We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parkway Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parkway Motel to your Saves list
Parkway Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   8 Lowe Street, Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Upon entering our room it smelt musty and horrible. There were stains on the wall with paint bubbling near the bed and the carpet was wet. Went to reception to advise they gave an upgraded room which was better but tiles falling off walls in shower and not clean. Could not stay here. Left and went to another Motel. As we had booked on online we couldn't even get our money back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    5
    3
    21
See reviews for
16
4
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

For a warm comfy stay ill be back to the parkway motel friendly staff close to the city and all shopping . Reasonable price and very clean rooms i enjoyed my stay slept well and found almost all my needs met within walking distance of this pleasant little motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Travelling to canberra to visit friends we had booked with the parkway on arrival was greeted with a friendly smile and attentive staff. Because we had booked the staff had prepared our room by putting the heating on before hand , great insight as it was beyond cold in queanbeyan. we got in to find a cosy clean room beds already warm with electric blankets. Being visitors to canberra the staff were only to happy to direct us to local restaurants and shopping facilities all within walking distance . All in all for a budget priced stay we were comfortable and well assisted when needed .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We arrived and the woman that I had been dealing with through email, as our booking changed several times due to people backing out and then being added, and the service was prompt and friendly though email.

Everything was agreed upon prior to arrival, as there were 7 of us we had all put in for the share of accommodation. When we arrived they wanted to charge us an extra $60 for a room that we didn't want nor need as the room we had booked slept 6 and we agreed to put a rollaway bed in the room rather than having 2 rooms. Payment was also required when checking in not checking out.

After saying that this was what was agreed upon they quickly backed down and charged us the agreed amount, and i'm glad this way the case.

The room was cold, we had to ask for more towels, even in a family room that slept 6 they gave us a two towels. Even though we were only staying for the night, we ran out of toilet paper. The hot water was obviously turned off at night and was not turned on till late the next morning, so many of us had ice cold showers on a -1 morning in Queanbeyan.

The beds were not the greatest, but the pillows needed replacing, as do the heaters which although warmed the room (after some time) were loud and would circulate cold air for periods of time instead of warm.

The TV had no remote, although the signal and quality was good. The accommodation looked completely different to what was shown on their website, which appeared to be fully furnished and cosy accommodation.

Next time i will do proper research in accommodation, as i think i had some friends that weren't too impressed. I will definitely opt to pay slightly more money (even though they were on par in terms of cost) for a more respected and well known hotel brand such as Best Western rather than book accommodation purely on the photos and descriptions on their website, as they are clearly just for show.

Will not be staying or recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medowie, New South Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Room was clean enough, but had dated furniture.
Bed was hard as a rock.
Pillows lumpy.
TV in 1 room was OK, but no remote control and TV up quite high. TV in second room had terrible reception.
Aircons old and loud and did not function effectively. No controls for aircon, so had to stand on furniture to adjust.
Bedside light didnt work.
Wall paint peeling and damp behind shower. Bathroom had terrible smell.
Water pressure unstable - took 10 mins to get luke warm, then burns in 2 seconds..then cold again...then hot...
No electric blankets, very cold.
No telephone in room, No alarm clock in room.
Water turned off at night?. I went to get a glass of water and couldnt get any. No toilet flush...!!!!!!...
There was a loud "boiler" type noise all night which cut in and out at verious intervals. Therefore, I got no sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I read previous reviews of this "motel" and arrived at the property with trepidation which was quickly and unfortunately realised. Initially no one in reception and after 5 minutes a woman looking a little worse for the wear arrived and quickly gave me my keys. On driving around to my room were several "guests' who appeared to be staying there due to a shortage in accomodation within the local mental health or crisis accomodation centre. I mean this with respect to these people but it had the air of a half way house.

Please note there is no dinner facility with this motel nor a dining room but they do offer a "breakfast pack" if you are so inclined so rember to dine out or grab takeaway for dinner and breakfast. There was no milk in the fridge nor in my case any tea bags. I suspect they ran out or the cleaners forgot to replenish both.

My room was very dull with a musty smell which was not repulsive but certainly not welcome. A notice in the room informs that since recently they no longer clean the rooms on a weekend including not changing bed linen so buyer beware here if you like your motel stays to come with clean linen. The notice said it was to cut costs.....it appears as if they have done plenty of that here believe me!!!

The cistern in the toilet was hanging off loosely and no toiletries are provided...see i told you they were cutting costs. so bring your soap and shampoo!

The air conditioning is old and noisy and the bed fairly uncomfortable. No iron was in my room for ironing and the permanently open louvre windows in the bathroom allow plenty of noise in and probably an easy way in for anyone willing to break in.

Frankly this is the worst place i have stayed in either here or overseas and was happy to make my exit next morning.....EARLY!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We arrived very tired after a full day of travel. The room was small and dingy and the painting on the walls looked very unprofessionally done (maybe the renovations weren't as substantial as mentioned), however the staff seemed pleasant and nice. The air conditioning didn't work and blew out cold air all night. It was noisy and clunky. We froze in the beds all night (in both rooms). I have been to many 3 star motels before but I wasn't impressed with this one (sorry!). It made it easy for us to leave very early the next morning for the snow.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Motel

Address: 8 Lowe Street, Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very well presented family run motel opposite a beautiful park but within walking distance to the shopping centre and restaurants. All rooms ahve been renovated with new carpet, vanity, tiles, bedding and beds. A true home away from home experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Parkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Queanbeyan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.