We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth's

Elizabeth's
401 Marrowbone Rd | McWilliam's Mount Pleasant Estate, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
0249987505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea, with a range of wines from the outstanding McWilliam's Wines portfolio. We are also available for evening group bookings and weddings from 20 to 120 people.
Kiama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent a wonderful morning having an exceptional breakfast outside under the eaves. Non oily, beautiful and fresh, superb service. Delightful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Julie - thanks for the review - yes our breakfast is a very popular attraction, and very affordable - come back and see us again!
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a beautiful Sunday lunch with friends, service was very pleasant and attentive .
Outstanding dishes were duck spring rolls , pork cutlet and linguine with salmon and most delicious was the selection of gelato .....loved the salted Carmel .
We will be back !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi - glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at Elizabeth's - always a great way to spend a day off!
Regards
greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stopped in for dinner and were very impressed with the service, the food, the wine and views were awesome! We will visit again the next time we are in the HV!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi - thanks for the review - "great service, food, wine and views" - what else can we say!!??

Hope to see you next time you are in the Hunter

Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for the occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My Aunty decided we would try Elizabeth's as they had driven past McWilliam's Mount Pleasant Estate a number of times and it looked inviting.

It was lovely—really lovely. All six of us had a delicious meal. My stack of stuffed mushrooms (from the Entrés) was exactly what I craved. It was also the right size. My sister thoroughly enjoyed her Tandoori chicken meal. Anything that remained was polished off by my Uncle, who delighted in every morsel.

Next time I visit Elizabeth's I'll order a Muscato. I tasted some, which others had ordered, and it was delicious.

We sat outside, in the shaded outdoor area. It was very comfortable, even though it was in the 30s, temperature wise.

The last, and certainly NOT least, topic I wanted to cover was the service. WOW! We were treated to the excellent attention of Polly. What a professional, friendly and polished waitress. Its rare that you find that mix in the right proportions. She is a huge asset to Elizabeth's at McWilliam's Mount Pleasant Estate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi - thanks for the review, and we are glad you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service that we provide - don't be a stranger, please come back soon!
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhead
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely NOT to be missed....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch mid-week so we had the small restaurant to our selves although there were several tables available for restaurant patrons outside under the verandah.

As a starter, the toasted Turkish bread with cheese, olives and thick sliced bbq'd salami was very tasty as were the duck spring rolls as an entree - beautiful thin flaky pastry, excellent filling with a very tasty dipping sauce.

The two mains were very nice indeed - seared lamb in a salad and pan fried salmon on a salad with accompanying beer battered chips.The salads were both new to the menu for summer and are recommended particularly the one accompanying the salmon.

Two excellent cappuccinos was all that could be managed afterwards which is a shame as the dessert menu was looking pretty good and it was very reasonably priced.

Our waitress, Yvonne, was very helpful and personable and our Entertainment card was accepted with no problem. The only issue now is that we now have to make a return visit in order to try out the desserts.

Even though the restaurant could perhaps be noisy when full, it comes highly recommended due to the excellent food as well as the extensive wine list. There is a huge wine tasting area just next to the restaurant so ample time needs to be allowed for lingering there prior to a lunch or dinner reservation. The Verdhelo is particularly smooth and palatable but there is a host of wines to cater for all tastes.

We'll definitely go back - soon, hopefully.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi - much appreciate your review of Elizabeth's - our chefs are doing a great job and we are glad you enjoyed the dishes. Yvonne was also pleased to be mentioned and would love to welcome you back again.
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Elizabeth's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.