idea of the way a holiday should be, and with the added
bonus, if you are inclined, to spend a few dollars on the pokies right there in the
hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your review,

It is a pleasure to know that we were able to give you just what you were after for your holiday, after all this is why we are here.

I will share it with the rest of our team who I am sure will find it encouraging.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excelent, close to the beach, resteraunts and town. The conference rooms were clean and well tended. The room was well apointed, clean and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Address: 2-14 Cliff Road, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.