We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth night of Pacific Coast driving trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Port Macquarie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Rydges Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fourth night of Pacific Coast driving trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

On the 10th November 2012 we embarked on the Celebrity Solstice in Dubai (UAE) and cruised for 26 days, via several exotic (and some, not so exotic!) ports of call, to Australia. We disembarked the ship in Brisbane and then spent five days driving a hired 4x4 down the Pacific Coast Highway to Sydney.
This 1100 Km road trip is one which we would highly recommend, the scenery is breath-taking and it was an overall experience we would not wish to have missed.
We had instructed our travel agent to pre-book hotels at 4 star rating, or above, on a room only basis. This turned out be a little restrictive and, if we did this drive again, we would allocate an extra night at some of the locations we had chosen to stay at. In fact, an ideal timescale to allocate for this driving holiday would be 8 to 10 days (a stand-alone holiday itself).

This is a review of each of the hotels on that road trip – reviews will be compiled separately, under each hotel from the following list:

First night accommodation was in the Chifley at Lennons, Brisbane.
Second night was spent in the Byron resort Spa, at Byron Bay
Third night was at the Novotel Pacific Bay resort in Coffs Harbour.
Fourth night was at the Rydges in Port Macquarie
Fifth night was at Peppers Anchorage, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
We completed our holiday with 3 nights at the Four Seasons, Sydney, prior to flying back to a cold, dismal UK!

This road trip was done instead of staying an extra two nights/one day at sea on our cruise ship from Brisbane to Sydney. It turned out to be a great decision and is a driving trip that ranks high on our lifetime holiday experiences.
Our personal top ranking of the hotels we used are Joint 1st, the Four Seasons Sydney and the Byron at Byron Bay.
1st place ranking of places visited this time would go to Port Macquarie.
One area of the drive I would by-pass in future would be the Gold Coast strip – Blackpool on Steroids!

Fourth night of Pacific Coast driving trip was at the Rydges in Port Macquarie
This is a town in which I dream of living permanently, and would hopefully visit again, for a longer stay. It is very scenic, with a splendid bay, great shops and restaurants/cafes .
The hotel gets similar accolades – we had a room with a view onto the foreshore, directly in front of the hotel. Our room was very tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable and, though not the cheapest we had stayed in, value for money.

The hotel is situated centrally and within easy walking distance of all facilities and attractions. It has excellent underground secure parking (at an additional nightly charge).

The hotel bar and restaurant supply high quality food, at reasonable prices and there are also many excellent restaurants and cafes around the hotel and town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi cymru1948,

Wow sounds like you had such an adventure in Oz! It’s great you got off the cruise ship & went on your own personal exploration; there is so much to see on the East Coast of Australia!

Loved that you were so impressed by what beautiful Port Mac had to offer! Like you mentioned, the beautiful scenery & beaches we have here are gorgeous and our hotel is right in the middle of all the facilities & attractions!

Hope the UK is warming up a little bit for you now!

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    185
    77
    33
    24
See reviews for
113
149
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Easy check in, easy parking, nice staff, free drink on arrival.
Very clean and luxurious room.
Overlooking the sea and board walk.
Very nice bar and resteraunt, live music.
Of the 3 hotels I have stayed in Port Macquarie, this is by far the best.

Room Tip: 417 has sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hey Dinner4One,

Thanks for the awesome review!

Gotta love our live music in the bar!

Hopefully we see you again soon,

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great stay at Rydges Port Macquarie. You couldn't ask for a better location - right in the middle of the town, across from the shopping complex. It was on the water and offered a spectacular view from our massive balcony.

We had a 3 bedroom apartment on the top floor with a very spacious lounge area, large kitchen, big bathroom plus en-suite and walk-in wardrobe for the main bedroom. We had a great balcony with an outdoor setting. We enjoyed drinks out on the balcony in the lovely summer night.

During our stay we also had room service twice. We ordered for 6 people and the hotel was fully booked that weekend so it was a little bit of a wait, but the food was amazing when it arrived! We had the pizza's, then meals and amazing desserts then next night!! I highly recommend eating during your stay.

