We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Regional Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Port Macquarie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Rydges Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Central Coast
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Great Regional Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

2 types of rooms at this hotel...the suites and king balcony rooms are owned by Rydges and have water views, the studio apartments are privately owned and have designated parking spaces. Have stayed in both types...all v clean, cheery with great beds. Service at the front counter was efficient and friendly and a noise problem from fellow guests was dealt with swiftly by the night manager. Restaurant service and food was excellent, if you are a Privilege Club member you get 20% off bill. Daytime the rooms over the pool can be noisy and the ones at the back are subject to bin emptying noise from pub next door. There is a slight problem with doors being slammed, however we would definitely return and also try other hotels in the chain.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience from your visit. Great to learn that you were able to take advantage of the Priority Guest Membership and gain the food and beverage discounts. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    185
    77
    33
    24
See reviews for
115
149
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

This hotel has a great location and is the only 'chain' hotel. Our room was as we expected for an average 'chain' hotel, however the price was higher than we have paid for this hotel elsewhere and attempts were made to charge us for trivial things e.g. to print an airline boarding pass (1 piece of paper!) was subject to Aus$10, which seemed petty. Nice pool area to relax which we were able to use after checking out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Warm Greetings from Port Macquarie. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay. It is disappointing to note that your stay was not up to expectations and I offer my sincere apologies. We value all guests and appreciate your patronage and we will use your comments to improve our service delivery.

Kind Regards
Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed overnight on 12th Feb 2010. Our room was very comfortable had two Queen beds and had a balcony overlooking the pool and river. The rate paid was premium which included breakfast. The breakfast was not up to standard and can not be recommended, the service and choice was in-different. Reception staff however are very good. It is annoying that Rydges have adopted the practice of surcharging 2 and a half percent if you pay with a credit card. This practice seems to be creeping into some Australian hotels and smacks of unfair trading and a 'rip off'. We have stayed at Rydges on previous trips but will look elsewhere in future as Port Macquarie has some other good accommodation options with no surcharge!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Greetings and many thanks for sharing your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with the breakfast and we will be working hard to improve in this area. Great that the reception staff looked after you. Regarding the CC fee, this can be avoided by paying by eftpos or cash (there is an ATM in the lobby). Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Friendly staff, central location and great views from modern apartments

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Was irritated after having driven for approx. 7 hours to be told that there was no parking available in the hotel, and to go find a parking spot out on nearby streets. So when we went out for for dinner last night, we had to find a parking spot all over again. And it was a hassle with the rain this morning dragging our luggage down the street, after we had checked out. We had rung ahead 1 hour out of Port Macquarie for the booking but no warning was given that parking would not be available.
We stayed at Rydges last night 6Feb as a stopover. Cost for a town view room with 2 double beds was AUD$165. The best description for the room would be clean and tidy, but grim. Would not recommend staying here if you intend to holiday at Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Hi There, Sorry to read that you were not happy with the parking situation at the Hotel - unfortunately as we dont actually own the car park, space is at a premium and we try to manage the allocations as best we can, but at times we do run out of parking spaces and it is regrettable that this affected you during your stay.
Despite this, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, AU
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Booked a mini-getaway end of Jan (after school holidays).

I was very disappointed with our stay at Rydges Port Macquarie due to the following reasons:

- Inefficient staff member checking us in using the repeated excuse "I just came back from holidays". Unprofessional.

- Being assigned a Double bed + Single bed room. We are a married couple and booked a Queen room.

- Horrible room with noise from boom gate overlooking bottle shop & car park. I had made a request for a nice room with view. I know requests are not always met but I thought an average room as opposed to very bad room would be assigned.

- Locked out of our room/car park on day 2 and being told in front of other guests that they had tried to contact me and this happened BECAUSE I had made 2 bookings. There were no missed calls on my phone in the 3 hours we were out and I did not realise booking an extra night would cause such confusion for their staff. I did outline in my online booking and with their staff on check-in that I had 2 bookings.

I had used their special $95 Summer special tokens to book this getaway. To me I feel that we were given a poor room and service because we had used this 'special'.

I would NEVER stay at Rydges Port Macquarie ever again. There are much nicer and newer places to stay only down the road.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Hi Jacjac

I was disappointed to read of the problems you encountered during your stay and offer my sincere apologies. Please be assured that we will use the comments to improve our service delivery. I realise your reluctance to return to the Hotel, however if you wish to contact me privately, I would be more than happy to personally manage your booking and ensure your stay is enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Great location, clean comfortable room. A little pricey for what you get, and I wasn't expecting a surcharge for using a credit card (who doesn't use one nowadays), or for parking my car. Staff were efficient but didn't go out of their way to make my stay really enjoyable. One incident spoiled the service: I went to the pool (which was great, by the way) late in the day, to check it out for the next day, since the time was too late to use it. The manager sent a staff member to check up on me, making me feel like a naughty child. I expect a higher standard of service, and an attitude of service for a hotel of this standard and price.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was sorry to read of your concerns during your stay, however glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind Regards
Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.