We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and facilities. Definitely recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachport Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beachport Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Beachport Bed and Breakfast
155 Pacific Drive, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value and facilities. Definitely recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Comfortable room very clean and spacious. Good furnishings. Close to beach and rain Forrest. Bit of a drive to city. Friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We chose Beachport B&B from its website and we weren't disappointed. It was exactly as the website described it. An exceptional, quiet, well furnished room with its own private patio area for breakfasting and chilling out after a day's touring round the area. The owner Paul McGuirk and his wife Trish were on hand to welcome us and show us all the facilities. Both were very friendly. Each morning around 10 am Paul rang on the intercom to check all was ok. He also gave us some pointers on places to visit. I had previously been in email contact with him when he offered to give us this information. There were excellent laundry facilities and a kitchenette adjacent to our room for our use. We were provided with an ample selection of food for continental breakfast, which was re-stocked daily.
Paul did ask for payment in cash, having taken details of our credit card when we originally booked. I didn't feel pressured for payment but was glad I had raised the issue as we arrived. It did mean having to access funds via the ATM in the town as we weren't carrying that much spare cash. It would have been helpful to have been told about the payment method by cash before we started our journey (Port Maquarie was one stop on a five week driving tour around the Southern coast), which we had spent months in the planning.
That is the only point I would make, which Paul may wish to take into account.
As we were about to leave, the floods hit Brisbane - our intended final destination on the tour. Paul commiserated with us as it became clear we would not be able to complete the tour. As a token he left us a bottle of wine apiece to soften the blow. A nice touch!
All in all, Beachport is an excellent place to use as a base to see the sights around the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I was on week 2 of a 6 week vacation in Australia. This was my fifth accommodation, and so far the best. I was taking a bus from Byron Bay and it did not arrive in Port until midnight. The owner of the B & B, Paul, insisted on picking me up at no extra charge. He went above and beyond though my entire stay. Driving me to my car rental pick up, offering advice on where to go and what to see. The room was lovely as well. I had a large bedroom with an outdoor deck, shared kitchen, ensuite bathroom with shower and a variety of breakfast options. The rate was the best I have had so far and included free WiFi, laundry, and breakfast. Location is great. Directly across from Shelley Beach and the bus to town stops right in front of the B & B.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were looking for a quiet place to rest our heads driving from Sydney to the Gold Coast. Using trip advisor earlier in the day, we were impressed with the reviews given to Beachport . Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Tricia, who showed us her two ground floor guest suites. Both were very spacious, in new condition with high quality fixtures & fittings and a superb ensuite bathroom. In between the two suites was a very well equipped kitchen and laundry. The breakfast was a self service affair and again there was a large selection of fresh high quality ingredients to choose from included in the price. We both had an excellent night's sleep in this outstanding B & B and the price we paid for the accommodation and breakfast was exceptional value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at Beachport Bed and Breakfast. Our thoughts were:

PROS:
Very near the beaches esp Lighthouse Beach which we loved
Not too far from main are of Port Mac - about 10 mins by car
Big room and in good condition
Good breakfast provided
Friendly managers
Lots of amenities for use eg fridge, washing machine, orange juicer kitchen utensils etc
Private

CONS:
Only 2 really:
Payment: Manager asked for payment full in cash on 2nd day of our stay, but we ended up paying cash in full on about our 5th day there. Their website did not say we had to pay cash up front and when I originally made booking and spoke to one of the managers, credit card was ok, so was a bit of a surprise.
Sleeping arrangements: Room was a bit dusty on our arrival. But when I asked managers to use vacuum cleaner to clean up, they were fine with it. Our bed was actually 2 single beds put together but looked like a big king bed on website. Recommend bringing your own pillow as pillows were not comfortable.

Overall ok, would probably stay there again, just be mindful of full cash payment request when you arrive and sleeping arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for one night whilst on our way to Brisbane and we're so glad we did! The room itself is lovely, it's huge as is the en-suite shower room and as the previous reviewer says it's spotlessly clean. We also enjoyed the automatic orange juicer for freshly squeezed orange juice together with breakfast which was well provided for with a variety of cereal, toast & fruit. The fact that parking was available and free was a bonus as was the little courtyard. The area of Port Macquarie is also so nice that we could have stayed a couple more days. Paul the owner was very welcoming and also very helpful when suggesting ideas, places and restaurants to visit. In fact if he hadnt of told us there was a koala hospital nearby we probably wouldnt have found it ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We had no real huge expectations for this B & B as it was a short stopover on our travels. However, when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised! Like the previous review we had the downstairs room and it was spotlessly clean and more than big enough for our needs (you could fit an entire rugby team in the shower!).

I especially was fond of Paul as others previously noted he did seem new to the job but we found him to be incredibly friendly and genuine. We enjoyed the fun of making the breakfast in our room, especially using the automatic orange juicer for some freshly squeezed juice! We were provided with a generous half loaf of bread! Definitely not stingy on the portions..which is always a plus.

'Port Mac' as we called it is a lovely place and there are beautiful lookouts just a short walk from the B & B. We also sampled some of the local seafood which is just a short drive away. Definitely stay in this place, it's a hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachport Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachport Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 Pacific Drive, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beachport Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachport Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.