We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay in Port Macquarie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachport Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beachport Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Beachport Bed and Breakfast
155 Pacific Drive, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet stay in Port Macquarie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way up the coast. Whilst the place is slightly out of town (5 min drive), it is close to a great beach and the rainforest centre. Do not stay here though if you expect to be in the hub of Port. We were the only guests, so we had the best room. It was spotless, nicely decorated and had a nice little deck out the back door, which was lovely for having breakfast. Breakfast provisions were great, we were stuffed both mornings (lots of bread, jams, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, tea, coffee). There is also a washing machine in the kitchen area, which was great for us as we'd been travelling for some time. The guest rooms are separate from the owners accommodation, so we didn't have that awkward feeling you get in some B&Bs. The owners were very generous and helpful during our stay... like giving us extra clothes airers for our washing when the weather turned and offering us a discount price on an additional night as it had rained most of our time there. The only down side is that there is a construction project at the back of the property. There was some minimal noise (at a reasonable time) and it looked like it was nearly complete. Parking was also a bit tight (we have a stationwagon though). The only other thing was that our first impressions were not great as when we pulled up to the drive, the owners had their laundry hanging in the garage with the door open! Just made it look a bit tatty as a first impression. However, we were really pleasantly surprised by our stay here. The tariff was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room with the deck in the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We drove in to Port Maquarie on route to the Gold Coast and came across this place and am just so happy that we did! Paul and his wife were incredibly nice and warm and made us feel right at home. Shelly Beach which is just 2 mins away is a perfect slice of paradise for the children and the accommodation was super clean and comfortable. Would come back without hesitation whatsoever!

Room Tip: We had the room with a garden, loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beachport B&B is a sweet little place sited a few kms off the city centre. We stayed upstairs, in a section of the house with 1 bedroom, 1 small tv and dining area, and a bathroom, all joined by a corridor. Overall our stay was clean and comfortable. Paul, who hosted us, is helpful and gave us lots of local and travel tips. Breakfast was good with bread and a wide choice of spreads, milk and plenty of fruits.

There is a Rainforest cafe opposite which serves up good sandwiches, salads and cakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and it was very good value for money. We were on the top floor which overlooked the small rainforest opposite.
Paul was very friendly and helpful. We like being in a bed and breakfast but like to do breakfast ourselves in our own time and not have to socialise in the morning so the fact that we had a kitchen with breakfast items was perfect! Bread, jams, yoghurt, cereals, fruit - lots to choose from. He also left us a jar of "Tim tams" we hadn't had them before, they were yummy, sorry we ate them all :-)
It's worth booking restaurants as we were there over the weekend and we couldn't get into the ones that we wanted to visit.
I don't like zoos but Port Macquarie has a Koala hospital so make sure you visit if you don't want to leave Australia without seeing one!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Top marks for a top B&B. Very congenial hosts who have thought of everything. Thanks very much Paul & Tricia. The comedy of this site is that it insists on a minimum of 200 characters. Unfortunately we were only in Port Macquarie for 3 days and as such only met a dozen or so "characters", nevertheless our comments re the B&B remain; we were totally impresses & fail to see the need to wax lyrical. (God, I hope that this is 200 characters or I am in deep & diabolical whatever it is that one becomes deep & diabolical in).

Notwithstanding any of the above; we would stay at Beachport again in an instant.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was surprised of how clean the room was. It was just fantastic! This is very important for us and made us feel like at home. We were downstairs sharing the room with our son and it was very spacious and comfortable.
We stopped for one night so having a 24 hr front desk was just what we needed and this is why we got to this place. Paul welcomed us very late with no problems. He seemed to be a very friendly man.
I think the continental breakfast was okay and healthy. It seems that the location is good to go around and it is just at the front of a beautiful national park.
I do recommend this place, not sure how quiet will be though when it is very busy.
We had our own kitchen with fridge and coffee and tea facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed at Beachport twice.
Trish and Paul are a friendly, most welcoming couple and go out of their way to be helpful.
The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable.
Beachport is in an ideal location, and the drive into town is most enjoyable on the coast road.
On my second visit Paul offered to pick me up from the airport...he was not aware that I had already hired a car.
At the end of my second stay, Paul very generously offered to help me move from the B+B into my new furnished unit. What could I say.
The rates are very reasonable, and I can highly recommend this B+B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachport Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachport Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 Pacific Drive, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beachport Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachport Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.