We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Backpacker

Save Saved
You added Beachside Backpacker to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachside Backpacker
40 Church Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

LOVE LOVE LOVE it here!! Fantastic location, facilities and staff. The staff are so welcoming and friendly you feel as if your part of one big family. If your looking for a funky, relaxed and fun place and to meet new people this is the place to go!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I didn't have anywhere book but the single review on wikicamps was very favourable. When I arrived there was no mistaking the place as the bright purple roof shone like a beacon.

So few places make you feel instantly welcome and part of a community right from the outset....but this place did. Exceptionally friendly staff and likewise the guests carried on this matra.

I paid $15 to sleep in my camper and use the facilities. Surfboard hire (often with a lift to the beach and a lesson), bikes, fishing rods, pool, darts etc are all free. They have a 'donation wine' scheme which save you a trip to the shop when you run dry.

The hostel itself is well decorated with art work, surf board swings, a large TV, books, a well equipped kitchen. It's close to the beach, shops and the uber cute Koala Hospital.

I was going to stay for 1 night......I stayed for 4.

I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

All the staff here are very welcoming, hospitable and attentive. Free pick up and drop off to the greyhound. Was invited to get Dominoes and invited to join surfing which would cost is money anywhere else so that side of things is very good. The hostel it self is very different to the majority in Australia I would say. It wasn't filthy but it definitely needed a clean and tidy up. It had a very odd smell through out the hostel. The interior throughout Definitely needed cleaning and updating. It wasn't a hostel I would recommend as it didn't cater for what we like; modern, clean and profession, however I appreciate everyone is different so if you are more
Fussed about a party, drinking back packer style hostel this is for you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is such a welcoming hostel, it feels like staying at your best friends mum's house that likes to have the odd drink! The staff are really friendly and they're more than willing to help and take you out surfing for the day. The showers/ toilets are a little grotty but they were doing up the entire place when we were staying a few weeks ago so they may be cleaner by now. Good location next to the beach and overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

It was The nicest hostel I have ever been. Rooms are clean, but bathrooms could use a little make up and cleaning from floor to roof. We arrived at 5 am and rest of the morning it was okay to chill on the sofas until our room was ready. There is a free and fast wifi, laundry room, help-yourself-wine, and surfing boards for free if you want to try surfing. And sometimes hostels own bus will drop you to center or to beach. If something is happening, staff will ask you to join.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I loved staying at this hostel! It's very cozy and friendly. You actually see the staff cleaning daily, so you know the place is clean. Bathrooms are a little outdated, but nothing to be concerned about. I met a lot of nice people at this hostel, including the person I ended up travelling with for 5 weeks. They are very inviting and enjoy to party and be social at night, although they keep it quiet if people are sleeping (drinking Jenga was awesome!). Movies to watch, free pool to play, and computers with to use...not to mention the free wifi! They also occasionally go out surfing and invite you along for free. Linen was clean and so was the kitchen. The fan in the room was dusty, but worked so no complaints there (besides it being a little warm). Close walk to the beach and about a 10-15 minute walk to the grocery ad liquor stores. I also did a camel ride when there which was awesome!! The sunset dolphin cruise was a highlight of Port Macquarie as well, with dinner on board and loads of dolphins swimming by the boat. Plus the thousands of fruit bats that fly by as the sun sets. The Koala Hospital was nice, but a little sad too.

Overall this hostel was amazing! I definitely recommend staying there if you want to have a fun, relaxing time and meet some amazing people in this social atmosphere! (and sign your name on their flag wall!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

An hour and a half to walk to the decent beaches, camel safari etc.
We left early as the room was a poor standard, and the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly.
We were given the impression it was such a hassle giving us a 5 min lift to the bus stop, as staff were openly moaning about it in the common area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachside Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Backpacker

Address: 40 Church Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty lodging in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaps of free stuff including free WiFi, computers, greyhound pickup, surfboards and more. The closest hostel to the town centre, beach and koala hospital. The only hostel in town that does not shut off its lights at 2230. A quirky hostel owned and run by young friends who met on the backpacking trail. Our location is perfect; we are by far the closest hostel to the beach as well as the koala hospital, the closest hostel to the bars and town centre. Just check out our location compared to other backpacker accommodation in town. It is the only hostel in town that does not turn its lights off at 2230. We love the night - we love to boogie. So 24 hour kitchen and lounge area are yours. It is a funky hostel owned and run by 3 young surfers, who loved backpacking so much that they would do anything to get-back-out and explore the world; Nicael even sold his life on eBay. We have created a hostel we would have loved to stay in. It is alternative with great music and art everywhere, including plenty of art from an old friend of ours who just won the 2013 RAWards AUSTRALIA Visual Artist of the Year!!!! She is pretty cool. But there is also a large amount of art from talented backpackers like you, who were nice enough to paint beauty on our walls. We are alternative and quirky people doing what we love, and we want you to be a part of it. We want this to not just feel like another sterile/big hostel where everything is about money, but rather like a home where you always feel welcome and a part of any adventures we are planning. So if we are going for a surf, we will invite you. If we are doing a food shop or alcohol run, you can jump in. If we are playing a drinking game or going to a bar, we love it if you join. So if you are a little adventures, a little quirky, and want something different than your average 'Mr Monopoly' hostel, then come join us. Welcome Vlkommen Bienvenue Huan ying Vitejte Velkommen Welkom Bonvenon Tere tulemast Tervetuloa Wolkom Willkommen *Our target market is Backpackers between the ages of 18-35. While we are happy to have guests who are older (and some of our most amazing guests have been older), older guests should be aware that we are structured to appeal to a younger market. So if you are young at heart, arty and alternative - please join us, However if you are looking for a more big chain type hostel where the lights go off at 1030 at night - then please seek accommodation at one of the other great hostels in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Beachside Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Backpacker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.