We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundowner is Awesome and FOTSUN is the best festival in Australia!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park to your Saves list
Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park
1 Munster Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Manly, Australia
1 review
“Sundowner is Awesome and FOTSUN is the best festival in Australia!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at Sundowner breakwall last year for the Festival of the Sun weekend. It honestly is the best music festival we have ever been to and will be back in 2011 for sure!! We stayed in one of the great cabins right on the breakwall and could not have asked for a better spot to stay with the sun setting directly in front of the cabin, and dolphins swimming past in the estuary, just picture perfect! Staff were great, very helpful and friendly over a very busy weekend. Would definately recommend. Thanks Sundowner for a great weekend, see ya next year

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    18
    35
    59
See reviews for
54
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

After spending 2 weeks touring Vic and staying at Big4 parks, we were disappointed with the overall standard and would not return. Although we were in a 2br 6 person cabin, the hot water was OK for 2 showers in the morning but when we had 2 showers at night after playing sport all day, the hot water ran out before the 2nd person had finished their shower. No way that a family could have all showered! Very poor.
Although walls appeared recently painted and unit was clean, woodwork on furniture was scratched and worn. Old fashioned oil heater on wall had only one setting which was not warm enough for winter and could not be adjusted. It felt damp so left the heater on all the time. Double bed comfortable and close to town. Stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Sundowner this Easter long weekend with my parents, and we all had a fabulous time!! The staff at Sundowner we wonderful, giving us helpful hints on things to do whilst staying in Port Macquarie. The riverside cottage was plenty big enough for all four of us to enjoy a comfortable stay, without living in eachothers pockets! Would definitely go back and do it all again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirribilli, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We decided to spoil ourselves by staying in the ocean view cottages on our way up to Queensland and then on our way back we decided to check out the backpackers accommodation. Both occasions were such a wonderful experience. The friendly staff helped us out with all our enquiries and anything we needed they bent over backwards to help. The facilities were great (even at both ends of the spectrum). It was a 2 minute walk to Town Beach and 5 minutes to the town centre.The Sundowner has friendly staff, a stunning location, great facilities and fantasic value for money whatever your budget! I seriously had one of my best holidays there and would recommend it to anyone. It's that great!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great location & lay-out, but that's all there is to offer!
Cockroaches in the bed & bathroom, mouldy bathroom ceiling, broken drawers, dirty floors, no hot water (unless you know where to look outside to turn the gas on), total lack of maintenance!
Wi-Fi Internet advertised, but signal strength so 'poor' that connection & usage NOT possible.
Port Macquarie is such a beautiful place, but it would seem that the Council is only interested in taking your money and giving you nothing for it!
Peak-season rates in the middle of Winter!!!! And all for this filthy HOLE!!!
Avoid it at all costs....

Room Tip: Self contained Campervans- great! All else, AVOID
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Sundower was a great place to stay in Port Macquarie. The location was brilliant, close to the shops, cafes, pub, beach, and easy public transport. There with a group of friends, the staff were welcoming and always offering a hand. For the hot weather the pool provided the perfect relaxation and the beach provided a great escape for my boyfriend and I to get an hour away from the group. The facilities were great, bed was comfortable and the balcony provided the ideal setting for chilling out with the group after a day filled with activities.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a campervan. It's a great location, easy walk to beach AND town centre, great shops and pubs nearby. Also great for fishing. There are lovely cabins too for those not into camping. The pool was really nice. Amenties - shower and toilet blocks were a bit dowdy and old but clean, due for a makeover though, Note the park also caters for backpackers too. The camp kitchen is a useful facility but it was a bit untidy and messy, with people leaving their dirty dishes around. Interestingly a electricity company who were in town doing doorknocking selling cheap energy deals seem to use the lounge area as a training area for their staff!! This didn't annoy us but it might annoy some. The company appear to employ young people who were all staying in the cabins and two new staff were getting their intro training in the lounge area, quite funny actually listening to the sales spiel!!! Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay. it was quiet and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park

Address: 1 Munster Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the town and beach. Walking distance to RSL club. Very close to local shops and restaurants, the park is set in a beautifully landscaped area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.