We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
65 Clarence Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
(02) 6583 2252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 141 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Price range: $4 - $22
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Northern NSW.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were very impressed with the atmosphere at this place, the staff explained everything on the menu and all of them were very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, as well as the desserts. As it started raining just as we arrived they had to close the outdoor blinds but it didn't deter from the evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    43
    23
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Leafy Outdoor Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Visited here mid-afternoon after the lunch-time rush. Hence the restaurant was almost empty & we had time to chat to the friendly & efficient staff. Our meals were served very quickly & the steaks were cooked to our taste & we enjoyed our food. There are tables in a pleasant outdoor area at the back of the restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Okay, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Large menu selection, central Port Macquarie location, large dining area out the back.

We went there for steaks.....and ordered steaks.
My partner had the rib eye was tasty, but seemed smaller than what was in the photograph in the menu.
My order came out wrong - instead of "ribs and steak," I got "ribs and burrito." The dish was taken back and replaced a few minutes later with the "ribs and steak" as ordered, but the accompanying fries were cold and the ribs tasted like ribs with sauce quickly slathered on.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Casual dining in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Hogs breath is a must visit if you love great food and super friendly staff, we make an effort to go every time we are coming through Port and it never disappoints. They had an awesome promotion when we went and we got free toppings on our steak, the staff were all friendly and laughing and joking with customers, one lady was even helping a little girl colour in.
Food is always awesome, sometimes you wait half an hour but they are always full so I can imagine they're quite busy! Only thing is remember to book on weekends because I've seen a few people get told at the door it will be little wait on tables because they were full.
Well worth the wait though. 5 star food and service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medowie, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I took my wife and kids there for my Birthday. The atmosphere there is good and seating very comfortable. The service was excellent from beginning to end. The food was very tasty and my steak was cooked just spot on. Yes the meal was expensive but I didn't mind as it was a very nice feed. It was very well run we only wish our local one at Nelson Bay was half as good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog's Breath Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.