We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Normandie Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Normandie Motel to your Saves list
Normandie Motel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over priced, disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Dark, dated, dinghy. Uncomfortable double bed. Paint peeling in sheets off the ceiling and cornice, chipped paint on the wardrobe, brown plastic light switch shedding its white paint 'makeover'. Tap that dripped no matter what, shower door that would not close. Very noisy bathroom fan. Thin, tired looking green towels, dinghy decor in the room. dirty and threadbare carpet in places and on the stairs and back entry. Blanket thin and felt like sackcloth. - Did not promote their restaurant - which was very pricey considering alternatives by the water. On the plus side - two spare pillows, good location, clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We acknowledge, that an upgrade is needed an ongoing issue that may take time to resolve. We do not know if you did come to our restaurant. We hope you still enjoyed your stay. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel we offer good value given our location and facilities. However in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
7
19
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Family stayed here for a concert. The motel is a lot older than it looks in the pictures - I think showing pics at night makes it a bit deceptive. Lady at front desk was nice, the room was quite old and small for a family room. Really needs updating. The street noise was terrible, I had a great deal of trouble sleeping as did my young children. The shower was a positive - awesome water pressure :) tv's desperately need updating, ours only had 3 channels that worked, one was fuzzy still. Made for a long night! Location is convenient. I wouldn't stay here again, would rather pay the extra and stay at the Novotel etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We sincerely regret the disturbance. Our location close to the beach and easy access the the City,can mean extra street activity on weekends. as much as we try to contain it. Renovation is an issue with the age of the building , it may take time to resolve. Sorry you have left wth a negative impression of our motel. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Easily found in Wollongong, this motel was somewhat disappointing. The hallways and room were very dated and old fashioned and were in need of refurbishment. The bathroom, although of a fair size, was dark and dingy and could also do with some work. The room, though, was clean and tidy, the Air Conditioning worked fine and the bed was comfortable, although a little small. I'm afraid that I found the foreign lady on reception a little scary and not very welcoming, but that may be just her way, I suppose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. We do have an old motel, changes are an ongoing issue which may take some time to resolve. We are glad that your room was comfortable. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and have a home away from home experience. We are sorry that you felt somewhat intimidated. It is not in keeping with how we greet our guests. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I travel a lot for both work and pleasure & I have to say that the bed in this motel was the worst I have ever slept in. It was hard & uncomfortable.The room was also very small & the shower screen very dodgy but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are sincerely sorry that you did not feel comfortable,we apologize. We take our feed back seriously, and try to make it as comfortable as possible, changing things is ongoing and all areas may take time to resolve. We are truly sorry that you left with a negative impression. Kindest regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This motel is advertised with words such as clean, friendly, homely, comfortable. I found the claims to be true when I stayed for two nights while attending a conference at Wollongong University.
The building dates from the 1960s I'd guess, and can't have been the best to start with, and while it's kept in clean and neat condition it's far from flash. Noise levels would depend upon who was in adjoining rooms and how many cars were coming and going. The bathrooms, paint colours, fittings etc are all dated. My shower didn't work too brilliantly (hot water is slow to arrive). So if you want to feel great about your deluxe hotel vacation, don't go here. But if you're OK with provincial motels you'll probably find this quite OK, and the price is about right for what you get.
To access the uni and the city you have a shuttle bus that stops nearby; North Wollongong station is a five to ten minute walk (about four blocks, on other side of highway); and there's a taxi rank opposite. The beach is close.
I tried the restaurant for an evening meal and had good service despite the staff being busy looking after a big group of locals having a pre-Xmas celebration. The menu features the tried and true e.g. fish and chips, cheesecake.
The proprietors are pleasant and unassuming and do their best to be helpful.
Overall I agree with KFP777 and Stephen R.

Room Tip: Talk to the proprietors about your preferences. (I phoned before booking.) Note there is no lift (el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We understand we may not have met with your expectations. We are taking note of our reviews as where we can do better. The motel was originally a Private Hotel built in 1946 and is in keeping with its original look. Renovation is an ongoing issue that may take time to resolve We are glad that the location was convenient for you. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

While in need of a makeover,the hallways are rather dingy, the owners were very friendly and helpful, and the location was exceptionally convenient. Our room was comfortable and we had a good stay overall. There was free wi-fi in the lobby which was a really rare and nice thing. If you do not have unreasonably high expectations this is a nice place to stay. I'd call it 2 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad that you were comfortable. We acknowledge that the motel need some upgrades. It is an ongoing issue that may take some time to resolve.You will be happy to know that since your visit we have upgraded the Wi Fi, which allows good reception in all of the guests rooms and any part of the motel. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My second stay at the Normandie and I was just as happy as the first time. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The owners are super-nice and helpful. I felt like I was staying with them rather than just staying in their hotel. The restaurant downstairs is decent and I love hanging out in the bar. The downstairs bar and small family run hotel give me a slightly European feel which I really enjoy. And it's all very affordable!

Room Tip: The road is not busy at night, so I'm not sure this matters much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It feels rewarding to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the feel of the place. It has always been a home away from home and we want to keep the character of the place with gradual changes in keeping. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandie Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.