We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sovereign Inn Wollongong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sovereign Inn Wollongong to your Saves list
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend , basic 2 star motel waiting for redevelopment . Price for a family room 2 adults + 2 children $140 . Small room , old tv, no opening window except in the shower, no coat hangers, no teaspoons. Fine for a short stay good price for around Wollongong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without neighbours and around the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned we are in the process of updating the property. We are investigating why the room did not have the correct provisions and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
12
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We travelled up as a football club, where no other hotel would accept clubs. from the moment we got there the service we received was excellent, all the staff including the cleaners were friendly, and made our stay relaxing, easy to get a taxi to and from the motel, close to the shops and a nice grassed area out the back. plenty of room, and if we are in the GONG again we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Over the years we have built up a relationship with many of the sporting groups that come to Wollongong and we are always happy to see them return time and time again. Look forward to seeing you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Even the bed was so dated it was sagged in the middle, the curtains don't cover the window so for privacy you need to hold the curtains across the window with a chair, Old noisy box air conditioners and $4 for two slices of toast with jam (a rip off). We Manage Motels and will never stay here again...

Room Tip: you will be more comfortable in the back seat of your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have to say after booking and reading some of the reviews I didn't have much hope for this motel. However when we got there we found it to be very neat, tidy and comfortable.
Upon check in the staff were friendly and helpful.
The room was more then what we expected, roomier and comfortable. It was a bit hot so the fan and aircon made it very cool and relaxing.
We were touring with a few other people so there was plenty of room, which is a must really! Bathroom was clean and a good size. The little table and chairs out the front of our room were comfortable and good.
We will be visiting this motel again when in the area. Very easy to get to and was easy to get to the venue we were heading to.

Room Tip: Call when booking and check. We found that we could of fitted 4 more people in our room when we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. As our industry is finding, Tripadvisor comments can be very onesided and we as operators cannot really have a fair say. This is also noticeable in restaurant reviewing and slowly the general public are beginning to realise that review sites may not necessarily reflect the true position of the product that is being reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, Thursday/Friday whilst attending a nearby funeral. Very handy location to restaurants and most areas of the Gong, but very badly in need of renovation, as suggested by one other, with a bulldozer. Rooms are very small amd musty, bed and pillows hard and uncomfortable, quite cool on our arrival and the air con is very noisy. The foor of the room sloped from a high at the bathroom end to a low at the entry door. This meant that botlles rolled out of the fridge when the door was opened. The space to get onto the toilet is very tight. When the room was serviced they did not replace tea/coffee items.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. The motel is an older style motel and the exterior reflects the décor of that time. The soft furnishings in the rooms are constantly updated, with new carpets laid two years ago, TV's updated and walls repainted. The motel is consistent with a AAA 3.5 star rating. In regards to the musty rooms, the rooms are aired constantly, even if not in use. Should any of our guests have a problem with anything in the room we do ask that they advise us and we would do our utmost to rectify the problem (including changing rooms). Our apologies for the tea and coffee not being refurbished, that is definitely a breakdown in the service area and we will be conducting retraining in that area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Space age motel. As in 1962.

Very badly needs renovating. With a bulldozer.

Noisiest air conditioner I've ever heard.

Noisiest walls that block out NONE of the noise from the next room or from outside.

(Neighbouring room had second noisiest air conditioner I've ever heard - but only by a very close margin.)

Nice garden at the back - but PLEASE bulldoze the rest and start again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that there was a problem with your air conditioner. We have recently installed new air conditioners to the the majority of rooms. We would have welcomed your bringing this to our attention and we would have done all possible to recitify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were given a room at the back which didn't have any traffic noise and faced a lovely grassy area. Rooms are old but clean and bright. Beds were firm but very comfortable. We turned on the air conditioning unit which was very noisy but room warmed up in 15 minutes so we turned it off and room stayed warm all night. A lot of workmen stay at this motel - they all seemed to be in the rooms at one end but they were talking loudly til about 10. Staff member at desk was very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at the back so you don't get traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned the rooms do have a lovely outlook over the gardens to the stream and well away from the road noise. Our apologies regarding some noise from guests until 10pm. If you do have an issue with loud noise from guests, please contact us and we can address the issue. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sovereign Inn Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Inn Wollongong

Address: 111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Inn Wollongong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sovereign Inn Wollongong has a range of rooms including queen, twin and family rooms. AAA 3.5 star, We are ideally situated within 8 minutes drive of the CBD of Wollongong, the Entertainment Centre, beaches and Port Kembla. We are conveniently located close to Figtree private hospital and Wollongong hospital. Licensed restaurant, bar, pool room and conference facilities are all available at the property. Ample off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sovereign Inn Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolongong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Inn Wollongong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.