We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located apartments offering beautifully modern, clean and comfortable rooms & facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Observatory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Observatory to your Saves list
The Observatory
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 off per night
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Fern bay
1 review
“Perfectly located apartments offering beautifully modern, clean and comfortable rooms & facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014


This was our third visit to The Observatory. On all occasions we have stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean front apartment. The cleanliness and suitability of the apartments are always of very high standard, the reception staff are always happy , positive and very helpful during the whole stay. Perfectly located, we would highly recommend this property to others.


  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    209
    50
    5
    1
See reviews for
134
390
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

out of town, nit a very good location, need to really drive everywhere,
not an experience i would want to endure again
there is no daily servicing here so before you put your towel on the floor, think again, or better still, stay somewhere else
the overall presentation was clean with the exception of the kitchen, almost every single glass was dirty to the enth degree, lopike they had been used and never washed, and then put into the cupboard, so we had to wash everything before using it, not a really hood welcome.
other things to consider before staying here are, the car spaces are very tight, there is an aircon in the living area but not the bedroom,
there is only one lift servicing a tower all with 7 one bedroom apartments per floor, 5 if you account for two being dual let or 2 bedroom, that means you can be waiting for lifts for a while.
the walls and slabs above are thin, because you can hear people stomping upstairs.
beds are uncomfortable, but the lounge is the worse, the dept is so big, u have to have several pillows behind just to sit comfortably, in fact all the furniture is typical budget poor quality furniture package that isnt all that crash hot.
no room service, even the restaurant down stairs wont deliver to the room

don't get me wrong, its average, its probably not the worst place in Port Macquarie, but it couldn't be the best, just dont expect a lot and you will be ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina, NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great hotel apartment in a great location, right on Town Beach. Very well appointed apartment, good underground parking, helpful staff. Loved the enormous balcony - north facing, so always sunny. Great cafe downstairs, external to the hotel. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room on an upper floor in the east wing - best views over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great location with shops and restaurants nearby. Nice rooms, spacious and clean with furnishings in good condition. Very friendly staff on reception. Travelled with an infant and we all had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a 3 bed apartment.
Fantastic apartment beautifully furnished, large enough that 6 of us werent all under each others feet.
The balcony was awesome, sitting looking out at the sea, even when it was pouring with rain it was sheltered enough to still sit outside.
Highly recommend, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Our room had such an amazing view and so close to the beach, also the restaurant below AMAZING. But I found for our money the rooms were quite old and outdated. Hinges broken on cupboards,lots of marks on the walls etc. It seems you are definately paying for the amazing view.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights& pay for 2 special, 4 adults & 1 child. Our 2 bed apartment with ocean views was brilliant, great comfy king size beds , clean apartment. We enjoyed many drinks on the spacious balcony & the pool and sauna facilities was excellent. The girls enjoyed the endota spa also. It’s our first time here & we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory

Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Observatory 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spectacular ocean views at The Observatory Hotel, located opposite Port Macquarie's Town Beach and only a short riverside stroll into the town centre. Choose from 1, 2 & 3 bedroom open plan apartments, hotel rooms or luxury penthouses all with contemporary finishes and state-of-the-art appliances. The Observatory is the region's most awarded apartment hotel - winning the most pretigious Australian Property of the Year Award at the 2010 Hotel & Motel Accommodation Association Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.