We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning river views...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges to your Saves list
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Park Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Mid North Coast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stunning river views...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I recently surprised my husband making a last minute booking for dinner and a night in one of the Waterview Rooms to celebrate our anniversary. We live in the area and hadn't stayed here since our wedding night 26 years ago. The resort hasn't changed much but is clean and tidy and slowly being modernised. The staff were kind and helpful. Our room looked straight up the river, with a great view of a beautiful sunset. Our bed was enormous and comfy. Linen was clean and fresh smelling. Air con was lovely.Bathroom was functional with shower in bath.
We tried Spinnakers Restaurant for dinner, we had a table overlooking the marina and gardens, it was lovely seeing the lights of Port Macquarie across the river.The restaurant staff were very quick and efficient, the meal was tasty.
After dinner we relaxed in the spa- what a fantastic way to end our day.

Room Tip: Waterview rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities on your special day. Hopefully, being a local, you will be able to see the hotel changes over the next 12 months. I also hope to be able to welcome you back for your anniversary next year.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    89
    46
    10
    12
See reviews for
51
82
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo Victoria Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Room was good but not the standard of Rydges we expected. We rang the restaurant to find out if there was any Gluten free and Vegetarian available and the young girl whom we spoke to was very rude, so we never attended the restaurant for dinner. It is such a shame because we have stayed in many Rydges and have never come across someone so rude. Front reception staff and the cleaning staff where very helpful and polite.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay and in particular your dealings with the restaurant. It is very disappointing to hear that you felt the staff member was rude and unhelpful. I have passed on your comments to Lauren the hotels Food & Beverage Manager who will brief all her staff on proper etiquette and menu items. Please accept my apology for the appalling behaviour.
You may be pleased to know that since Sails Resort was taken over by Rydges over $200,000 has been spent on restaurant furnishings and conference equipment. With the management change over a full refurb will be underway shortly and hope to be completed in the year. I hope once the refurb is completed we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel.
P.S. If you know the staff members name in the restaurant, please contact me so I can discuss the issue with the staff member directly.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We extended our stay (7 nights on total) based on the following, from the moment we arrived (Sam at reception) was sensational, always happy and helpful and went above the call of duty to ensure our stay was enjoyable, thank you so much. We pretty much tried all facilities at the resort, given the putt putt is pretty old and past it, our young son had a ball at the putt putt, tennis (miniature version), pool and even feeding the fish and lizards. The restaurant was excellent (thanks to Lauren and the chefs) we tried so many dishes all excellent however a special call out to the "Seared Scallops with Chilli Jam and Chorizo" and the "Whole Baby Snapper" great recommendations and we where not disappointed. If we where searching for a negative it would be the rooms are a little tired, however very clean. We where told that renovations are underway shortly, so this would make it an exceptional place to stay, we will return.

Room Tip: Families on the ground floor where the rooms open up to the grassed area or pool are the go, plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, Sammy said it was a pleasure looking after you and your family, and you are such a lovely couple. It makes me happy to know that the hotel staff are going that extra mile for our guests. I have also passed on your feedback to Lauren and the Executive Chef and both appreciate your feedback, I am the same with the scallops, they are delicious.
We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Fair enough the Facility does look tired and in need of an update, which the Manager said is planned for 2014 but surely as long as the Facility is clean (which it was) that is not going to stop you have a good time, unless you set out from the start to pick a place to bits.

I stayed with two grandchildren and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We swam in the pool, relaxed in the Spas (indoor & outdoor), had a Sauna, played mini-golf, the children fished and (they could have canoed on the river and played Tennis if they wanted) all with equipment supplied by the Facility.

We were able to get a light meal on the deck (out choice to sit there as we were in swimmers) outside the dining room, Sliders and chips, mid-afternoon after a swim on day of arrival when we realised we hadn't eaten since a mid-trip morning tea. Try doing that at some Hotels outside so called 'Meal Times'. There was plenty to choose from for breakfast, we ate lunch (2 adults, 2 children) in the dinning room and enjoyed the experience. Food was very good, good size servings and the Passion Fruit Curd Tart was yummy. O.K. not Club prices but go there (It's across the road) if you don't want good quality food and are prepared to pay the price. We ate lunch at the Pancake place in town and for 3 of us (2 minis meals and 2 desserts and 3 milkshakes), yes we shared and it came to $73.00 and I can assure you it was not served with a smile!

Everyone we came into contact with, Reception, Dining Room, Housekeeping, all were the friendliest I have encountered. Smiling, helpful and also knowledgeable.

Our room was a good size, well set out and everything worked. Ample seating inside and on the veranda. Plenty of storage and if I had wanted to cook all that I would need was supplied.
Everything was clean, the beds comfortable.

Will definitely being staying at Sails again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to supply some feedback regarding your stay at Sails. You are correct, the hotel has planned for a full refurb in 2014 and first four design rooms have been scheduled for mid February. I was pleased that you found the hotel clean, staff friendly and the facilities suited your needs. I have also passed on your feedback to the Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef who both thank you for your comments.
Thank you again for taking the time to express some feedback regarding your stay. There are big chances planned for 2014 and I hope to be able to welcome you back to see and enjoy the hotel again.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very good location but not good value for the 4 star rates charged. The facilities and furnishings are basic longing for upgrades. The restaurant is overpriced and not much choice. e.g Chipboard vanity in bathrooms and housekeeping need a revamp.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. You may be pleased to know that Sails is undergoing a full refurbishment in 2014 where all the hotels Furnishings and Bathrooms will be updated. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel once the refurb is completed.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a few days while traveling around NSW over Christmas. This is what we needed great friendly staff fantastic views and plenty for the kids to do canoeing, fishing it was great will definitely stay there again when in Port Macquarie.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Hope you enjoyed your Christmas and New Year. Happy travels around the rest of NSW, hope to see you next time.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Sails is set in a perfect location. We had a great room overlooking the marina and got a birds eye view of the New Year's Eve fireworks. 2 things Rydges need to do....please direct housekeeping staff to wait till guests vacate their room before making up rooms for the day, and sort out the gate crashers who come in and use the pool, spa and sauna......Maybe put a security person on pool lookout rather than asking the maintenance man to turf them out!
Amanda who checked us in was very polite and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind a positive feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am glad you enjoyed the hotels location and outlook for Port Macquarie’s New Years Eve celebrations. I have informed the Executive Housekeeper of your comments regarding the time rooms are being serviced, she agrees that this should not be happening and will be discussing it with her staff. Thank you also for your mention regarding pool security, I will look into this personally and see what measures we can use to keep these gate crashers out.
Thank you again for taking the time to supply your feedback regarding your stay. Guest reviews are vital to the hotel as it helps us to see areas which may need improvement. Without your comments I may never have known that these issues existed, now I am aware, I can monitor and ensure changes are being made for our guests best interests.
Thank you again. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges for a future stay.

Kinds Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Address: 20 Park Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.