We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Observatory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Observatory to your Saves list
The Observatory
40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
}���S��
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great one night stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We picked hotel following Trip Advisor reviews and very pleased with our choice. As only stopping for one night we picked one of their cheapest rooms ($169 per night + $5 wifi charge). Hope other hotels note reasonable wi-fi charge! Room adequate and pleasantly surprised with "enclosed" balcony but still with good views of bay (partly obscured with trees) and cleanliness. Liked the underground secure parking. Excellent evening meal in their restaurant next door. Only minus was breakfast in their cafe which was so busy we decided to miss it. But their Reception girls are the best in the business - so friendly - and I do not say that lightly. If passing again we would book again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review! You stayed in our ocean view hotel room which are great for short stays. It's great to hear that you had a chance to enjoy a meal at our on-site restuarant 'Scampi's'. It's a shame you didn't get to have brekky at the Milkbar cafe - it is really good coffee and amazing food! You will have to come back and visit us again so you can try it :)

Thank you also for your lovely feedback about our reception girls - I will have to tell them that they are 'the best in the business' and wait for their comments...:)

Thanks again for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    183
    40
    5
    1
See reviews for
117
341
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are just back from 6 nights at The Observatory. We had an Ocean View one bedroom apartment on the 5th floor of the West Tower. We were very pleased with the view being able to see the beach and the river mouth. It took 15 minutes to walk to the centre of Port Macquarie which was fine for us. There is a restaurant and a cafe and a gift shop on the ground floor. The room was clean and well appointed with an expensive Sony Bravia television with pay TV channels. The kitchen was quite well appointed enabling us to cook for ourselves on a couple of occasions. Pleasant surprises were spare toilet rolls and dishwashing liquid, small touches which are all too rare these days. On the ground floor was a sauna, an 18m indoor pool and a very nice spa which we used every day. It was the perfect location for us. There are hotels closer to the centre of town but you dont get the view which you have at The Observatory. The only issues we had with our stay were the delay waiting for the single elevator (1st world problem to be sure) and the fact that the mattress on the bed needed replacing. Otherwise we had a wonderful stay and can recommend this property.

Room Tip: 5th floor ocean view was ideal. Probably 3rd or 4th ocean view would be OK too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review. Great to hear that you loved the views and location and the onsite facilities.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great apartments, spacious and very clean. Excellent place to stay. We stayed in the garden terrace apartment (all the ocean views were booked) it was still a really nice stay. The staff at reception were very helpful. We used a coupon from tripadvisor for free bike hire. We had a lovely ride along the boardwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your garden terrace apartment. Next time get in early for an ocean view apartment.

It's great to hear that you tried our Bike n Hike iPod Audio tours. They are complimentary for our TripAdvisor guests.

We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What can i say, our second trip and i just love this place
Its perfect in every way, ok the lifts are very very small and in peak season its a little cosy, and it would be great to have Air Con in the bedrooms, apart from that you could not fault the venue, the people, the location or the facilities

What room type we had:

Ocean View apartment 2brd, level 4
Bi fold doors that open to reveal the most amazing breath taking view from the balcony all the way to the ocean, you feel your in a million dollar home

What to bring:
BYO a portable BBQ for your balcony
Having a BBQ on the balancy was so handy (only the penthouse has them or by the poolside)

Where to shop
COLES there is amazing, fantastic meat and cheese, what more could you want

TIP
You can PAINT your own family ROCK on the breakwater opposite The Observatory, bring your own paints from home and paint a family rock you will see where everyone else has done it

Visit
Ricardo's Strawberry farm has amazing tomatoes and lettuce for salad and great gourmet foods, their onion jam is to die for. The kids can pick there own strawberries too

Cassagrain Wines great gourmet food, especially the toffe apply syrup, great with goats cheese salad

Bitter Sweet Pattisserie at Lighthouse Beach is great, lovely place for lunch

We will be back again for sure

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room if you can on Lv 3 so you are in the eye line of the ocean rather than loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow thank you for the amazing review. You have given everyone some great tips on the local hot spots. Ricardoes Tomatoes and Strawberry picking is a must do as is Cassegrain Winery. We would also recommend whale watching next time if you ever return during the whale watching season.

We are thrilled that you love your apartment and really enjoy Port Macquarie.

We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Prior to arriving the hotel called to confirm the booking and the size of the family, also our expected time of arrival, a simple but nice touch.

We had a 2 room apartment with sofa bed for a family of 5. The main room was en-suit. The apartment was very spacious with balconies on the back and front. All the mod cons were in the kitchen too. There was plenty of room to spread out.

The staff and facilities at the hotel were very good.

Room Tip: No gym but a pool, spa and sauna No maid service of the. 3 day stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star Review!

We are pleased you enjoyed the apartment and the onsite pool, spa and sauna and had plenty of room to relax with your family.

Just to clarify with the servicing, ocean view apartments receive a mid-stay service on stays of 5 nights or more. Additional servicing can be arranged if you prefer.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Observatory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over the Xmas period as a stop-over on a trip further up North. We were greeted by a friendly bubbly receptionist (Jamie I think her name was) who was very knowledgeable & professional. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on Level 1 facing the water which had beautiful ocean views and everything you could need including an iPod/iphone docking station! The beds were super comfy & everything was clean and where it should be. We had a well sized verandah with bifold doors so you could just laze on the lounge and watch out to sea. There are 2 great cafes downstairs and a beautiful gift shop with the most amazing homewares ( a little pricey) but well worth a look if you want something different. The indoor pool & spa was a big hit with my son who never wanted to leave. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights but we will be back. The observatory is a hotel that ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the top marks!

It's great to hear that you enjoyed all that the apartment has to offer and had a chance to relax and soak up the views.

I'll also pass on your nice comments about Jamie at reception, the cafes and homewares store. Next time you will have to stay longer!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The staff truly make this hotel experience. From check in at reception to interaction with housekeeping and the maintenance team the service from the staff was excellent. Check in was fast, friendly and efficient. A minor mix up with bedding configuration was promptly resolved and a maintenance issue with the washing machine was addressed and communicated quickly- couldn't have asked for more!

My parents visiting from the UK, my partner and I were all thrilled with the size, cleanliness and comfort of our fully self contained two bedroom apartment. There is a a lovely cafe downstairs (try this fish and chips) with a pool/sauna/spa on the complex. Parking underneath is a little tight, but it helps to hone the driving skills..

The hotel is within easy walking distance from the town centre and is a stones throw from the beach.

Enjoyed our stay at The observatory and would be happy to stay a few days extra next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at The Observatory, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I will certainly pass on your great feedback about our staff. We are really pleased to hear that you were thrilled with the location size, cleanliness and comfort of your two bedroom apartment.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory

Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spectacular ocean views at The Observatory Hotel, located opposite Port Macquarie's Town Beach and only a short riverside stroll into the town centre. Choose from 1, 2 & 3 bedroom open plan apartments, hotel rooms or luxury penthouses all with contemporary finishes and state-of-the-art appliances. The Observatory is the region's most awarded apartment hotel - winning the most pretigious Australian Property of the Year Award at the 2010 Hotel & Motel Accommodation Association Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.