We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Observatory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Observatory to your Saves list
The Observatory
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 off per night
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Love this place. Although found the room to be small it was the view and relaxing atmosphere I enjoyed. Nothing like sitting on the balcony at the end of the day having a quiet drink looking at the view. Awesome. Very clean and comfy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We're pleased to hear you loved the view over Town Beach. If you prefer a large apartment, you may like to consider our 1, 2 and 3 bed apartments, they are very spacious and have a large outdoor balcony.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    209
    50
    5
    1
See reviews for
134
395
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely romantic weekend at The Observatory. Great view of the palm trees and water. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was small but well appointed. The enclosed balcony with big louvre windows was fantastic for a winter stay. Indoor Spa was nice and clean in a well maintained pool area, sauna also a bonus in the cold! Free undercover parking also a good bonus. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. There is no better way to enjoy winter relaxing in our indoor heated pool and sauna! Glad to hear you had the chance to take advantage of these.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed on the first floor in a hotel room. Had access to 2 balconies. One inside the other outside. Room were large with tea/coffee facilities and a bar fridge. big queen bed, and large bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful, easy quick check in. Accommodation included free undercover parking. Great views overlooking the beach and a central location to everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are really pleased to hear you loved the apartment, location and views.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Awesome view and service !!! Totally enjoyed our 2 week stay back in November loved every bit of it .. Your staff and premises made our holiday amongst the best we have ever had. The view across to the beach was amazing and we were very sorry that we had to check out and go back to work !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic 5 Star review. We are so thrilled that you loved your stay with us and that it was one of your best holidays ever!

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the 6th floor for two nights. Not the first time we stayed at the Observatory and won't be the last. Room was very tidy and clean. Comfy bed and modern tv and AC. Views were stunning. Staff were very friendly. Be careful using the underground carpark if you have a low car, the driveway is a little harsh. Will visit again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic 5 Star review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and again.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stunning views and everything in walking or riding distance Perfectfit for anyone visiting and not to expensive lovely views
It is in the centre of all shops and food dining .
Take advantage of the bike hire and ride around the beaches and to look at the esplanade rocks it's very arty and inspiring also check out pelican feeding

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic 5 Star review. It's great to hear that you loved the location and the views, and had a chance to hire the bikes and checkout Port.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon Hills
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the observatory in May in a one bedroom apartment. The location is absolutely beautiful directly opposite the beach and also an easy walk along the waterfront into town. Staff were very friendly and the cafe downstairs was great. Unfortunately I have one complaint and that is I had to listen to snoring in the motel room right next to ours for the last two nights of my stay which my husband and I heard quite clearly through the wall. I know this can't be helped, however, it did put a bit of a dampener on our stay as the wall is obviously not very well sound proof. But overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review.

It's great to hear that you loved the beachfront location and views. Sorry to hear you had a snoring neighbour, please do let us know if there is an issue such as this as we can always try to move you to improve your sleep!

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory

Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Observatory 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spectacular ocean views at The Observatory Hotel, located opposite Port Macquarie's Town Beach and only a short riverside stroll into the town centre. Choose from 1, 2 & 3 bedroom open plan apartments, hotel rooms or luxury penthouses all with contemporary finishes and state-of-the-art appliances. The Observatory is the region's most awarded apartment hotel - winning the most pretigious Australian Property of the Year Award at the 2010 Hotel & Motel Accommodation Association Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.