We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't visit the Milkbar enough during our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milkbar

Milkbar
40 William Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Pomonal, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't visit the Milkbar enough during our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were so happy to discover the Milkbar downstairs while staying at the Observatory. Wonderful flavours, great coffee, smoothies, muffins, service, location. We missed it when it was closed during our stay, and were positively morose when we got into Melbourne again, after not being able to have one more meal at Milkbar, and the café we chose to eat at was awful. We longed to be back at Milkbar again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    74
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Non existant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We arrived at 11.02 only to be told that breakfast was over and we had to wait for lunch or we could have a cake etc.

It wasn't as of there were no staff, I counted at least 5.

These prima donnas of the industry need some not so serious competition .

They have my vote for Port Macquarie's no service Cafe' !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekends - closed from noon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Delicious croissants, nice atmosphere, great service, a little small for the custom it attracts. Preferred to take away our food rather that be squishy squashed.
It'd be terrific if the Milk Bar could at least stay open until 3 or 3.30pm on weekends, esp. given that check-in time @ the hotel is from 2pm.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Brekkie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We only had to walk out the front door of The Observatory Hotel to the Milkbar for brekkie. We did not feel like a large breakfast so only ordered scrambled eggs and a cuppa tea. The eggs were delicious and we were certainly full after eating them. A nice way to start the day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The staff are friendly, helpful and very efficient. The choice of breakfast options is healthy, fresh and delicious. You can linger here over a lazy meal or be up and away quickly. Very night recommended!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milkbar also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Milkbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milkbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.