We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful relaxing getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarendon Forest Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarendon Forest Retreat to your Saves list
Clarendon Forest Retreat
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   150 Coates Road Possum Brush NSW, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“What a Beautiful relaxing getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Clarendon is a great place to get away from it all. My husband and I stayed in the Blue Wren and we love the loft bedroom and cathedral ceilings. The balcony and spa on the veranda was a great place to take in the gorgeous views and relax. At night we loved stargazing while relaxing in the spa and the settling in for the night with a warm cosy fire. The view of the rolling hills and forest are breathtaking and the atmosphere is peaceful and secluded. The cottages are set throughout the property and are all beautiful and take in the gorgeous surrounds. We loved the place so much we have rebooked and are taking the kids and our friends. We can’t wait to go back. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a fantastic place to get away from it all and feel thoroughly spoiled. When you enter Clarendon Retreat it feel like you've entered paradise. The rolling green hills, the backdrop of eucalypt forest and the pure serenity provided the perfect place for a weekend of relaxing. We (2 adults and 2 kids) shared the incredibly spacious Tara Lodge with friends and their kids and we all loved it. Most of the time our boys were off in the bush exploring or racing around the wraparound verandah while we sipped wine and soaked up the views. It was Father's day so while the dads were off exploring the mountain bike trails the mums took the kids horse riding and to the tennis courts. If it had been warmer I'm sure the kids would have loved a dip in the pool too. We had a quick look at the other properties and there's something for everyone. The Eco-lodge, the sanctuary etc. ... We're already planning our anniversary at one of the cosier cottages, this time without kids!

Room Tip: All the properties are secluded and feel well away from everyone else but the Sanctuary is probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as a family (with our 2 sons aged 6 & 9) with another family (of 5) in Tara Lodge. It worked well for a big group, and the boys loved the spa, huge verandah and watching the wallabies! We didn't use the far end of the Lodge (a conference room) - but would make a fantastic location for a small wedding, work group or family reunion.

We also looked at the lovely Talawahl Eco Lodge (my favourite!) and a couple of ther cottages. With such choice, there seems to a perfect place for families, and couples. Tennis courts, swimming pool, horse riding, walking and mountain bike trails meant we had plenty to do. Although sitting in the verandah, looking out to the beautiful bush views with a glass of wine was pretty good too!

Such a beautiful location, and many of the cottages have cathedral ceilings, timber floors, spas, lovely views, log fires - and are dotted around the farm, so you feel like you are in your own little world.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

For a honeymoon, we wanted to find somewhere romantic, secluded, yet not too far away....this is what we found in Clarendon. To walk in to the "beautiful" Chapel with all it's charm, yet many creature comforts as well helped to make the honeymoon very memorable. The romantic package was well worth it. To sit by the fire with a nice bottle of champagne & some chocolates was divine. Needless to say we would love to come back again. Thankyou for everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just spent 2 nights in the sanctuary at Clarendon Forest Retreat. It's the perfect spot for romance and complete relaxation in a beautiful setting. We saw plenty of wallabies and joeys, loads of bird life also. The sanctuary accommodation is perfect and romantic with sunken spa, large shower, wood fire and very private. There are other cottages which are bigger and suited for families or even two young families. Tennis courts and an outdoor pool make it a great place to just relax for a few days, recharge your batteries and enjoy the beautiful Australian country side.

Room Tip: Sanctuary is the most private cottage as it's tucked away at the end of a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Me and my boyfriend had so much fun staying at Clarendon Forest Retreat! It was great to be able to bring our little dog Mocha with us and he also had lots of fun with the resident dogs Mistral and Banjo! The outdoor jacuzzi was so relaxing after our horse riding adventure offered at the retreat. There was also a tennis court, pool and lots of trails for bush walking! It was the perfect 2 night away that strengthened our relationship. We left feeling relaxed and refreshed! Thank you Clarendon Forest Retreat!

Room Tip: The Blue Wren family chalet was clean, modern and so cozy, it was a home away from home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in the cottage called Blue Wren - so heavenly we didn't want to leave. Warm and cosy, with log fires, lovely furnishings, comfy beds and the dog can come too which is an added bonus. Kids loved the horse riding thru the state forest which borders the property. My husband surfs, so he really loved the short trip to Boomerang Beach which has great waves. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taree
7.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
23.5 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Marco Polo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Meridian Resort
Meridian Resort
#1 of 1 in Old Bar
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
8.4 mi away
In Town Motor Inn
In Town Motor Inn
#2 of 16 in Taree
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
9.1 mi away
Crescent Motel
Crescent Motel
#1 of 16 in Taree
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Forest Retreat

Address: 150 Coates Road Possum Brush NSW, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Taree
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Taree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarendon Forest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect setting for that perfect excuse....honeymoon, anniversary, elopement, proposal, romantic getaway, family holiday, conferences or birthday celebration.Clarendon is a 1000 acre luxury retreat nestled in the Kiwarrak State Forest and National Park on the Mid North Coast.South of Taree and north west of Forster, Clarendon is just over 3 hours drive north from Sydney.This private Award Winning self contained luxury retreat is ideal for holidays, short breaks & weekends away.Close to Forster and Nabiac this unique place is perfect for couples wanting to getaway from the city, mates wanting to spend the weekend mountain biking or fishing or a family keen to see their kids get a taste of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarendon Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarendon Forest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.