We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have signed up for special events as it was so good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stunned Mullet

The Stunned Mullet
12 William Street | Opposite Town Beach, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
02 6584 7757
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Have signed up for special events as it was so good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a find. Could not imagine finding so a great restaurant in Port Macquarie. The wine list exceptional with owner giving full attention and knowledge of all wines. Food was delectable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Owner at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Stunned Mullet soon di05. Thank you for regarding us so highly and for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    80
    33
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Felt that our meal was overpriced for what we got. However, having said that, the food was enjoyable, just not enough. Restaurant was very dark.....my husband had to use his iphone torch to read the menu.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

thoroughly enjoyed our meal. recommend the steaks , great service and nice atmosphere. You don't mind paying a little extra for a perfectly cooked meal. close and handy to the observatory where we stayed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Owner at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks Pamela L for taking time to review our restaurant. Perfection is certainly our goal and we thank you visiting us and for recommending us so highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stunned Mullet - stunning food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were told beforehand that this was probably the best restaurant in Port Macquarie, and having experienced it, would go even further. This was probably the best meal we had in a 5 week trip to Australia.
The fish and seafood were of excellent quality, and cooked with great skill and imagination. The prawns were probably the best I've tasted anywhere in the world. The meat dishes similarly caressed the palate with the flavours of both meat and sauces, and hardly needed a knife to cut.
The service was both knowledgeable and efficient, with advice being proffered whenever required through indecision of choice

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Owner at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks bob w for such a fabulous and eloquent review. We look forward to you visiting us again next time you are in Port Macquarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quite exceptional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The presentation, quality, style, and variation of food and the friendly attentive knowledgeable staff made this evening memorable. Cost was acceptable for such a good experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Owner at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks boggle103 for your great review of our restaurant. We work hard on all the aspects of our services you've mentioned and are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stunned Mullet also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to The Stunned Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stunned Mullet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.