We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Check in staff let the place down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Port Macquarie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Rydges Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon Check in staff let the place down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed recently for a night on business. I found the check in staff unwelcoming with all the warmth of a cold shower. Neither receptionist made eye contact with me and made me feel they were doing me a favor. The view from my ocean facing room was lovely and while the decor is tired the bed was very comfortable.
The staff in the downstairs cafe were great and make excellent coffee.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    211
    90
    39
    28
See reviews for
130
173
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way up to Byron Bay from Sydney and we had booked a 2 bedroom apartment with river views. The apartment was massive, probably the biggest suite I have ever stayed in. But when we looked outside we noticed our terrace was the roof above the whole of reception and bar area. It is probably the biggest terrace I have ever seen at a hotel, I recon you could have fit two tennis courts on it. The only problem is that we never got to use it as it was raining ! Great views of the river and we even spotted dolphins. As for the rooms, they are a bit dated looking but I doubt there is anywhere else in the town that was much better. I think we paid 250 dollars for the night. I recommend getting a Rydges membership card, they are free online and you get a free drink in the bar on arrival and 50 percent off Internet at all Rydges hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

my girlfriend and i stayed here for a 8 nights in january and it was awesome! could not fault it, except the parking, which there is no designated park for each room, but it was the first week of january and we had no problem. we made good use of the hot breakfast every morning, the pool every day as most days the beach was cold, and even the gym. the service ladies were all so nice to talk to, and when the airconditoner broke, the reception offered to change rooms if we wanted, but we just waited for maintenance to fix it, which was only half an hr. great location, can walk to just about anywhere, only used the car to go to poco loco at flynns beach, and the ten pin and putt putt golf..will recommend this place to any friend planning on travelling to port mac.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night en-route further north. The room we were allocated was spacious, in good condition and had everything we needed except a good view.

We looked over a car park and a bottle shop which was undesirable to say the least. We asked reception if we could move to one with a better view but were told it would cost an extra $30/60.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice clean rooms, great bed, big TV, Great Food and beer area, Our waitress was great, reconmended the best steak!!!underbuiding parking $5.00 Can you believe that!!
Located next tp the beach area ,people were fishing all night.Will come again

Room Tip: Rooms facing north for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I had to go to Port Macquarie to see family and friends and we decided to stay at Rydges. We stayed in the river view rooms and found them to be very comfortable and quite. Rydges is located near the Police Station in the middle of the CBD and is handy to everything. House keeping was very good and had the best shower I have ever had in a hotel room. We had breakfast in our room and it had enough food for double what we needed. We would stay there again any time. Our only fault staying there was we went out for awhile on friday night and when we came back to park underneath the hotel, all parking was gone. I think the hotel should have made a better effort to ensure guests had secure parking when they pay for it.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river are money well spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Booked 2 nights through Rydges website. We're a family of five and were able to book a 2 bedroom city view apartment. Went to go to bed the first night and found we were a bed short (we had presumed the sofa was a sofa bed). Rang reception and were told by a condescending staff member that if we wanted beds for 5 we should have booked the 3 bedroom apartment or we could pay an extra $50 for a rollaway bed. I tried to ask why their website allowed me to book for 5 people without there being 5 beds or why their was no option that I could remember to indicate that we would require an extra bed. She was quite rude and dismissive. She said that they had rung and emailed to ask if we wanted an extra bed. We had been away so couldn't verify what she said. I have since checked since arriving home and there were no phone messages or emails. I had also asked when checking in if we were booked for five as we had paid for the breakfast package and no mention was made then in regards to the beds.
Kids loved the pool. Rooms were clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.