We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   103 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel was a lot nicer than we thought it was going to be. It was very spacious and we had a little balcony over looking the pool which was nice ! There was a baby's cot in the room though which I feel didn't need to be there ! Also the spa didn't work which was disappointing! On the whole though it was really great! Nice big bed and air con was great and it was clean. Loved it!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
18
32
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and roomy. The restaurant was better than some 4 star big hotels and very affordable. A full breakfast was only $18 compared to some that are $25-35. We have recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Found best western Macquarie barracks to be a great place to stay and dine. Room was excellent and the staff went out of their way to help with our elderly Mum and her needs. The dining was first class which made the stay even more pleasurable for us all. Thanks to all concerned.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

stayed for one night. Bed is comfortable. Restaurant was good. Some of the rooms you have to park your car away from. Rooms have everything we needed. Bar fridge, cups etc. The only bad thing was the room service for breakfast. Its cheap and you get cheap. Bacon was burnt and was like eating leather. Poached eggs were rubbery. Coffees was cold along with the tomatoes. Had to go to maccas after checkout.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We made our booking in person, and we felt welcome as soon as we entered reception - cheerful smile, helpful attitude, happy to be flexible about our departure date (when you're looking for a new home, it's hard to be certain when the quest will finish). The room was comfortable and well appointed, the meals fine (sadly, though, the restaurant is closed on weekends and public holidays, but there's a pub a minute's walk away that has a reasonable menu and large portions). We'll use the Macquarie Barracks again when we move from Queensland next month.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, so can't offer ideas on what's best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Best Western Barracks is located on a busy road. You can hear the cars during the day. Fortunately, the traffic is minimal at night. We were here two nights and the street noise at night was virtually none, we had the room with the king bed with a spa. This room was great. The bathroom was large. The spa was great. The glass enclosed shower was fabulous. There was a small area outside our room with a table and chairs. The room included an area to make coffee/tea, toaster, assorted glasses, refrig, small plates and silverware. The king bed was comfortable. The patio outside the reception area was a great place to read, look at the pool and listen to the birds while we waited for our laundry, we used their complimentary washer and dryer. One of the best features is their restaurant. The food was great. We ate there both nights. It was nice not to have to drive for dinner, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the king bed and spa. We were in room 333.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The motel was modern, clean and well maintained.
If you plan to walk around Port Macquarie, its a little far away and you need to drive the 2 or 3 kilometres to town. Its on the Kempsey road [actually hastings River drive] and there is little around it, for tourists.
But the rooms are nice, the operators are pleasant and very helpful, and if you have a car, you won't care that its a little out of town

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably about equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks

Address: 103 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.