We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a stopover between Brisbane & Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie to your Saves list
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Short & William Streets, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place for a stopover between Brisbane & Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

When you get tired of driving and start searching for clean accommodation in the late afternoon it is always best to search on the direct booking websites, check the write ups on TA and then phone the hotel direct for a deal. You bet - we got a good one. Out of holiday season and a Monday night the rate offered was excellent. They explained about a smell of new paint but we were happy with it.
The room and property was all we expect with Mantra. Although a franchise group, the owners and managers go the extra mile for their own businesses and we were welcomed with a that friendly service level that many bigger hotels have forgotten.
Nice sized room and although in the centre of town there was no street noise. Also a short walk to everything and we enjoyed a meal out at the local recommended Thai restaurant overlooking the small wharf.
Overall - very good and no problems!
Peter & Janice

Room Tip: Call ahead to discuss your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
What lovely comments, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. It is wonderful to hear that our staff, location and facilities met your Mantra expectations. We do hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    126
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
167
15
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were travelling up the coast and just needed a one night stopover. The Mantra apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped. The centre location in Port Macquarie was perfect for us and we were impressed with the secure underground carpark. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you, we are so glad you were happy with your stay and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked in here for our honeymoon as we wanted to go to Port Macquarie and the property seemed to be in a great location, virtually in the heart of town plus a heated outdoor rooftop swimming pool. We arrived late due to a late departure and a lot of road works on the highway. The property rang and told us that reception would be closed when we arrived and what we had to do and it was very simple and easy. We parked our car in the underground secure car park, then made our way up to our room which was on the third floor (highest floor). When we entered our room we were greeted with some chocolates and a big bottle of bubbly wine with a lovely letter of congratulations on our marriage. What a lovely surprise! The room was wonderful. Large lounge with dining and small kitchen. The fridge was only a bar size fridge and it took two days for the ice to freeze which was disappointing for us. The bathroom was a lovely large size. The bedroom was wonderful and spacious. Everything was clean and well maintained. We were able to walk to the shops in the town Centre, we were so close. We drove to the beaches and they are so beautiful and yet all so different. Had breakfast at our room, had dinner in our room one night then went out the others. Every day we swam in the roof top pool.....what a life.....spent a day at the beach and even came home and went straight upstairs to the pool again, it was just perfect. You were aware of the traffic noise from outside but after a while it didn't affect us at all. Being central to town you have to expect some noise. On our balcony we had views of the river. The towels were regularly changed. Really enjoyed our stayed. Very happy to have air conditioning as it was very hot. Our bed was really comfortable. When you had a shower the water tends to leak out onto the floor a bit so you need to be aware of that but it wasn't really a problem. Would stay here if we come back again, definitely!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
What a wonderful detailed review, Thank you. We do appreciate your comments, and we are so happy you enjoyed your celebration in Port Macquaire and that we were able to play a part in that. We are glad you were able to make use of our wonderful rooftop facility and our convenient location. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

With just a few hours stopover while travelling from NSW to QLD this was all we really needed, the studio room was spacious and cool. The only real problem was the bed was very uncomfortable as the mattress fell into the middle, despite very few rooms in use there was a bit of noise transfer inside the building. Was a bit surprised there was no reception attendance after 4pm, it's always nice to get a welcome from a real person.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments on your recent stay with us, and for pointing out the issues with the bed, this is really important to us and we are replacing this mattress next week.

Our apologies for the noise inside the building, from other guests, we did have a high occupancy on that night, our night manager would certainly have dealt with it had she been alerted to the problem.

Unlike Hotels, we do not man reception for extended hours, as we have an after hours service and a live in Manager to deal with any arising concerns.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

On our way back home to Sydney from Gold Coast we stayed at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Maquarie.Exelent service, very clean rooms and handy location and enjoyed rooftop heated pool. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Top Level Studio Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you, it is lovely to get such positive feedback on our rooms and our staff. We are so happy we met your expectations and hope to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The friendly staff were so welcoming and happy to assist with directions to places of interest. The apartments are close to many beautiful restaurants and shops. A must see is the Koala Hospital and the winery just 10 minutes drive out of town. The beaches are so beautiful. Port Macquarie is such a pretty town with lots to offer to tourists. Must see is the "Glasshouse" art gallery in town. Great for families and couples. Go and enjoy Port Macquarie.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour with a beautiful view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments regarding your visit to Port Macquarie. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time hear, and glad you were able to visit the Koala hospital, a must do when in Port. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We checked in early for yet another visit to the Mantra Quayside and although the room wasn't ready the receptionist gave us a key to allow us to park the car in the secure underground car park which was very welcome. We returned at 1400 and were immediately given our room which was a one bedroom unit facing the river on the third floor.
The apartment as usual was large, clean with good cooking facilities and plenty of utensils and crockery. large dining table and good sized living area with an excellent TV with satellite programs. Large picture windows and balcony gave good views over the river (just ignore the empty supermarket which Mantra can do nothing about}. Although we were on the main road we had no problem sleeping and no road noise during the night - the bed was very comfortable.
Good bathroom with separate spa bath and shower plus washing machine (no dryer) - a communal dryer was available free on each floor so no problems.
Location ideal for the restaurant strip, river trips, bars and Coles about 200 yards away.
Great swimming pool and barbeque area with plenty of seating and tables on the roof.
Finally staff who were at all times pleasant to deal with and always tried to meet our requests.
We will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for such wonderful comments, we are so pleased that we were able to make your stay in Port Macquarie such a great experience. It is lovely to hear the positive feedback regarding our facilities, staff and convenient location. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie

Address: Corner Short & William Streets, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#7 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#8 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Quayside, is situated in the beautiful coastal town of Port Macquarie. Mantra Quayside Apartments offer quality accommodation just minutes walk from the shopping and dining hub of Horton Street. Featuring self-contained Studios and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, Mantra Quayside provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free North Coast holiday. Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday, Mantra Quayside Port Macquarie offers spacious, self-contained apartments all featuring a kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, air-conditioning, and balcony or patio, with some offering views over the City towards the Back Channel anchorage on Hastings River. The Hydro spa apartments are located on the 1st floor. The 2 bedroom apartments face out over Short Street. The Accessible apartments are not located on the riverside. MANTRA QUAYSIDE IS A NON SMOKING PROPERTY. Our relaxed and comfortable Port Macquarie resort features a rooftop HEATED pool and BBQ area with views over the waterfront, a fully equipped gym, sauna and first-class guest services include free parking for 1 Vehicle, additional car parking is $30 per night, subject to availability (height restrictions apply),FREE WiFi. All apartments have 42inch LCD TV and 85 FOXTEL channels. Reverse cycle air conditioning in all apartments. These self contained apartments are NOT SEVICED DAILY, IF YOU STAY 3 NIGHTS OR MORE YOU WILL HAVE YOUR ROOM SERVICED, unless prior arrangements are made by contacting the resort direct. Only a short stroll from Mantra Quayside Apartments you will find dynamic Horton Street which offers an abundance of cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, cinemas and the brand new Glasshouse theatre or take a scenic drive to the many wineries in the Greater Port Macquarie region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.