We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
11 Clarence Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Couples Retreat
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay at Macquarie Waters. Spacious rooms, high quality finishes, friendly staff, close to everything (though you get that in a smaller town). Free wifi was great. Didn't get to use the pool, so can't comment. Restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Will stay again.

Room Tip: As always, higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We look forward to your next stay and appreciate the comments about your stay. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    112
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
185
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel was well-located in Port Macquarie. We walked over to the breakwater to look at the ocean (the beach was some distance further on and we didn't go there). The section of town was dead in mid-week in March. No one staffed the hotel desk in the evening so there was no one to direct us to a restaurant. We found a small Mexican place (the only place with people in it) and the service was friendly but slow and the food not very good.

All in all, Port Macquarie may be a nice place for a week-long family vacation with kids, but as an overnight stop for a couple on the way to somewhere else, there wasn't much there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Reception is not 24 hours and year round has the same closing times of 8pm during the week, 6pm on Saturday and 4pm Sunday and Public Holidays. There are plenty of things to see and do in Port Macquarie and the team can offer plenty of suggestions on activities and places to dine in the region for families and couples. We hope you return to Port Macquarie and experience all the great wonders of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thursday Island, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Only had an overnight stay at this establishment in a 'larger hotel room'.
The location was great as it is right in town but an easy walk to the beach.
Our room had a balcony that faced the street and another apartment complex across the road, and on asking, apparently only their premium apartments have any kind of view.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable with good quality linen. We slept well and it was nice and quiet.
Wifi was free, although we did not use it. Shower was great with good pressure and the toiletries supplied were of average quality.
The room was smaller than I had envisaged given I had booked a 'larger' hotel room, however, it wasn't too bad (have certainly stayed in worse) so suppose it was average size. The bathroom was quite spacious though.
Front desk staff were helpful; I think the vending machines in the main foyer are a good idea for water bottles and soft drink.
Can't really say much else as didn't stay there long enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and your feedback. Your comments are appreciated and have been passed onto the relevant departments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope next time you can enjoy Macquarie Waters for a longer period!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently went to Macquarie Waters for our anniversary. The location is fantastic, walking distance to shops, beach and restaurants. Our room was a one bedroom spa with view and it was large and comfortable. Bathroom and kitchen spotlessly clean. Lovely bathroom amenities (soaps etc) love the tea bags (T2).

Used the spa and pool on level 1, nice but small. They had a kids movie playing in the pool area on the Saturday night. I'm glad we went in a quieter time. Parking was easy and undercover.

All staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the restaurant on site. We had dinner and two breakfasts there.

Only minor faults - curtains didn't quite black out all the street lights, I like a very dark room but you get that with a central location. I also had to remind the staff our booking including breakfast so they could give me the vouchers at check in. Very minor and I would definitely recommend the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate greatly your detailed review and feedback about your recent stay. Thank you for choosing Macquarie Waters when travelling to Port Macquarie and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a great stay here on our roadtrip honeymoon.

We got a room with a spa and found it to be clean and comfortable.

We went out for dinner but stopped at the restaurant downstairs for dessert and wine on the way home. Excellent cheese platter and very well priced.

A great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for stopping at Macquarie Waters on your honeymoon and we are so thrilled it was a memorable experience for you. We appreciate and value your comments and look forward to your return visit to Port Macquarie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just a motel. It was noisy, I could hear everything down the hall. The room was large enough with all the basic needs, but I was expecting more for the price. The room has been cleaned well, but having a cleaning background, I was able to pick up on a few areas that were overlooked. we only stayed one night which I was thankful about. I will look elsewhere I my way back down the coast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your review and apologise your stay at Macquarie Waters was not as you had expected it to be. We have Management available after hours to address any noises you are experiencing during the night. We do hope you will consider staying at Macquarie Waters when next travelling to Port Macquarie and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We chose Macquarie Waters Hotel in Port Macquarie as our second stopover on a road trip from Sydney to Brisbane .
It came out well on Tripadvisor and this was our reason for stopping here.
The hotel room was clean and well maintained and even a bit larger than expected.
There was a small pool which we didn’t use as it poured with rain the whole time. (Not the hotel’s fault!).
The staff were efficient and friendly.
We took the breakfast option which was the cooked meal in the café next door. No buffet but it was enough!
Free Wi-Fi in the room worked well.
Hotel has a good location near the river mouth and town shops.

Would recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing to stop in Port Macquarie and in particular Macquarie Waters for the second stop on your trip. We are thrilled the reviews you read on Trip Advisor were accurate to your experience and hope you will return an enjoy Macquarie Waters again. All the best for the rest of your journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments

Address: 11 Clarence Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#5 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macquarie Waters a multi award winning 4.5 star boutique apartment hotel complex in the town centre of Port Macquarie. Just a short stroll to the waterfront, beaches and shopping centre.Select from stylish hotel rooms and 1,2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartments. Hotel Rooms feature 32inch LCD flat screen TVs, a 42inch LCD flat screen TV in Apartments and all rooms have over 65 Austar and digital channels. Relax in the heated outdoor pool & spa. FREE Wireless Internet and FREE secure undercover car parking are included. Eat at the award winning Corner restaurant open 7 days for breakfast & lunch and dinner Monday-Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macquarie Waters Hotel Apartments
Macquarie Waters Motel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.