We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I'd stayed at the Harp Hotel in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Motel

Flinders Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Flinders Motel to your Saves list
Flinders Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   19 Flinders St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wished I'd stayed at the Harp Hotel in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

When you book a "single" do you expect to get a working man's quarters?? . I didn't and neither did my husband. I stayed at the Flinders as my husband was away and I needed to be out of our home in North Wollongong for a night while tiling was completed. I was very upset with the starkness and coldness of the room, much worse than my son's Campus Uni accommodation across the road at University House, North Wollongong??!! $80 was too much for this depressing single steel bed. :-(

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2711Keith, Manager at Flinders Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
I hold very little credence in remarks made by guests when for some unknown reason they are not prepared to approach management during their stay to make mention of there concerns. The room allocated to you was the same room (Room 15) that was praised in this blog on 23rd January 2012.
"This only proves that one size does not fit all, and that the perception of one guest is different to another".
In regard to the student accommodation your son is enjoying during his stay in Wollongong this I understand is a new complex built with tax payers money, and of course would be of the highest standard, and with no expense spared.
Photos of our property can be viewed on our web page. These photo's clearly indicate the size of room (You booked a single room) as well as the style of bed in the room. Our rates are competative with other properties of "similar star rating" within the area. Our guests include Doctors, engineers, military , government employees, as well as students and, as you mention we even allow "working class".
Most guests stay at this property because it is a more affordable property to stay in. Our rates have not risen dramatically over the past 4 years, despite the upgrades that have occured, and continue to occur around the property.
Your rights to stay at an alternative property in Wollongong is your prerogative and would save you any embarasment should you return to this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I found this place clean, comfortable and in a great location - Everywhere in Wollongong is just minutes away.
I stayed in a single air-conditioned room. Everything in the room (carpet, microwave, desk, air con etc) looked newish. The bathroom was basic but clean. The staff where helpful and acknowledged my request of having a quiet room and I must say to be in the company the gentlemens dry British humour was rather refreshing!
There is a 24/7 gym that is 2 minutes walk from the place.

Room Tip: If your a single traveller, ask for room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

First impression was of location - this motel is in the middle of half a dozen caryards, beside a very busy road. The motel is not coach friendly as we saw a group having to load and unload down the driveway, beside the road. As we entered the room and had a look around we saw a sticky stain from a cup left on a table. The bathroom basin had a surface of brown film, like scum. We were advised upon booking that bringing a toaster would not be suitable, as smoke detectors would go off. We took this into account and planned cereal for breakfast and while we did find bowls in our room, we could not find spoons. We were also informed that when taking a shower we had to open the louvre strip windows so as to prevent smoke alarms going off. The first few showers we were lucky - we had hot/warm water, but in the last 24 hours of our stay there was NO hot water. We couldn't wait to get home to a HOT shower. Our rooms were far from soundproof - we could hear movement in bathrooms and from the level below and beside. If we had not had early starts each day, I think we would have had a sleepless night. The final straw, I took my own towel as a spare and was using as a hand towel. It must be noted that my towel looked NOTHING like the standard towels provided by staff, and yet we returned the first day to find it gone. Time prevented a visit to reception, however I left a pleasant note requesting at LEAST a replacement but received no response whatsoever. I WILL NOT RETURN.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2711Keith, Manager at Flinders Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are unable to validate most of your complaints about this property. It is dissappointing that you did not contact the reception or talk to your group co-ordinator regarding your concerns while you were on site as we feel that we could have overcome most of them, with the exception of the hot water service that lost power due to an off site electrical sub-station blowing a fuse. It would have been impossible to relocate your party of 100 persons to an alternative hotel in town because of the sporting activities that took place in town over the weekend.
In regard to location, this property was built in the late 1950s and as such we are unable to relocate it to an area of your choice.
Our fire alarm system is governed by state laws and is there for the protection of all guests. The hotel is charged $500.00 for false call outs. This charge we pass on to guests, when they fail to follow our terms and conditions. If we allowed toasters in rooms we would need to relocate the local fire service to our premises.
Like many decisions in life we will accept your decision Never to Return to This Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Flinders Motel is a budget motel, nothing more, nothing less. It's greatest plus is the Jasmine Rice II (Thai) restaurant out front, where 2 of us had a fabulous 3 course meal including wine for $70. The bed was comfortable, the room was basic and clean, the shower was hot, and the motel was an easy walk to the centre of town (and, if you want it, to restaurants and local clubs). Negatives - It's on a main road and near the railway line, so it's noisy, and (incredibly) the air conditioner was labelled 'cooing only' and in mid winter no control to the air conditioner was provided or was missing - so either the room became stuffy or you open the windows and put up with the noise. And I'll have to talk to my mate Kamahl, next time I see him, about truth in advertising. This is a Golden Chain motel, but they didn't provide 'one of those little things', the fresh milk!! (UHT milk was provided.) (To explain to overseas readers, Kamahl is a well-known Australian entertainer and he has been promoting Golden Chain motels on TV recently).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed one night at this motel recently and were pleasantly surprised. At a very affordable rate we got a very simple, but clean room with Air Conditioning, Fridge, and TV. WiFi is available for a fee and there is a good Thai restaurant on site, which I believe also does breakfast and lunch.

If you want to leave your car at home, you can walk to North Beach in about 10 minutes. North Wollongong Station is less than 10 minutes away. The city would probably be only 20 minutes max.

Overall, we had a good nights sleep, and felt we had a very good value room. Definitely not fancy but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flinders Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Motel

Address: 19 Flinders St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Flinders Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Flinders Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.