We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location near everything in Pokolbin.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pokolbin Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pokolbin Village to your Saves list
Pokolbin Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2188 Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect location near everything in Pokolbin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Great accommodation fantastic location great rooms great service awesome village definitely staying here again without a doubt. Near all the great wineries and not far from Cessnock and not far from all the great restaurants available also great little village that is perfect if you want to duck out and grab a coffee or sandwich

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hi Chalkerj,

We are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Pokolbin Village. Our location at Pokolbin Village is certainly ideal with on-site shopping/dining at the front of the property or within close proximity to wineries/attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you to Pokolbin Village once again.

Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    27
    3
    8
See reviews for
20
48
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here with a few different groups of friends for a wedding nearby over the new year period 2013/2014. We stayed in a Delux Queen room - the bed did not seem queen sized, but the room was clean and functional. Staff at reception were very friendly and despite being located at the back of the Pokolbin shops there was minimal noise - in fact none. The tranquility was divine. Apart from the shops, it is also located near a lot of wineries, Hannigan's Pub and only a 10min drive to Cessnock - for when you don't want to pay through the nose for groceries.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hi Lulu_Lovett,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your views on Pokolbin Village. We are pleased to hear that you found Pokolbin Village accommodation tranquil and central to attractions of the Pokolbin area.

We would also like to confirm that the bedding in the Deluxe Queen Suites is queen sized.

Our Reception staff take great pride in customer service and your feedback will be passed onto them.

Regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here overnight, the room was comfortable enough and it is in a great location. The gardens/lawns are well manicured, the pool clean and pleasant. Our check in and check out was quick and painless. It is rated at 4 star but I'm not sure it's worth that rating. Our deluxe queen suite was a small bedroom - was that really a queen sized bed or a double - with a lounge room and separate bathroom. A suite but I wouldn't describe it is deluxe.
The rooms are not very sound proofed and when the toilet is flushed during the night it is quite loud.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and all back onto the gravel driveway which is quite crunchy when cars arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hi SteveandDD,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pokolbin Village. We are pleased that you found our property comfortable and well located.

Our accommodation is officially rated by AAA Tourism and has continued to achieve 4 star rating over the past years. One of the many factors that allow us to achieve this 4 star rating is having queen size beds.

We are sorry however to hear that you did not believe your Deluxe Queen Suite to be 'deluxe' and will take your feedback on board regarding this to further improve our guest experience.

Regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wanting accommodation conveniently located near the venue of a wedding reception, Pokolbin Village ticked all the right boxes.

Located centrally on Broke Road, it is close to many of the vineyards, Hunter Valley Gardens (their Christmas Light Show is a must), lots of shops and cafes, and opposite Hope Estate.

We found the self-contained Villa clean and comfortable, with ample space for our group of 5. The kitchen was well equipped with a full oven/cooktop, microwave and a small fridge (although we couldn't locate a toaster) so we were able to put together meals as we liked.

Although we didn't have time to enjoy the other facilities, I am sure the pool would have been most welcome on a hot summer afternoon and the tennis court would have entertained our young adult kids had we been staying longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Pokolbin Village.

We are pleased you found our 4 star Villa's clean, comfortable and spacious. We apologise for the confusion in not being able to locate your toaster which was in the kitchen cupboard.

We hope to welcome you once again to Pokolbin Village to make use of our various facilities.

Regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This resort hidden away behind the Pokolbin village shopping centre is centrally located, extremely clean spacious and relaxing accommodation. Just a short 5 min walk through the paddock to the lovely Blaxland restuarant. Village shops have an excellent variety for a small shopping centre. Just a stones throw from the beautiful must do Hunter Gardens and many wineries. The rooms were spacious (separate bedroom) and exceptionally clean. Definitely come back again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi Ozzyfootprints

Thank you for sharing your positive experience whilst staying at Pokolbin Village on Trip Advisor!

We look forward to welcoming you to Pokolbin Village again.

Warm regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in July. The accommodation was clean, spacious and centrally located for wineries and restaurants. Very comfortable and functional. Due to the time of year the main restaurant was closed. Local shop had all supplies but pretty expensive for basics. Only disadvantage was having to carry suitcases from the car park to the unit but not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi BevSunshineCoast,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Pokolbin Village. We are pleased to hear that you found our accommodation comfortable and functional.

Our on-site restaurant and shops are under separate management however I will pass these comments on to the owners for consideration.

Warm regards
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spacious, clean, comfortable and warm - we stayed in a queen suite and enjoyed our stay. The accomodation is centrally located, so it is a good base for exploring the area. We also found the staff on reception very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 210 & 212 and both were good rooms. Room 212 had no heater in the bedroom but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi damianpaulevans,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Pokolbin Village. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of beautiful Hunter Valley Wine Country. We pride ourselves in providing quality customer service with our staff members being a great asset to Pokolbin Village. We hope to welcome you back to Pokolbin Village in the near future.

Regards, Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pokolbin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Village

Address: 2188 Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pokolbin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4 star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect short break. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4 star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Winemakers Outlet (Cellar Door/Wine Tasting facility), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, Tempt (art, jewellery and homewares), D'Vine In The Hunter (womens fashion and accessories) and the Pokolbin General Store (with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia). Vittorio's Cafe Restaurant is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 8.00am the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner. Vittorio's Cafe Restaurant is open for dinner Friday to Sunday and breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. Bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pokolbin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Village Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Village Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pokolbin Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.