We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, clean and spacious room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxley Cove Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oxley Cove Apartments to your Saves list
Oxley Cove Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   29 Owen Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Hunter Valley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable, clean and spacious room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a stopover and found it great. We booked the 3 bedroom apartment, plenty of space for large family. Everything you need in a room, BBQ area looked lovely.
Would Definately use again if travelling to Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley_Cove, Manager at Oxley Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your review. Yes the BBQ area is very popular and spacious. We look forward to having you return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay rooms were clean tidy apartment nice except the cockroaches that ate our fruit and thru our loaf of bread approached the mgr told him of the problem his solution a can of mortein spray and thats what u get unit due for spraying soon cant do anything about it its the area didnt see him offering to go buy our bread or fruit!!! apart from that the unit was nice and well maintained shame that was a turn off as its vey central to everything

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley_Cove, Manager at Oxley Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Yes Port Macquarie and cockroaches go hand in hand at certain times of the year - especially when the weather is wet.

To avoid this we have the property treated at least twice a year and the advice the pest controller gives us is to provide spray cans to guests in the meantime.

We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Port Macquarie is a beautiful place to visit and had something for everyone. However Oxley Cove Holiday Apartments is NOT the place to do it from.

In all my travels I have never met a site manager/owner as rude and unplesant as Ian. The man has no place dealing with people & for the sake of tourism in Port Macquarie should probably be run out of town. I've never been treated so deplorably any anyone in my entire life & would urge anyone thinking of a trip to Port to steer clear of this establishment.

That being said, Port Macquarie is a great spot & should not be missed. My stay at Oxley Cove Apts was the only black spot on an otherwise great trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley_Cove, Manager at Oxley Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am not sure what the problem was between the manager and yourself. I am sure if you could contact us the problem could be rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We travelled as a group of 5 adults and 2 children (one a toddler so in our own portacot) My parents in law paid for all the accommodation, so we were happy to go along with their choice.

Pros:
Walking distance to beach and town
Clean and tidy
Pool and BBQ area
Price

Cons:
Cramped living spaces not ideal for so many guests and children. My nephew hit his head on the dining table and required treatment at hospital - his fault but the living area is packed tight with furniture.
One bathroom with so many was terrible, not even a separate toilet
Communal coin laundry
Tight car spots

Would I stay there again? No. But if you are on a budget, it's sufficient. And Port Macquarie is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley_Cove, Manager at Oxley Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

If asked we advise guests all of our units have one bathroom only. We are sorry to hear of your child hitting his head and hope he has recovered from the bump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night at Oxley Cove Holiday Apartments. The apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The kids loved the pool and the location was really nice and quiet. Just a short walk to the beach and dinner options. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley_Cove, Manager at Oxley Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It is a shame you could only stay one night. Maybe the next time you will be able to stay longer and enjoy what Port Macquarie has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Reception staff were friendly. We had a ground floor corner apartment and the guests were all spread out so there was no noise at all really. The apartment was clean and had recently been repainted; couldn't fault anything, pool was lovely. Car spaces are cramped, but due to a lower number of guests everyone got a carport to themselves. Walking distance to club, beach and shops. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley_Cove, Manager at Oxley Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. "Good Times Great Value" is our motto and you are now aware of that.

We look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we stayed in a two bedroom apartment with another couple . One bathroom makes it a little hard at times, if you have a bathroom hog!!! There are 2 areas with with va ites for cleaning teeth, makeup etc, but only 1 toilet and shower, together. rooms have kitchen and bathroom between them so is very private. rooms were very clean and had everything you need. it is in a very good position. Beach is only across the oval, so is very close. Port city bowling club is about 200 metres and has very good meals. The buffet LUNCH on Fridays and Sundays is exceptional value at only $11 for all you can eat. The variety is outstanding and the sweets are plentiful and delicious. not far to centre of town for shopping, about 5 minutes by car, or 15 minute walk. Downhill going, up hill coming back, but is a lovely walk.

rooms are a good size and there is a balcony facing the ocean, although I don't think any had water views.

Things to do...... Sunset cruise for about one and half hours is very interesting, and only cost $10 yes $10 and is BYO alcohol and food, so is excellent value and you learn a lot about the area. Just walk along waterfront in town, away from the beach and you will see the boats lined up.
visit Ricardo strawberry farm . Pick your own in buckets, they are delicious. Also have all strawberry products in shop. you can also buy superb fresh tomatoes of all varieties and all sorts of tomato products. Drive out of town and take the road to Kempsey and when you get back to the main highway turn right, go over the big bridge and turn off to the right after about 5 klms. There is a big ,sign on the left side of road, then turn right. is about 3minutes down the road. Is well worth the visit. You can also have a meal in small cafe there, and make it a great day out.

All in all, Oxley Cove is a very reasonable, very clean place to stay for a great holiday.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley_Cove, Manager at Oxley Cove Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your detailed review.

It seems you certainly enjoyed yourself. Port Macquarie definitly has many activities and beautiful scenery along the walks.

We hope you get to return and enjoy paradise with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxley Cove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxley Cove Apartments

Address: 29 Owen Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxley Cove Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the location, stay for the serenity at Oxley Cove Apartments: a Port Macquarie icon on New South Wales' mid-north coast. Leave the car in undercover parking - we're situated 300m from Town Beach and a short walk to the CBD. Our guests experience the peace and quiet of coastal life with the comforts of town a short walk away. All 26 apartments are fully self-contained with air-conditioning, Austar and WIFI. Swim in the solar heated pool, enjoy a BBQ in tropical garden surrounds or meander into town to sample award winning local wines and Port Macquarie's freshest seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Oxley Cove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxley Cove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.