We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Pacific Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Port Pacific Resort to your Saves list
Port Pacific Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6 - 14 Clarence Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi Fi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked this resort through timeshare with somewhat preconceived views that it was adequate but nothing special. It was a very pleasant surprise to be offered an apartment on the 8th floor with a great view of the ocean and river. Our check in was handled efficiently by pleasant staff and our renovated apartment lacked nothing we needed. The resort is only a short distance from the main shopping area, yet handy to many restaurants, the foreshore and beaches. We would recommend this resort to friends and would definitely stay again. The weather was spectacular for the entire week we stayed there and allowed us to enjoy the magnificent sunsets from our balcony.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here through timeshare. It was probably due to this, why we had an apartment without any views. Someone has to have the other side of the building, but being winter, we missed out on a lot of sun so the apartment was quite cool. Whilst they did have 1 air conditioning unit, it didn't heat up the 2nd bedroom which froze.

The unit was very comfortable with 2 bedrooms - Queen with ensuite and another room with 3 single beds and another ensuite. The whole unit had recently undergone a refurbishment and signs did mention that they were still refurbishing other units.

Signs everywhere made you feel the managers were nazi's, but probably only due to other guests doing the wrong thing? e.g the whole DO NOT BRING your pillow or own linen - guess they may have had an issue at some time. The sign did state if you had a dr's certificate for a therapeutic pillow they would allow it. Alas i didn't know this before hand so my much loved memory foam pillow stayed in the car. Luckily their pillows weren't so bad.

The kitchen, whilst having most facilities, did not have an oven. Nor was there room to put your food (e.g a small cupboard would have sufficed as a pantry)

All in all, a comfortable, clean, decent sized apartment with a great location. Within walking distance to shopping centre (IGA supermarket). Inhouse cafe didn't look appealing, but there's a few within a few metres of the apartment building. Undercover parking was available.

Room Tip: If in winter, ask for a room that is north facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at Port Pacific and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. Comfortable recently renovated units, well finised with quality furniture. Very friendly helpful staff, beautiful view from front apartments. Outdoor heated swimming pool , half tennis court, spas bbqs and games room. We will be back again next year, hopefully.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the first time staying ,and will come again.
The staff are very friendly, helpful, and courteous..Shopping centre walking distance food and coffee shops in abundance and just a short walk in any direction.The rooms are very clean spacious ,all things modern.The views to the ocean are just magnificent ..

Room Tip: We were on the 8 th floor and had fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at Port Pacific. The Resort is located just one block from the main shopping area in Port Macquarie. Rooms are being progressively upgraded and we had a renovated one bedroom apartment. The lounge dining area was quite large with an additional sun balcony. A comfortable lounge suite, chairs, large TV and DVD and access to some Foxtel channels were a plus. The kitchen was well appointed with large fridge, hotplates, microwave, and dishwasher. The bedroom was large with ample storage and a second TV, the bed was extremely comfortable.The bathroom was new, clean and well finished. A great place to stay and handy to all services. There is a coffee shop downstairs and a restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear overlooking the City see if you can get one at the front for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visit Port Macquarie usually once or twice a year and when possible always stay at Port Pacific - as usual all was great again - staff friendly - rooms refurbished again. We had a unit on level 7 this time with great views of the water. A fun trivia night each Tuesday night turns into more of a social event where you get to meet other guests from all parts Oz and overseas.
Sadly the heat pump for the pool was under repair however the pool was warming up nicely by the time we had to leave - will give it another run later in the year - the spa was lovely and warm though.

Room Tip: Water view if available however in the warmer months we prefer the park side are able to get more us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My sister and I recently visited. We had room 704. It is a one-bedroom unit, but we managed very well. Interestingly, it has two bathrooms - presume it is for those who are sleeping on the couch or just for sheer convenience. The laundry has two washing machines and dryers, we never had to wait to use them.

The view from the balcony is nothing short of spectacular. I am not sure but I think that the two-bedroom units don't have a view (but I could be wrong). It is also very quiet, with little or no noise from your neighbours.

There were two good sized tvs, and being digital they have USB slots which are great for playing any movies you may have stored on them.

The staff were friendly and helpful, too. Always a bonus.

It is a wonderful place. It is situated right in the heart of the town. Within walking distance of shops, pubs, museums, etc. There is also a free Trivia night on Tuesdays which we participated in and had a lot of fun. The free parking is also a bonus.

We can't wait to go back. Thank you, for a most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Put in a request for a room with a view and you may be lucky enough to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Pacific Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Pacific Resort

Address: 6 - 14 Clarence Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Pacific Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Port Pacific Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Pacific Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.