We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartment in Wollongong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Pioneer Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites Pioneer Sands to your Saves list
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Carters Lane | Towradgi, Wollongong, New South Wales 2518, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment in Wollongong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We would highly recommend the one bedroom apartment we stayed in. It was large, light, clean and very well equipped. The staff were extremely helpful. Our stay was most enjoyable and very comfortable.

Room Tip: This property is located approximately 4 Kms from the city centre, so having your own transport is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Oma62,

Thank you for posting your review from your stay with us and I’m glad you enjoyed your time in the Illawarra.

I do hope to see you here at the hotel again next time you’re in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    48
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
43
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armidale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Pioneer Sands has become our home away from home when we visit Wollongong. We have stayed here several times, this being our 5th stay, & the service of the staff, especially Warren at the front desk & Emma in the Cafe, is always friendly & efficient. We have stayed in both 1 & 2 bedroom apartments which are well appointed and always very clean. The apartments are a good comfortable size. Happy Hour on Friday & Saturday nights in the bar is always enjoyable. Although just north of Wollongong CBD it's easy to get into town if needed or the Fairy Meadow shopping centre just around the corner has everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear jh2350,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that you call our hotel your home away from home and my staff can provide a level of service that contributes to your enjoyable stay. This is my no.1 ethos and it’s pleasing to hear we can consistently deliver on that.

The Q-Bar happy hour has become a regular feature due to popularity and we have strived to improve this area and make it as comfortable an experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Check in was quick & staff helpful. The apartment had everything needed for a comfortable stay. Only downside was the advertised views of city lights, mountain or ocean were non existent-a tip toe glimpse of water was all we had & I think we had the best possible room. Towradgie Hotel next door is worth a visit for a meal & drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Nellie84,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands. Our hotel has a number of views depending on the room allocated to you on the day. I’m sorry you felt disappointed with the view from your room. Being a boutique hotel with personalised service, please on your next stay ask my friendly reception team and they will be able to assist further on this.

As you mentioned Towradgi Beach Hotel is close by, with only a 150m walk, serving great meal options for all tastes.
We hope that we see you again at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.
Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were travelling to Wollongong and noticed a Mystery Accommodation on Last Minute.Com for $110 - 4km from the CBD. That suited us so we gave it a go. Plus, of course, $6.50 extra for booking on Last Minute.com.

The location is quite odd - in the burbs, but convenient for us coming in from the north.

Reception very friendly and room excellent. Fully equipped one bedroom apartment. The kitchen was a bonus so we shopped at a local Woolworths and ate dinner in.

The complex does have a fitness centre.

Room Tip: Room 306 was just fine with a view of the residential part of the complex. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Trish M,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.

I’m glad our location here in the beachside suburb of Towradgi, Wollongong ultimately suited your needs. Being only a short 4km drive to Wollongong CBD suits most of our guests all of the time. The obviously advantages are quiet and spacious rooms with that new and modern feel.

I’m glad you enjoyed our apartments and were able to fully utilise the facilities.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was more like a modern appointed two bedroom apartment. Clean bathroom, kitchens & bedrooms. Both bedrooms were very well sized.

Comfy lounge room.

I also appreciate the undercover high security car parking.

Please note that this isn't actually in Wollongong, but nevertheless a good stay.

The only pity is a rather rushed 10am checkout. Would be nice if it was extended to 11am so that visitors can enjoy breakfast rather than feeling "shoo'ed" out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear ck74au,

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay with us here at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands. It’s a pleasure to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfy and well sized. Our housekeeping team work hard to maintain our rooms to our 4 ½ star level and it’s always nice to be able to pass these comments onto my team.

I’m sorry to hear that you felt rushed out on check out. Our check out time is 10am, however if needed and availability permits we can offer our guests a later check out of 11am complimentary. On your next stay please ask my reception team and they will be able more than happy to assist with any queries.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got a great deal on Wotif to stay here in a one bedroom suite with a bottle of wine, continental breakfast and late checkout of 12pm included. The service was prompt and efficient on check-in and all staff had a smile. Very refreshing. The suite was clean, spacious and well presented. We had a TV in the lounge area as well as the bedroom which was much appreciated when we needed to lay down after a big meal and catch a movie on Showtime. The noise level wasn't too bad either given the bedroom is away from the front door (the night we stayed there was a girls basketball team staying as well and there was a bit of noise from them but nothing too disturbing). We upgraded our continental breakfast to the hot buffet (available Sunday mornings) for an additional $10 each. Well worth it and again service was with a smile. These apartments are located 4kms out of town but are close to beaches and are on a quiet street. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Christine J,
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments to all our staff. The majority of our rooms have 2 TV’s, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom, being a point of difference to a lot of other hotels in the area which as you mention allows you to relax in bed while watching the TV.
We have worked hard to improve our breakfast offerings and it’s great to hear your positive feedback regarding our hot buffet breakfast. The hot breakfast is available Saturday and Sunday so if you stay again you can enjoy it on a Saturday too.
We hope to see you again at the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Apartments were very clean & spacious. Full kitchen facilities.Friendly staff with undercover carparking.
A short walk to the back of the property with access to the Towradgi Pub. Security access only back into the apartments -which is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear wineanddinensw,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review from your stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and other hotel facilities. You are correct it’s only a short walk to Towradgi Beach Hotel where I’m sure you enjoyed a lovely dinner and drinks. As you mentioned you do need a security card to access the gate as we pride ourselves on providing security for our guests.

Warm regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites Pioneer Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Pioneer Sands

Address: 19 Carters Lane | Towradgi, Wollongong, New South Wales 2518, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Suites Pioneer Sands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wollongong's newest boutique accommodation & conference and events destination for 2010 and beyond - The Quality Suites Pioneer Sands - is ideally located on the Sydney side of Wollongong at only 55 minutes drive from Sydney Airport. We offer One and Two Bedroom Apartments with large open plan space flowing onto balconies with escarpment or Wollongong skyline views. All apartments feature modern finishes, Austar cable on LCD TV's, internet, air conditioning and fully self contained kitchen facilities. Other facilities include a cafe, outdoor pool, gym spa and sauna, and onsite business services. This could be your next stop for your business or leisure trip to Wollongong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites Pioneer Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.