We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape & Petal

Grape & Petal
72 Clarence Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
+61 2 6584 6880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 148 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Description: If Port Macquarie's beaches are it's heart then this intimate wine bar & cafe may just be it's soul. We specialise in local quality foods, award winning coffee, exclusive International and Australian fine & wines to complement both everyday and special occasions.
Restaurant details
Description: If Port Macquarie's beaches are it's heart then this intimate wine bar & cafe may just be it's soul. We specialise in local quality foods, award winning coffee, exclusive International and Australian fine & wines to complement both everyday and special occasions.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Went here due to the glowing recommendations here and was not disappointed.
Huge serves of tapas, when ordering the two of us went for three selections and thought we would need more however could barely finish what we ordered.
All three dishes were amazing and the wine too was lovely. A great selection to choose from to suit all budgets. Great atmosphere and friendly service.
Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great tapas! Huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Ate in here while on a stopover in Port Macquarie because of its Tripadvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. The food was excellent as was the wine chosen from the shelves around us. The service was very good too, attentive but not obtrusively so. The one thing to watch for is portion size. In Europe tapas is served on small plates and really is food to be nibbled at. In the UK you would order 6-8 dishes between two, here each dish is about the size of a main course portion. As a result, after the cheese and meat plate, wagyu meatballs, soft shelled crab and capsicum and arancini balls my wife and I were full to bursting. The meatballs were to die for!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I had a great experience here. Great service and the food was amazing. We had soft crab, pork belly, cheese plate and wagyu balls. Yum yum yum and the chocolate cake was amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wow what a place, everything from the atmosphere, the wine list, cigar menu, the food and the service was excellent. A very extensive wine menu is offered ranging from a very impressive selection of Penfolds Grange to some affordable and very drinkable wines.
The tapas selection, is equally as impressive, we shared three dishes which is plenty even for big eaters, the crab in Asian salad highly recommended along with the wagu meatballs, polished off with a fine selection of cheeses.
Some of my favourite pleasures in life include; good wine, whisky and cigars, all three can be enjoyed here.
The staff are friendly and very helpful in helping you choose, excellent and so good we are going back there tonight.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tapas at its best..Oz style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

having experienced Tapas in Spain and loving it, we thought The Grape & Petal was pretty good for an Australian experience. Sangria would have made it much more enjoyable but their wine list was fab. Service was very good, not happy that we were overcharged & didn't know until we were back at our accommodation, however the fact that I could have gluten free without any hassles was well worth the over charge, 4 1/2 stars from us

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape & Petal also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Grape & Petal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape & Petal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.