We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Port Macquarie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Rydges Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Average to good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was acceptable for a stopover en route from Brisbane to Sydney . While the rooCar parking was offered but the cost was not mentioned so was avoided . I reckoned that immediately outside the police station was probably going to be safe enough . Room was ok+ but there was a slight air of cheapskating particularly in the bathroom . it was not bad but it just was very very basic . our room did not have the good view over the sea but that was ok . Beds were spacious and comfy . We checked out the eating facilities but decided to try our luck elsewhere .

Room Tip: Insist on room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi JvB0625,

Thanks for your review.

I'm happy you enjoyed our Rydges Dream Beds.

Sorry your expectations weren't met on other areas of the hotel.

Thanks for your feedback.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    211
    90
    39
    28
See reviews for
130
173
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment. What struck me first was the size of the apartment - it was really spacious with a separate dining area, big lounge with three couches and a fully functional kitchen. One bedroom had an ensuite and the other had a separate, large bathroom with bath and laundry facilities across the corridor. The beds were really comfortable and I got a great night's sleep during my stay. Little touches like receiving all the toiletries you needed make a big difference and were appreciated. The apartments were not brand new - but still well kept. I have to say, the cleaners in particular did a fantastic job every day - this is not something I've really thought of in the past, but here they just did everything perfectly! Will be returning to this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hey Ash G,

Awesome feedback, thank you!

Yes the apartments are great if you’re spending a few days in Port Macquarie.
I will pass on the good feedback to our housekeeping staff who I know will appreciate your recognition of their efforts.

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you for another visit.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

By chance stayed for a night on the way down to the snow and what an experience it was just MAGIC!! We decided to stay again on the way back too from the snow! The Dream bed was absolutely out of this world what a sleep we both had! Plus the Zebu restaurant was beautiful the food was amazing and the staff were so friendly - number 1 was a czech waitress by the name of Michala and also to Sarah in food & beverage! thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All have been renovated now and all have the DREAM bed in them......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hey czechchick01,

Wow, thanks for the fabulous feedback!

Super pleased you loved our beds so much! I think when you checked in the second time you mentioned you were thinking of buying a Rydges Dream Bed, so just in case you still wanted to do this please see the link below for more information about our beds:
http://www.rydges.com/dreambeds/

Also I passed on your excellent feedback to the girls in the restaurant.

Hope we see you again before the next snow season!

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed at Rydges hotels in many towns and cities and this trip of 20 days reflected that experience.

All the hotels appear quite worn and Pt Macquarie is no exception. The hotel and rooms need upgrading and although adequate seem more suitable to those explaining their business expenditure.

We felt for the price the room was acceptable without being wow. The bathroom with the standard shower in the bath is average for us older users.

Very busy in the passages with a strong male clientel. Took me back 40 years when I was on the road.

If there was a more upmarket hotel I would stay there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi archer66,

Appreciate your review and feedback. We are currently in talks about room refurbishments for the hotel. If you happen to stay in the future also, I may recommend one of the rooms that have only a shower in the bathroom and no bath. They are called our easy access rooms and we have received great feedback on these rooms as they have recently been refreshed.

Thanks for staying with us and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your 20day trip.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macqurie,australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As a local, my husband and I stay here every so often as a treat due to it's stunning views and friendly service.This Rydges always maintains it's high quality of standards throughout the whole property. From the friendly,professional reception staff,through to housekeeping,room service, restaurant and bar, the service is prompt,courteous and given with a smile. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in and we never tire of sitting on the sunny balcony and enjoying the amazing view of the beautiful coastline. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little more and getting a room with a view! The ones on the south side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi frankettey,

Thanks for the excellent review! Absolutely delighted you enjoy staying with us and we are able to make your getaway so enjoyable.

Also great to hear about your 'most comfortable sleep'; it sure can make a difference to a trip away!

Look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family always stops here on our travels north.
The hotel has had a noticeable refresh; the bar area was packed.
We had two twin rooms, and there were 2 queens in both rooms. Great beds, efficient check-in & out; friendly staff.
As always, happy with rooms and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hey Jo2Canberra,

Great review, thank you!

Happy you were impressed with our new and refreshing renovations in the bar area.

Hope to see you again on your next travels North.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked the Dine and Unwind package. Reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was great and it had an awesome view over the river. The dinner choices available with the package were very good. The King bed was very comfortable. We watched dolphins in the river while we ate breakfast. I highly recommend the Rydges Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Rob F,

Thanks for the awesome review! Really happy you enjoyed your getaway with us and you got the chance to sample some of the great food from our restaurant!

Not to mention how lucky you were to of seen the dolphins whilst you were at breakfast- would of been very cool!

Thanks again.

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.