We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food in a Quaint and Atmospheric Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roberts Circa 1876

Roberts Circa 1876
64 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 49984998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 52 restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Circa 1876 (Roberts) is one of the best loved restaurants in the Hunter Valley. It has its own huge produce garden where much of the ingredients for your meal are gathered from daily. You can even go on a garden tour with Executive Chef George Francisco. All ingredients are sourced locally and are organic. Circa 1876 is perfect for all occasions and children are welcome. Bookings advised.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food in a Quaint and Atmospheric Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The restaurant employs wonderful staff who are efficient and friendly without being intrusive. The food is of a very high standard, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The spanner crab pasta was sublime, as was the pate. For our main course we ordered the rib eye and the beef cheek with beluga lentils and mushrooms, followed by the cheese platter. The delivery of our meals was timed beautifully. We also loved the relaxed ambiance of the room, enhanced by an enormous open fire. A must do in the Hunter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    147
    48
    31
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very cosy place to spend a cold Winters night with the big open fireplace. It sets a beautiful atmosphere for a romantic dinner with your partner. The service was excellent and the host was knew his wines and produce. Fantastic restaurant!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a charming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Tower Lodge and dined at their sister restaurant "Roberts" and were absolutely thrilled with the food, service and wine menu. The restaurant itself is located in a charming nineteenth century homestead. The food was marvellous, the service wonderful and the wine menu expansive and impressive.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A great Hunter Valley dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

To enter Roberts Restaurant you walk through an old cottage where each room is decorated with cosy furniture and decorative items, there is an open fire-place and some rooms have private dining areas.

The restaurant is spacious and open plan with a large fire-place at one end, timber floors and large windows that look out to the vineyard . The feel is classy-country combined with the kind of food and service you expect from a modern city establishment.

I was dining mid-week with 3 others. My husband and I chose the prime rib of beef served for two people, which included a beautiful salad, french fries and the most delicious beans I've had in a while. The beef was a generous portion, cooked (to perfection) as we requested and there was a bernaise sauce and red wine jus to pour over it - yum!

We thoroughly enjoyed the entrees, mains and the wicked desserts. I have put Roberts on my list of top favourites in Pokolbin and will definitely go back again. I had recently been to one of Sydney top restaurants for a 10 course degustation and after comparing the two, I have to say I found Roberts fair more satisfying overall, for far less money.

The service by the wait staff was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable and timely. I would happily recommend this restaurant to couples, friends, family or for business. It would also be a fabulous venue for a wedding reception. It is a short walk from Tower Estate accommodation which is very close to the hub of Pokolbin. Peppertree cellar door is next door, well worth a visit after lunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Everything was just... "good".

I went for dinner during the early week to find the experience to be rather commercial. It felt very much like a hotel restaurant. The service was nice but minimal and the staff seemed to know little about the food/ wine the were presenting. The room was dull compared to what it was originally many years ago. the food was ordinary, lacking creativity or originality.

I wouldn't say the experience was horrible, but it certainly wasn't memorable for being anything worth while.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Circa 1876 also viewed

 

Been to Roberts Circa 1876? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberts Circa 1876, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.