We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Centro Port Macquarie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Centro Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 William Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deals!
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Noosa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Understandingly the room rate reflected the season. Unfortunately the service and food & drink quality in the bar and restaurant didn't. Happy hour consisted of the worst cocktails available in Port Macquarie. The breakfast was busy and by 9:30 there was no coffee, no milk, no musli, no plates, no pastries and a 20 minute wait for pancakes!

The staff did try their best to make the situation better, however, it looks like the management didn't think that more than 2 staff was necessary to manage an entire hotel having breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrohotel, General Manager at Mercure Centro Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Crustybit:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Centro Port Macquarie. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    260
    54
    22
    5
See reviews for
115
232
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived after driving down from Brisbane (we stayed at the Mecure Clear Mountain Lodge, which we highly recommend) before heading to Canberra in the morning. Everything was going well until we turned in for the night and realised what we had thought was street noise was actually a party on the top floor of the hotel. The manager (who failed to introduce himself) blamed his staff for not advising as per his policy, which was very awkward and unprofessional given his team were standing next to him and then proceeded to suggest it was somehow our fault, which is just plain weird. He ended by pointing out that it was the party season, so we should've expected it and took $60 off the rate. We will never stay here again and do not recommend this to anyone, regardless of the circumstances. However he has taught us to ask more questions on check in, such as " are you hosting a rock band this evening that will undoubtedly disrupt our stay?" Try the Rydges instead.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrohotel, General Manager at Mercure Centro Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
Unfortunately no matter how hard we strive to make our guests stay a pleasant one, it is inevitable, regardless of the amount of training our staff have, there will be a breakdown in communication.
Having said that, as I relayed to you at the time, we except full responsibility.
We are a family run business and value our guests highly and also have a policy that our guests, first and foremost, are always right and are entitled to enjoy their stay.
We take this opportunity to offer yourself and your husband a week stay in one of our luxury spa suits. We sincerely hope this offer will in some small way help you overcome your disappointment and allow you to consider staying at Mercure Centro again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo B.C.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a good quality, modern hotel with very friendly staff at front desk. Rooms are spacious and clean. It's located in a central part of the city so it is a bit hectic and somewhat noisy. Its not to far from the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrohotel, Front Office Manager at Mercure Centro Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your response.

Next time you stay we can allocate you a quieter room if requested.

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If u say something wrong abut this hotel u never been there Friendly clean and in the Centre my 3 Time stay the there and only say good thing I hope a lot of hotel Will look at you THNKS we start from parking rooms bar and food only one think will she'll say try to avoid the smoking in the front it's look bad

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Centro Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Centro Port Macquarie

Address: 103 William Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Centro Port Macquarie 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 hours from Sydney and 6 hours from Brisbane, Mercure Centro Port Macquarie is a perfect getaway for couples and corporate travellers. Conveniently located in the town centre, the hotel is close to the main beach, whale and dolphin watching tours, shopsand downtown nightlife. Features include a restaurant, bar, pool and day spa. All 71 guest rooms are fitted with modern technology for your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Centro Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Port Macquarie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Centro Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.