We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of My Pantry

My Pantry
5/16 Cliff Road, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
+61 2 4229 3141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 255 Restaurants in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Across the road from the Novotel.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We came here for a leisurely breakfast on a Saturday morning and were amazed at the quality of food and attention of servers.
Coffee served in double walled coffee cups was perfect.
The menu was limited and you would go elsewhere if you want a large choice. We both had the crab omelette each on sourdough toast. It was filled with crab pieces and tasted great.
The waitress was excellent and kept checking to ensure we were fine.
I can see why this is #1 restaurant in Wollongong and cannot wait for a dinner to check out the duck

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Overpriced for what you get. Basic menu with not a huge variety, atmosphete average on a saturday at lunch, will not be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The way food should be :D”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We reserved a table here off the back of the reviews and it didn't disappoint. Service was excellent and a pleasant surprise. We both had a starter, main, and desert. For the entree we had the Scollops & the Arancini Balls and they were both cooked properly. The mains were the Salmon & the Chicken Wellington both, again, cooked perfectly. We finished with the Nutella Tart & the Poached Pear and Fig.

ALL dishes were excellent in taste, superbly presented and delivered at the right temperature in a timely manner. Ticks all round!

We will definitely be back for more, but be prepared, for its a loud environment and a little overpriced.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have avoided eating here as they don't have BYO, but decided to give it a go on Saturday night. The atmosphere and service is very casual. The tables are huge - would be good for a restaurant that serves shared dishes, but in such a noisy venue it was hard to hear people at the other end. I also found it strange they didn't have matching chairs and tables - the chairs were very low, so it felt like being a kid at grandma's table.
The food was good, but we expected more given the inflated prices. The moussaka was ok, but at $28 seemed pricey. My partner didn't enjoy his snapper, but one of our friends enjoyed the chicken wellington.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

After being recommended by family to visit this restaurant, we will definitely return on our next trip to wollongong. My partner and I dined in on Saturday night and whilst the restaurant was busy, the staff were more than attentive. The food selection was great and catered to the seafood lovers and my partner who enjoyed his eye fillet. There was little room for dessert due to the big portion sizes, but we had to enjoy the last course to top off a wonderful evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Pantry also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to My Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.