We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cacciatore Restaurant

Il Cacciatore Restaurant
609 McDonald Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4998 7639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Il Cacciatore specializes in Northern Italian Cuisine, it is not fast food. Each pasta , risotto and gnocchi is individually created in the pan, no premade sauces for us. Il Cacciatore is open from 6pm nightly. Il Cacciatore is licensed, reservations recommended Private dining room may seat up to 30 guests. The deck over looking the vineyard and dam is open during the warmer summer months, weather permitting. Take Out of pizzas and pastas are available for pick from 5pm nightly.
Camden, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The service was great, the meal was spectacular - best pork belly I have ever had. I also had a lovely tortellini entree as well and the wine was a lovely local wine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    92
    32
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singleton, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After searching around for a restaurant open on a Tuesday night we were a little skeptical when we got hold of a booking at Il Cacciatore. We were pleasantly surprised. The service was great, food was definitely freshly cooked and could not be faulted. Bread was great, risotto top class and squid ink pasta was a great find, first time we have seen it since we were in Italy. We will definitely be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We organised our parents 80th birthday dinner here over the internet! There were 16 of us & the owners had laid us up a lovely table near the open doors,garden, lake & fountain. Pretty fairy lights glowed on the veranda. The food was delicious & we had some special requests which the chef happily organised. The staff were warm & friendly & the service was efficient from start to finish. This was a high quality establishment without the huge price tag. Would happily recommend & go back when next in the Hunter Valley.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was the first night of a new menu. Potato and leek soup was excellent; pork belly wonderful and local wines by the glass

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great food, not so expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great food , but selection a bit limited though... ONE pasta , ONE risotto, ONE gnochi...

Not cheap, but not ridiculously expensive when you consider what is provided with each dish. Other restaurants in the valley aren't necessarily very much cheaper when you look at it in totality.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cacciatore Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Il Cacciatore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cacciatore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.