We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee cheap meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blank Canvas Cafe

Blank Canvas Cafe
30-42 Clarence Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
02 6584 3677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 147 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Whether you're in the mood for a fabulous big breakfast, gourmet lunch, casual dinner or a relaxing coffee, you can't go past Blank Canvas Cafe Bar. Located on the Ground Floor of the Glasshouse, Blank Canvas Cafe offers great food and great coffee all day, everyday! Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, 7 Days, Fully Licensed Bar
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great coffee cheap meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here, long weekend p/h . There was a 45 min wait on food, which wasn't a hassle as we were pre warned and had no rush on brekkie.

The coffees are delicious. Well made and smooth. Worth a visit just for the coffee.

My meal was the corn fritters. They are big servings and quite cheap. $14.
My only complaint is the mix is a bit floury. Apart from that its delicious.
My brother got the big brekkie $15 and it lives up to its tittle. It's BIG ! 3 snags, 4 strips of bacon, tomatoes, eggs, toast, mushrooms. The works.

Will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We keep on going back here for coffee and the occasional meal. We think the n
Managers do not appreciate that here is stiff competition in port Macquarie nor do they seem to purpose their staff with customer care. The daytime floor manager obviously thinks she is tops and yet can walk over a used straw on the floor.
But it is improving. And the setting is tops. With more careful attention to the blips and constant, yes constant, thought about their demographic it ought to succeed. Give it another try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have spent a couple of Sunday lunches here with friends and I must say how fantastic the staff are. Tash and her colleague this Sunday were working very hard to make sure everyone was having a good time. Tash is always bright, bubbly and happy which is more than I can say for some cafe's in the town.

Food today was good, however, they did get their timing a little out of wack as the starters arrived after the main course had already hit the table. Would recommend this as a relaxing Coffee Break, a sunday lunch. One thing it seriously lacks is complimentary WIFI which would benefit business customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“you can do better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very disappointed and would not recommend this cafe. This looks like it would be a nice place to eat but the food is very average and the service could be better. The fruit salad was not fresh - it was slimy. Complementary water would be nice, as so many other places do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt Macquarie Aus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My 7 friends and I recently went to lunch at the Blank Canvas. The location is good, they don't have blaring music so you can converse. Also, I had been there before and enjoyed the pumpkin soup, but this time was different. Those who ordered a steak sandwich,6 out of 8,were served with an overlooked thin piece of steak and cold chips. One friend complained and the waitress offered to get him something else, but he declined as there weren't many alternatives that appealed. The chicken burger was also overlooked, dry and served with cold chips. My Thai beef salad was OK, the best of the selections. There were not many other customers there that day, so we are at a loss to know why the meals were so unsatisfactory.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blank Canvas Cafe also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Blank Canvas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blank Canvas Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.