The pool was great and I loved that it had the sails to provide shade as it was very hot & sunny. They also had a gym area that looked very good and I found the staff to be very helpful.

My family and I attended a wedding at Rydges while here and I would also like to comment that the venue room had a beautiful outlook and was perfect for a wedding of 80 guests. The meals for the wedding tasted delicious also and it was lovely to just pop up stairs when the evening ended, not needing to worry about transport. I highly recommend to future brides looking to get married in Port Macquarie.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water as it offers a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Tara-JadeWilliamson,

Ohhh yes those three bedroom apartments are fantastic aren’t they!

Glad you took advantage of our pool area and delicious food from the restaurant! Wood fired pizzas mmmmm.

Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Me & my two dear friends stopped off here whilst on a road trip south. We stayed in a two bedroom suite on the top floor. Even though it was rainy we were blessed with some of the best views on the trip. The room was spacious, clean & well appointed. The location was second to none and the breakfast buffet was by far the best we had on the trip. We loved the small portions of everything. Eg- the fresh vege juices & muesli.
The restaurant & bar downstairs was very stylish. It seemed to pull a crowd on the Friday night.
The only thing negative I would say is that my friend suffered from hay fever and something in our room triggered an episode.
But apart from that everything else was top notch. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Leezy72,

Road tripping with friends sounds fun!

Nice to see you tried our buffet breakfast, they are good aren’t they! Only a couple of months ago did they improve the buffet breakfast to include the fresh vegie juices, smoothies, wheat grass shots and new additions to the hot food selection.

Thanks for the review. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your road trip down South.

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful hotel with lovely spacious room but what made our stay was the amazing restaurant and bar. Started the evening off with a cocktail in the bar where a lovely friendly gentleman offered to make me his latest special cocktail which was wonderful. We then proceeded into the restaurant where we had reserved a table and brought our own champagne which staff said was ok. They had set up a wonderful table by the window with beautiful special champagne glasses waiting wow! We ordered the degustation menu and were blown away by the quality of food!! even better than our dinner the previous evening at the Hilton sydney glass brasserie. Overall we had an amazing stay at the rydges and we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi takahae,

Thanks for the great feedback about out restaurant & bar! We do love our degustation menu! Personally the scallops I think are divine! Not to mention the matching wines that go with the five courses mmmmmmm.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon, maybe the boys will have a new cocktail recipe for you to try ;)

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

In January 2013, we had a very good two night stay in this hotel. Though not cheap, it is assumingly (one of ) the best places to stay on town. Directly located at the waterfront, it offers good food, a nice bar and FREE wireless in the lobby and restaurant area. From there, you can walk to the harbor, to the restaurant scene and most shopping is also close by. The rooms are not special but ok. We had quite a high price but got a room with view to the back and containers which was not so nice but in the end still ok as we were outside most of the time. But there are better rooms definitely. Bring a your painting equipment to make one of the rocks your own! ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Bella1106,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Yes, the free wifi in the bar & restaurant is a bonus! Pleased to hear you enjoyed some of the great food from our restaurant also.

Hopefully we will see you again soon… maybe a water view room next time?

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ok 2nd time in 2 months I've stayed here. Paid to stay in a king deluxe, they offered me an upgrade after I asked which was to a 2 bedroom apartment. Was great until I checked out. They charged me on both nights the price for the 2 bedroom apartment. When I questioned it they said, you did get free car park. Wow so they fixed it seeing how angry I was getting. Stayed again in a king deluxe within 3 weeks from my last stay, no upgrade this time. Stayed 2 nights, checked out all was good until a week later my credit card was charged double for my stay. I rang hotel spoke to front office supervisor who didn't apologise but offered to fix it ASAP. 3 days later I called back & the same young lady said "I did get our accounts lady to sort this for you but she's only here certain days of the week. A week later I got a refund. Nice place to stay but never again. Car park charges, Internet charges & reception / front office staff especially front office manager need to be better a lot better

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Monson08,

Wow, genuinely sorry to read of your experience, we aim to ensure all of our guests receive a consistently high standard of service.

I have sent you a private message so I can try and resolve and apologise in person.

Kind Regards,

David Capper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.