We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Buller Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Port Macquarie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laurieton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was impressed the minute I walked into the foyer. Very welcoming, good furniture layout and smiling staff . Everywhere is as clean as a vacuum, even the grass appears to be vacuumed. Service is unsurpassed and the meals are excellent, and very large servings. The outside deck with the pool and the view over looking the water is very relaxing. The rooms are well planned and the beds are awesome. Plenty of room, spacious and the outdoor seating is very comfortable. A great place to stay, unwind, relax and eat good food. The first impression which stays with you is how clean everything is, even the lawn.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have a gimpy leg, otherwise any room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Jeff T,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

It was fantastic to read that the cleanliness, service, restaurant meals & rooms were all to your liking. We do strive for an extremely high standard here at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
20
71
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Logan City, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I and my brother and sister in law stayed here for three nights and loved it Great location,buffet breakfast delicious.Loved being right on the river and a nice walk to town.We are planning to stay here annually we loved it so much.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good if you have a lot of luggage to carry and you have a nice grassy area as well i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Joyce D,

Wow, what a fantastic review of Waters Edge Port Macquarie!

On behalf of the team, thank you for your lovely words. We were very pleased to read that you had an amazing time here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waters Edge in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family and I stayed here overnight at the end of our holiday. Great location as it is a very level walk to town. The river view right outside our door was spectacular and being able to sit outside and enjoy the view was lovely. Pool was terrific! The kids loved it. The room was comfortable as were the beds. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Could not go past a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It is so great to read how convenient your stay was, our location certainly is one of our best features. Along with value for money and our friendly staff, makes Waters Edge Port Macquarie a great place for business or leisure.

I was happy to read that your experience was a positive one. On behalf of the team at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for only 1 night and wished we stayed longer. The rooms are so well appointed, bed is seriously comfy, location is great - walking distance to town centre. Dolphins playing in the river just outside the hotel.

We were travelling from Gold Coast back to Sydney on motorbikes and this was a great place to break up the trip. Lovely pool, good bar & restaurant and the buffet breakfast was nice.Staff are fantastic and very friendly...

We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 103 - looks out onto pool. Ground floor room so no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review from your most recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It is great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and how convenient it is for your stop-over on your long road trip.

Our location is in the heart of Port Macquarie and offers easy access to the Hastings River, Port Macquarie CBD and beaches. I was very happy to read that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel was in an ideal location for town, lake and sea. Our room had lake view on the ground floor. The room was clean and comfortable. Pool a delight to swim in after a long drive from the Gold Coast. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely book a lake view. Waking up to this view definitely lifts the spirits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed our location and water views, with Waters Edge Port Macquarie being only a 5 minute walk to the CBD.

I was also very pleased to read that you thought all the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was great to also read how comfortable and convenient your stay was.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We only stayed here for a night on our way from Brisbane to Sydney. It was a convenient place to stop as it broke up the journey nicely.

All the staff were very friendly and it was good to see the owner there too with a hands on approach.

There is no lift in the hotel. It is dated but clean. Only negative for us was that the windows appeared to be only single glazed which meant you could hear noises from outside quiet easily. Although in general it is a quiet area.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the night we were there. The portions were large and the food was very tasty. Great value meal. Surprised the restaurant wasn't busier with food like that and considering there didn't appear to be much in the way of restaurants / pubs etc in Port Macquarie.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

It is fantastic that your stay was enjoyable and that you had a great experience in our Restaurant. As you mentioned, our great restaurant coupled with our helpful staff and our facilities make us a good option for other travellers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and on behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Would recommend staying at this place! Rooms were beautiful & clean & had everything you could possibly need! Fantastic views from the room! Pool & outdoor area was beautiful! Friendly staff & great service! Restaurant was great with great service! Could not fault anything! Will definitely come back!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It is wonderful that you loved your entire experience whilst staying with us.

I was very pleased to read that you thought all the staff were very friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable. It was great to also read how comfortable and convenient your stay was, that the rooms were clean and tidy and that you were able to take advantage of our facilities and location.

At Waters Edge, we strive on providing the best that our facilities have to offer and excellence in customer service.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Buller Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Port Macquarie)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Port Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Port Macquarie boasts 61 rooms on the picturesque Hastings River and is the only venue that is centrally located by foot between Settlement City and Port Central Shopping Centre's.Eat, Play and Stay at Port Macquarie – the majority of our rooms feature private balconies, water views, ensuite, Queen or King beds, one hour complimentary WiFi per day, Foxtel, free on-site parking, a la carte room service, guest laundry, newly remodelled swimming pool with children’s wading pool, playground and direct jetty and river access.You can either relax around the pool, enjoy the views of the Hastings River from Edge cafe or join us at On The Edge Waterfront Restaurant and bar enjoying some of the local cuisine of the Hastings Region. On The Edge, is the perfect setting for dining, with a fully cooked buffet breakfast and the bar open from 5pm to end your day in style or to provide the perfect start to a special evening. The refurbished conference and restaurant facilities can accommodate a board meeting for eight delegates, to a corporate cocktail function for 250, with packages to suit all budgets and requirements. All conference rooms feature air-conditioning, natural lighting, flexible room layouts and the latest technology including broadband access and wifi, combined with our packages guarantee a great working environment.If you are to stay, play, visit or relax we are here to make this your home away from home by providing a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting on the Waters Edge of Port Macquarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Waters Edge Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.