We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food in different location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberts Circa 1876

Roberts Circa 1876
64 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 49984998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 52 restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Circa 1876 (Roberts) is one of the best loved restaurants in the Hunter Valley. It has its own huge produce garden where much of the ingredients for your meal are gathered from daily. You can even go on a garden tour with Executive Chef George Francisco. All ingredients are sourced locally and are organic. Circa 1876 is perfect for all occasions and children are welcome. Bookings advised.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“good food in different location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

a very traitional houe is this roberts restaurant, linked to a vinyard and a former convent (today a hotel).
the house itself is historic and well maintained, transformed into a well formed restaurant with a little separee room for a tete-a-tete lunch/dinner.
main dining room strikes with its huge open fire place.
and now the food:
try the vegetarian options, they are inventive new tasty and the portions just right - loved it!
the others chose meat, lamb and hen, both prepared as it ahd been asked for.
wine list is fine, better had been to chat to the attentive friendly waitress, she gave us good recommendation which didn´t disappoint.
during daylight their garden is enjoyable !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your review on Circa 1876.

I am please your enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and also that you enjoyed the vegetarian options. Our Chef George Francisco's prides himself on the amazing fresh produce garden we have at the doorstep of the restaurant.

I hope so see you again soon.

Best wishes.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    147
    48
    31
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Roberts has a very long established reputation so while were in Hunters Valley we gave it a try. We were not disappointed. The dishes were tasty and innovative. Apparently in 2013 they got one pint to few to get in the Michelin Guide. On the down side, starters, maisn with a glass of wine for two cost over AU$200.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of Roberts Circa 1876. We do aim to please and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Also, thank you for your feedback on the prices and we always take this into consideration when setting a menu. We now have our own produce garden and most of the ingredients on the dishes now served come from that garden that is right at the restaurant.

Since the start of this garden, some of the prices have come down, and we always try to price ourselves within the market.

If you wish to discuss any of this further please do not hesitate to contact me personally via a PM.

Best

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kids not welcome?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Arrived today at 12.30. I stayed in the car with our 2 kids whilst my wife popped in to see if they had a table. Place was empty. My wife asked if there was a table free for lunch. Was told yes no problem and given a menu immediately. Then she was asked how big our party was and on hearing two adults and two kids replied as quick as a flash that they had nothing free until at least 2pm.

Look - if you have a policy of no children, just say so. We've eaten with our kids at wonderful, Michelin starred restaurants around the world and had fabulous food, welcome and service without exception. Clearly won't add this place to the list.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Our sincere apologies for your experience at Robert Circa 1876. We are children friendly and I am personally looking into why you would not have been given the first available table.

The location is perfect for kids as we have the vast gardens and lawn on the doorstep.

Again, I do apologise and I will make sure this never happens again.

Please feel free to contact me on a PM and I will be more than happy to address your concerns.

Best wishes

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Creative honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I ate at Roberts on Saturday night. What a great menu to try and select from and the nicest thing is that all the staff are mentioned at the back of the menu. What a team.
The food/atmosphere/wine is something that I cannot recommend highly enough. From beef carpaccio to blue trevally to french cheese, wow and wow. Nothing was too rich. A must is the pumpkin, as a side dish. The chef has brought pumpkin alive with a cashew nut crunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of Circa 1876 (Roberts). Chef George Francisco has been working tirelessly on our massive produce garden to bring the freshest ingredients possible to the table, and I hope this shone through with your meal with us.

Thanks again and I hope to see you back at Circa 1876 soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Day meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We had the set 5 course lunch which was exceptional. The sommelier was very experienced and the waitress very attentive. Although the turkey main probably did not match the standards we have had at home ( none of the trimmings!) we loved the rest of the food! It's a charming place with a historic setting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on Circa 1876. We are pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch with us and we hope you make it an annual event.

Next time we will be sure to add some more turkey trimmings to your meal.

Thanks again.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Circa 1876 also viewed

 

Been to Roberts Circa 1876? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberts Circa 1876, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.