We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alabaster Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alabaster Motor Inn to your Saves list
Alabaster Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23-25 Oxley Street | Old Pacific Highway, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Taree
Nowra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not bad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was my second stay here. While the motel is showing its age, it is under extensive renovation, but my room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Location is extremely good with shops, theatre, hotel and other facilities very handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
13
8
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bargo, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Disgraceful. I was met by the owners mother that didn't know I had a room booked and eecyed me to know what room I had. We went up to room 20 and found it very outdated and there was blood on the light switch. The were brown splash marks on the ceiling and a lot of crumbs or something on the bedside the room was filthy with dust on the bed head and dirty finger prints on the doors. When the.owners mother came yelling from downstairs to see if we had the key I said we wouldn't.be staying as the room was filthy. After showing her the filth she said it looked clean to her and we had more expensive rooms if we wanted it. Needless to say we left straight away and still have not heard from the owner.

Room Tip: Go to The Crescent it's well priced and clean.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Although in the middle of a major refurb we found the room very comfortable and also with 2 teenage children we had no issues. The motel is in a great location just on the edge of town but close to eateries and all necessities. Once the refurb is complete this will be a terrific stop over or destination. Once the WiFi booster is in place we will not need to be outside of our room. Will be back again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

while it was in the middle of renovation the owner couldn't have been more helpful,and as soon as the restaurant is finished it will be outstanding.The hotel is also very close to 2 other eateries and a nice quiet pub

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here for business just prior to Christmas 2013 and had good service.
The room was dated, but very clean. However they are undertaking a major refurbishment & from what I can see of the photos of the few rooms that are already renovated they look well above average for Taree.
Wi-Fi did not work, disappointing as I really needed the internet for work that evening. However the Manager logged me into their own personal Wi-Fi which was appreciated.
I have just rebooked for a coming trip. So I was happy enough.
____________

Just a note to management - maybe the children who live there could be guided to play 'away' from Guests rooms. The noisy little boys straight outside my room until after 8pm would have been better playing elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wonderful friendly helpful Manager!!! Pool open much longer than other Motor Inns! Restaurant directly across the road with good Italian food! Good comfortable beds. All round great place to stay!! On arrival shown to our room and told about the attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

When reaching Taree we just wanted to rest up for the long journey home next day. The motels exterior looked reasonable and it was apparent that some renovation/refurbishment was taking place. The owner was on the phone when we went to check in and while waiting we noticed the mess of paperwork on the desk and floor plus an ashtray that needed a good clean, when finally off the phone the owner was very friendly and chatty (perhaps a little too much) and he told us he had had Managers in previously who had let the motel run down and he was now trying to refurbish and build it back up. Our room was spacious, the bed was the most comfy I've come across in a motel as were the pillows (left ours in the car that night), plenty of tea, coffee and even hot chocolate. Carpets were new. The bathroom area is very outdated and the toilet continued to run overnight, however with careful planning there is potential for a large clean and modern bathroom. Owner didn't require payment on check in unless you planned to leave early - as compendium in room said office opened at 7am didn't think we'd be leaving early ..... however at 7 am office was not open, we rand door bell, we dialled from our room, we rang from our mobiles but no answer - son of owner appeared from a top floor unit and even he couldn't get into the office or raise anyone, after wasting 25 minutes we gave the son our room key and told him we would ring through our card details that evening which we did. Three days later payment has yet to go from our card. Whilst management skills seem a little lax, our stay was comfortable and reasonably priced. On the northern side of town there are several eateries opposite.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before checking in - and pay on check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alabaster Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alabaster Motor Inn

Address: 23-25 Oxley Street | Old Pacific Highway, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Taree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Taree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alabaster Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alabaster Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alabaster Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.