We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spinnakers Restaurant Port Macquarie NYE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spinnakers Restaurant

Spinnakers Restaurant
20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 147 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: Located at Sails Resort
Restaurant details
Description: Located at Sails Resort
Port Macquarie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spinnakers Restaurant Port Macquarie NYE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wonderful location on mania in Port Macquarie with great view of fireworks. $99 for a seafood banquet sounded a fair price. Prawns salmon and oysters beautiful but spoilt by waiter rationing oysters and prawns for some and not others - was it who you knew. Salads boring, limited - pasta potato, rice and very soggy over dressed Caesar. Fried prawns and calamari, tough overlooked steak and lamb cutlets, soggy baked veggies and unappetising looking hunks of fish. Not possible to buy win by the glass unless you took the glass on the table with you. Problem if you wanted to drink champagne as no glasses supplied!! Staff packed up and enjoying drinks before 11.00 pm. We left by 11.15. After looking forward to the evening was very disappointed and would not return or recommend to others for New Year's Eve celebrations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the sails resort for a few days while traveling. On our last night my wife and I decided to have a night to ourselves. The food was amazing entree Pork Belly & Oysters fantastic, Mains was Flat Head & Salmon very tasty we don't usually do desert but the staff (Sam our waiter)
Was so nice and friendly we stayed for that to. All the staff were very helpful and friendly right through the Resort and the restaurant we would definitely recommend this for anyone that wants to pamper themselves for a few days. Very kid friendly with canoeing, fishing Plenty for them to do.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Sails resort Port Macquarie, after a week long stay, we decided to end our stay eith some drinks at Spinnakers, the in house restaurant and bar. The atmosphere was quite pleasant, however that's where the pleasantness stopped, my wife ordered an apple martini, our friends, 2 long island iced teas. The apple martini came in a glass which made it look half empty with no garnish. Apon asking the bartender if this was a mistake, he rudely replied "um thats actually 28 bucks worth of alcohol", I find this hard to believe as the entire cocktail cost 15 dollars, so then I said to my wife this will be the best martini you ever had....... nope I was wrong, it tasted like fresh mowed grass and fertilizer. My friends had their long island iced tea in schooner glasses, which tasted like a by product of space shuttle fuel. No garnish in sight, not even a slice of lemon, obviously these coctails were far to decadent for garden variety garnishes. Thank you nathan the bartender for our rubbish drinks and smart replies. In closing, however the resort itself was very nice, I would recommend staying there, just walk the extra 20m to the next restaurant/ bar, quaylime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great view, yet expensive entrees and mains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was staying at the hotel and thought would try the restaurant, as we were sitting in the bar. Food is Asian inspired seafood.

A good selection of Japanese and Chinese-inspired entrees and mains. The Seafood Plate was very good, as was the Scallops and Chorizo.

The service was pleasant, yet not particularly friendly, especially if you decide not to order the specials.

The meals did seem to be overpriced, especially the entrees and the serving sizes. I think this restaurant would be a great place for a romantic night out, or for a special occassion. However, for families, there might be cheaper alternatives.

Note for Public Holidays, they slug a 15% surcharge, which just added to the cost.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Beautiful restaurant"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Lovely food (although not a big choice on the menu), great service, location, environment and views.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinnakers Restaurant also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Spinnakers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinnakers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.