We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Observatory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Observatory to your Saves list
The Observatory
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 off per night
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Being a family of avid walkers the Observatory Hotel was perfect for us distance wise from the township of Port Macquarie.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was fantastic, roomy and the balcony with the ocean view was brilliant.
We did our shopping at the local market so we could cook our own food to cut down on budgetary costs of the trip, it was worth it because the kitchen was fully stack with all that we needed and more.
Only downfall is that the incovience of room service or the knowledge of what restaurants deliver to the Observatory, if any do, that information would be handy if you want to order in for the night. Other than Pizza that is.

All in all we had a great stay there, all the facilites were fantastic, Port Macquarie is a great town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    209
    50
    5
    1
See reviews for
134
395
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

A multi storey modern resort overlooking park, beach and observatory. Short drive to shops or long walk up and down hill. Very short walk to Bowls Club where you can buy good, filling, Modern Bistro/Pub type meals at a reasonable price. Café located about 300m south along beach front (turn right when you walk out the front door). BBQ area available for guests at rear of complex on ground floor.

Reception was friendly and helpful and provided discount vouchers for bowls club on check-in. Closes at 7pm so you need to be there earlier. They also have DVDs for rent and brochures/pamphlets on local attractions.

The room was new, clean and modern. We had an enclosed balcony that was functional but would have been better if it were more open. It had a table with two chairs. The bathroom had a HUGE walk in shower that would fit three people. There was a king size bed, bar fridge, cupboards, tea making facilities, toaster, flat screen TV and DVD player, desk and armchair. We booked an ocean front room and we definitely had views of the ocean.

The resort had a large indoor heated swimming pool, and an enclosed, but outdoor heated spa. Both of these were easily accessible by people with mobility issues having easy to manage small steps and sturdy handrails. There was also a large sauna (probably the largest I have seen in a hotel). Parking is available in the basement. We found the spaces a little tight but acceptable. We also had some problems with the swipe card access to the garage. There is a day spa located on the ground floor.

Of the 11 hotels we stayed at on this trip to northern NSW and southern Queensland this was the best one. I would definitely stay again and am thinking of taking my elderly parents there in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Stayed here as an overnight stop to break up the drive from Sydney to Brisbane. Had a double room on the 5th floor with a view, through trees to the ocean. The room was clean and tidy if uninspiring. There was cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel itself is about a 15 minute walk to the town centre and provides on site car parking in a secure basement area. The room had a shower but no bath however one plus point was the washing machine and dryer available free to guests. For 1 night the hotel was adequate and had an indoor swimming pool. There was also a DVD library at the reception and a book library too. Wouldn't like to walk around the area too late at night and from 6am the surfers are up on the ocean, as well as the joggers at the front of the hotel.
The staff were very helpful, especially Bronwyn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

The Observatory bosts beach views which it has, but only if you stand on the enclosed balcony and peer though the shutters. If you sit at the table and chairs provided, you only see the wall. The walk to town was slightly longer than they stated, and food options in the immediate area were severly lacking. The hotel staff actually recommeded the Bowling Club around the corner, and gave discount coupons. The problem was that the food was typical low end buffet and it was like eating in a school cafeteria.
Now the positive - the room was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful with any questions. Also, it was nice to be able to peer out the patio shutters and watch the early moring surfers.
I should note that we stayed in one of the "hotel" rooms, if you rent an apartment you have a great balcony with an unobstructed beach view.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed at the Observatory for 3 nights. The unit was spacious and well equipped with comfy furniture and good kitchen equipment. The view was fantastic. The facilites were extremely clean and well maintained, including the indoor pool area. Highly recommended. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This hotel was very nice. Rooms are spacious and clean with quality furnishings. We had a garden room which was great for the kids. It was also very quiet and close to the beach. I would absolutely class this as the best hotel in Port Macquarie and we constantly recommend it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We had a serviced room which with a view of the ocean. View was fantastic with a big balcony and the rooms were clean, living room was roomy. The only problem is the noise from the traffic when we opened up the balcony which woke us up. I would recommend it if you were driving through and stopping for a day or 2. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory

Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Observatory 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spectacular ocean views at The Observatory Hotel, located opposite Port Macquarie's Town Beach and only a short riverside stroll into the town centre. Choose from 1, 2 & 3 bedroom open plan apartments, hotel rooms or luxury penthouses all with contemporary finishes and state-of-the-art appliances. The Observatory is the region's most awarded apartment hotel - winning the most pretigious Australian Property of the Year Award at the 2010 Hotel & Motel Accommodation Association Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.