We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Port Macquarie

Save Saved
You added Rydges Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Port Macquarie
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great location with everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here over the xmas break. We got a call on the day of our arrival saying mid stay we need to be changed to a different room. We were not happy.
But upon arrival they did do everything to make us happy, and that they did. Rooms are good size, pool was great and a half decent gym.
Location is great as its a close walk to everything.

Breakfast was the only thing we tried in the restaurant and it was pretty good.

Have not stayed elsewhere in Port but would be happy to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Szkut,

Thanks for staying with us over Christmas! Very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Yes, we are very fortunate to be so close to everything!

Hope to see you again before next Christmas.

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    161
    67
    27
    19
See reviews for
101
128
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location is great, the pool is great & i think the rooms are much bigger than most.
The bed they rave about is terrible & we both woke up with very sore backs from it, we also thought the pillows were crap - personal choice i guess.
Ordered room service which was ok in price & good in quality - although it did take a long time.

Ask about parking WHILE booking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi 13b,

Thanks for your review.

Yes, we have heard from a few guests that our rooms are on the larger size.

Sorry to hear about your discomfort with the bed and pillows. It is a shame as we generally get great feedback about the bedding.

Thanks for staying with us whilst you were in Port Mac.

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visit Port Macquarie quite often as we have family there. Have stayed in quite a few hotels but thought we would try Rydges as it seems to be in the best location and seemed quite upmarket. It was rather disappointing. No parking available unless it is booked in advance but nowhere were we told that. Parking outside is timed so you have to get out in time to move the car. The worst feature is the food - the buffet breakfast and dinner were expensive and really awful unless you like scrambled eggs like leather and stewed coffee from an urn. Noone cleared away used plates so you we ended up sitting in quite a mess. We tried the bar/restaurant as well and although it was only half full there was a 15 minute wait for coffee and the place was filthy with tables changing hands well before any one came to clean them. The room was comfortable and the pool is pleasant but neither merit the high rating the hotel gives itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi BearInPNG,

Really sorry to read of your experience. Please accept our apologies.

We aim to ensure all of our guests receive a consistently high standard of service. As I’m sure you can appreciate, when we are at full occupancy as we were over most of the Christmas holidays, some services may take a little longer. Regardless we shall pass on your feedback to the food and beverage department.

Thanks for your review,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked a river view room paying $350/ night
Ended up in pool deck view room- got river view if I stood on top of the bed. Noise from the kids in the pool meant we could not get any rest during the day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Faruk08,

Thank you for your review.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay.
We aim to please our guests and I apologise if your expectations were not met on this occasion.

I hope you enjoyed visiting Port Macquarie otherwise.

Regards,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The view was sublime and the location couldn't be better but the hotel is a bit tired and could do with an upgrade and update. Our apartment was huge but it was also on the expensive side. There was A/C only in the living room so the bedrooms were a bit stuffy without opening the windows (which was then noisy). The beds were comfy though and the living area spacious and comfortable. We had a problem with the bathroom on arrival but the maintenance people fixed it quickly. The service overall was good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hey FamilyinChina,

Thanks for choosing Rydges during your time here in Port Macquarie! Totally agree with the gorgeous views from those water view apartments!

Pleased to read we attended promptly to the bathroom concern.

Thanks for your feedback.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night during a road trip. Hotel is well located by the river. Reception staff were friendly; the eft pos machine wasn't working; nor was the equipment required to print my loyalty card. We stayed in a standard twin. The room was clean, if a bit tired. The aircon was stuck on 18 degrees; a bit limiting without the option of opening a window. However the big disappointment was the gym. The upright bike was just about falling to pieces; the recumbent not far behind it; no foot straps, seat foam worn away; handlebar mount not secure. Basically a hazard. Weight stations were equally poorly maintained. The one treadmill was very dirty. I know it's just a hotel gym but if they are going to provide a gym at all it should be clean and maintained for safety and useability. Disappointing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi NicGee71,

Super to hear you were impressed with the front desk staff!

Thanks for your feedback about the gym and only in the last 2months did we refurbish it! Gave it a new overhaul and makeover!

Sorry it wasn’t done when you stayed with us last. Maybe if you return to Port Mac, you can check it out??

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers stayed for 3 nights recently in December.We had a standard double room overlooking the river and pool and was very spacious.We had 2 comfy double beds,2 lounge chairs,a table,a desk and a large bathroom.The room was very clean.It had a closet,safe,bar fridge and tea and coffee facilities.Catered for eveything we needed.There is a nice bar downstairs and also a restaruant.The pool was very modern and clean and lots of chairs around it.The hotel is central to everything.We had friends stay in a 2 b/r apartment and they were also very nice.Definately will stay again and couldnt recommend highly enough.We stayed in room 418.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hey jbdaz,

Super review!! Wow thanks for the fantastic feedback!

Love it when guests stay and they enjoy themselves the way you did!

Sounds like you had a great time!

Hope to see you again before Christmas.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.