We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hunter Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth's

Elizabeth's
401 Marrowbone Rd | McWilliam's Mount Pleasant Estate, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
0249987505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea, with a range of wines from the outstanding McWilliam's Wines portfolio. We are also available for evening group bookings and weddings from 20 to 120 people.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Hunter Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great mid-week lunch. Slightly breezy outdoors in winter so decided to sit inside, still great view!

Wagyu burger and crispy skin salmon with fennel and herb salad, both were excellent with fantastic flavours.

Staff were great and cellar door just next door for some wine tasting!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi - glad you enjoyed our views, food and the Cellar Door next door, and yes it has been a little cold recently so either in the cafe or in the full sun is the way to go!
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great staff and good quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a very late breakfast (got our order in at 11.27am!) with friends on a Sunday morning. Great service from friendly staff. Good quality food and nice hot coffee. This was our second time here, having had lunch with family back in March, with a similar experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi, thanks for the great review - late breakfasts are a speciality of ours! Look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So much potential...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Elizabeth's has so much potential. Absolutely breathtaking setting, stunning building & features. Gorgeous outside dining terrace.

However, it just needs a little push in the right direction on the service side to make it great. The staff were all very friendly, but perhaps lacking some urgency. It all seemed a little 'too' relaxed, to the point of slightly frustrating.

Starters were excellent - we had the pea and ham soup special which was delicious. In addition - their homemade Balsamic vinegar, served with breads, was incredible.

Main course was really disappointing - Open Wagyu burgers served with belgian beer hot chips. The steaks were tough and cold. I wondered if they had just been re-heated before being served. We were offered a bottle of the wine on the house, and apologies, but overall it did take the edge off a lovely lunch.

They picked it back up again with delicious hot scones

The staff seemed stressed and flustered at times (I wouldnt have said it was 'that' busy though). So perhaps all this needs is a strong front of house person to up the game and they would have something amazing here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi - we appreciate your feedback on our restaurant setting, the service and food. We have discussed your comments with the team and are confident we have put measures in place to ensure our staff provide the high level of service that gives all our customers an enjoyable experience.
We would love to see you again.
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best coffee in the Hunter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in the hunter for 6 nights and drove out to Elizabeth's each morning for the coffee, service and breakfast. One day we stayed for lunch as well - very indulgent indeed! Don't even think of going without the polenta chips and blue cheese sauce. I enjoyed mine with a Lovedale semillion and still dream of the lunch. The service is really fast and the girls were lovely.
Don't plan on lunch after breakfast here as they are very substantial.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi - thanks for the wonderful review, I know our team enjoyed your visits. We do work hard on our coffee service here, so it is good to know it is appreciated. Our Autumn menu has created a few favourites with visitors, and yes the polenta chips are very popular!!
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

it was one of the few open on Xmas Eve. Nice food and a friendly waitress.
short menu list but quality in it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Elizabeth's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.